More Free Curb-Recycled Items Recently Sold For $1,138 = 100% Saved From Waste & 100% Profit

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

Please wake up.

Putting household items in recycling bins is the bare minimum of recycling.

The bins don't magically make the waste go away.

It feels like progress and being practical, but it's simply passing the problem on.

People can do much more if they wanted, which would benefit the planet, consumers and themselves. It's an easy triple win.


For years, I've casually saved and sold thousands of household items such as these below from being wasted, getting them in the hands of consumers, primarily using recycled shipping materials. It's effortless and provides constant positive reinforcement. I simply walk the curbs near my apartment and see what's sitting in piles of clear plastic bags and boxes, or sitting loose right on top of them.

The multitude of benefits of this are obvious, but not many people see them as worth their time. Sadly, the cumulative effect is quite negative in ways people conveniently ignore or don't care about.

*Even in the resale business, I overlooked items sitting in plain sight on my city's curbs for recycling pickup because I wasn't aware/looking for them. Once I literally tripped on them, I saw the opportunity everywhere, and can't unsee the value available for the taking on a regular basis. It's my social responsibility.

*It's your turn. If you don't know how, ask me. Look at almost 2 years worth of logs I've shared on Steemit. This is a case where ignorance isn't bliss.

Please just do it and enjoy feeling proud about taking some responsibility for a much larger purpose than our day-to-day routine. You can also make money!

If you don't want to sell things, donate them to a thrift store for a tax write-off. Let the charity make money for their cause.

...Why not?


Free Inventory Recently Found & Sold:

Vacuum set tested and sold for $120 cash.

Elliptical machine control board sold untested for $100.

Vacuum base tested and sold for $100.

Electric vacuum hose tested and sold for $70.

Microsoft software sold for $65.

Gold bracelet charm sold for $65.

Five .925 Sterling Silver charms sold for $60 cash.

Vacuum power nozzle tested and sold for $60.

Stroller canopy sold for $42.

Architecture book sold for $40.

Vacuum canister sold for $38.

Vintage LCD display monitor sold untested for $35.

Textbook sold for $35.

Vacuum motor tested and sold for $35.

Vacuum power nozzle tested and sold for $35.

Vacuum canister sold for $33.

Fan base stand sold for $30.

Printhead sold for parts/repair for $30.

Vacuum hose sold for $25.

Media receiver sold untested for $24.

Dishwasher latch sold for $22.

Textbook sold for $19.

Textbook sold for $19.

Vacuum handle sold for $18.

PlayStation 3 game sold for $18.


I showed some smaller items because every bit counts.

It's not about the lucrative finds. It's about each and every item not being wasted and now in the hands of people who needed them (won't need to buy a new one).

Please give it a try. It'll be fun and rewarding. Feel free to message me with any success stories no matter how big or small.

As always, let me know if you have any questions or could use some advice. I can also help you value something if you'd like.

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Damn 14k gold!???
Man them neighborhoods be spoiled! Holy cow! :O

...and Sterling Silver. This was the first time I found any gold thrown out, but I really hope it's not my last. The people around here are either super spoiled, STUPID, lazy, or they don't know what they have.

Damn man! money too much the 14k gold is trash! :D :D :D
It's funny and sad at the same time.

Excellent, love to see how well you are doing (even if some of these are repeats :D)

Thanks. These were all the first and only sales of these pictured items. I've mentioned that I've found some of these in recent weeks, but not their sales. Some things do repeat because I find them many times in a year, like Dyson/Shark/Miele/Kenmore vacuums or HP printheads, as examples of fairly common items.

Oh, my bad. They looked familiar enough though! :D

I have sold a lot of my own things online, but dang I never would have thought to take the vacuum apart and sell the parts off when the function of it died! I've had two vacuums die in ten years, I coulda done that. Didn't occur to me there would be a market. Will think more about such things now!

I often get $150-$250 per vacuum if it's the good models I focus on. It's absolutely nuts. I sold one free used vacuum part for $220 recently... just one part!! Some models don't have the same resale value, so it's a function of knowing the makes and models that are worth reselling to make sure you're not spinning your wheels.

Omg wow... you must love vacuums and know them well! How did you find those jewellery pieces? Were they seriously on the floor?? Man you are the man... I love doing this stuff but my hubby hates it cos I hoard a lot! So I guess I should start selling before I pick up more haha...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Vacuums are one of the most common things I find. It's so easy and repeatable for me since there are only so many types of good models. Replacement parts are very hard to find for crazy people who have their relatives coming in a week and need to fix their vacuum to have the house ready in time! Many parts are discontinued, so they're harder to get.

The jewelry was sitting in a box of a girl who must've moved out of her apartment. She also had an external hard drive with all of her laptop backups on it I could easily see (which I'll delete), a few of her IDs, two purses, and other good stuff I took to sell or keep. I guess she was simply doing some spring cleaning and didn't want that bracelet for some reason (or it was accidentally in the box).

I've been posting on this stuff for quick a while, so if you ever want to see some of the crazy stuff I've found, just google my user name and recycling and thrifting. Thanks for your comment and support. Hopefully you can make some money by selling a few things of your own to make room for your new hoard!! hah

I did a few thrifting videos a few months back too haha.. I used to volunteer at an op(thrift) shop and now still go there to shop but I’m accumulating too much so gotta sell first.
Wow or maybe the mum chucked out all her stuff as they do! (Well my mum does it..)

Those are impressive gains for what I considered to be mostly junk. Minus the PS3 game and books of course, since books are books. Very nice! I would not have guessed a printhead held value. Recently threw a whole printer away but that's because it became a mouse home from sitting in a corner for so long (I was unaware). When I opened it, there was mouse droppings everywhere inside and I couldn't get it to work. I will be more careful when throwing stuff out for sure.

The same printhead, if working, is an easy $85-$90 sell. I usually find them working with ink to confirm. The last two had issues, so but still sold for $29 and $30 each for parts. Printheads on certain printers have lots of value, but it depends on the brand/model.

Nice, the printhead I tossed came from a $50 printer so I can't imagine it had too much value. Then again, I assume the printhead is one of the most important parts of a printer :p so maybe it did

$50 for a mouse house is a pretty solid deal! Petco is a rip-off.

LOL

This is just so smart plus the added flexibility of your time! Keep pushing it you have nothing to loose. Who knows when or how you will reach others.

Thanks as always for taking the time to show your support for my little niche here.

Its awesome what you do! For the Vacuum set tested and sold for $120 cash, did you have to fix it somehow, or someone just threw away a working vacuum cleaner ? I would get it if it was super old, but this one looks nice !

No flaws or issues, just tossed likely for a new replacement. Such a shame.

The other Dyson vacuum base had a children's bouncy ball was stuck in the neck. It took me 10 minutes to get it out, and it was perfect otherwise.

Most vacuums are tossed because of a clog or since they were replaced. Otherwise, there's usually one issue and the 85% of the rest of the vacuum is perfectly fine/working to resell for parts.

Thank for dropping by.

My pleasure ! The thing is people have no patience these days, just googling it can many times help a lot. Now that I have moved to a house I have started googling a lot- sure is different from renting hehe

Looks like some pretty good products you have there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. This is just a few of the recent ones. Without exaggeration, I've sold thousands of items like this that I got for free in the recycling. It's an endless supply here. I'm about to go outside and take my Tuesday night 60-90 minute stroll now.

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

You are really make cool cash from the recycle thing of yours

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41