Pennsif's Sustainability Curation Digest for MSP - week ending 26 May 2019

in #minnowsupport5 years ago

Just a few weeks til summer...

Everyone (in the northern hemisphere) is getting busy, busy, busy in the garden.

And the harvests are starting to flow.

Check out my latest post of five planet-positive things I did yesterday. If you fancy joining in the challenge that would be great...



My Sustainability Five Picks of the Week...

Homesteading for Sustainable Living by @kay-leclerc



NEW BEE Cam! LIVE!! and wild barn swallows nesting by @meanroosterfarm



More Free Curb-Recycled Items Recently Sold For $1,138 = 100% Saved From Waste & 100% Profit by @steemmatt



HOPS and WHO NEW DRINKING BEER COULD PROVIDE SO MUCH JOY! by @thebigsweed



Steps to Build a Hugelkultur Bed by @wildhomesteading



The Minnow Support Project has multiple curators that pick five posts from under-valued minnows each week to highlight through MSP3k. This way MSP and PAL can promote new writers and content creators on Steemit, and in effect reward them for doing a superior job.



[ header graphic by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

Hi mate!
This is a great post and something that I'm passionate about.
Although the slugs and snails are feasting on my pea and bean plants, I'll endeavour to carry on with this year's growing season.
I hope you're well.
Thanks
DC

Hello, @darrenclaxton, I read your reply and see that you are having a problem with slugs and snails.
Years ago we were having a similar problem as they were constantly damaging our peas and other young plants.
I was told by a local farmer that I became friends with to put beer cans around the garden. the cans should be laid on their side with just an ounce of beer left in each one. Both the snails and slugs would ignore the young plants and make their way inside of the beer cans. Consuming the beer inside would kill them. I would end up with as many as a dozen in some cans, all dead.
Every 2nd or 3rd day you need to dump the dead slugs out and refill with another ounce or two.
I think that if you give this a try, you problem will be solved.
I know, wasting good beer is a shame, but any beer will do, they are not picky, buy some cheap stuff.
If you give this a try, let me know how it worked out.

Thanks for the information my friend!
Yes,I tried this a few years ago and it worked.
I'm well against using any form of pellet, as they are harmful to those who predate on the slugs and snails, such as birds and hedgehogs etc.

Slugs, slugs, slugs .... I think you should write a song about them 😃

Hello @pennsif, I think that you are doing a wonderful job. If more people would take the initiative to do what ever they could, we may be able to make an impact on the ever growing problem of bringing Mother Nature to her knees.

Thank you.

Hi @pennsif!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.943 which ranks you at #372 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 373).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38