6 Free Recycled Items Sold In The Last 48 Hours For $642 Revenue - DIY Money To Keep Me Retired From The Corporate World

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

** If you missed my post on why salvaging & repairing things is so deeply personal to me, please read it to understand what drives me. Here's the link.

Thank you very much.


Moving on with the show, I raked in $642 in revenue in the last 48 hours strictly from selling recycled curb items.

$570 was cold hard cash.

Profit after shipping and fees was $606.

As you can see my average as of late is in the $200-$300 profit per day. This is what I do with standard focus. I can easily double this if I pushed myself, but I prefer to keep it fun and casual for 2-3 hours a day.

*This is just for the recycling work. I still dabble in thrifting with a separate revenue stream for that.

I'll keep sharing these regularly until more people step up to the plate and get creative to resell things they recycle. It all starts with the decision to take action. That's my goal. I'm sharing my personal experience to spread knowledge and opportunity here.


The salvaged sales from Thurs/Fri (so far):

This mint condition Italian coffee maker recently found across the street from me sold for $380 cash today. I could've gotten $400-$450 from two other buyers in the queue, but I chose to give it to the buyer today so I could have a free day tomorrow w/o waiting for a pickup. It retailed for over $715 new. Crazy.

This near new ski travel case sold yesterday for $130 cash to a nice guy from Brazil. It retailed for $200, so I got a great return on a used one.

This discontinued stroller seat was sold for $60 cash to a Mom who was replacing her broken one.

This toy car sold for $19, for a profit of $12 after shipping and fees. Vroom Vroom.

This vacuum hose sold for $28, for a profit of $15 after shipping and fees.

This vacuum canister sold for $25, for a profit of $12 after shipping and fees.

These last 3 were low revenue/margin items sold for the recycling benefit, not the income. I still can't let myself leave them behind if I know they'll sell.


Again, $303 per day. Not too shabby if you project that out on a year as a lone wolf recycler/reseller.

The most important part is that I comfortably had a baseball practice, dinner with a friend, saw a live concert, exercised twice, and took two naps. No stress. Health and happiness is the focus. I lived my life completely on my terms.

Sure, I could make more if I had a full time job, but free time and a peaceful life I control is more than worth the difference. Plus, helping the environment means something to me. Lining someone else's pockets for 8-10 hours a day is impossible for me at this stage once I've freed myself from those handcuffs.

I will scale this one day and/or start putting in full days. I'm still scratching the surface here. The system has immense potential if I could find more operational support to cover more ground and list items faster. I cover so little ground out of the entire city here, it's almost mind-blowing.

Now, on a Friday night, I'll consider grabbing a Guinness at a nearby bar before definitely going to hunt for more stuff, even though I already found about $175 in working handheld Dyson motorized vacuum parts on my walk home from the concert.


Keep your eyes peeled and you never know what you can find.

When you come across something, try to "see what you can sell if for" instead of "seeing it as junk."

That's my talent, and it's not rocket science.


Other Recent Recycling Posts:

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Them small sales add up! It isn't everyday that I get a large one, so 4+ $20 sales keeps me earning.

I Love that got RID of THE HANDCUFFS Corporate Rat Race..........

Without a chain, life is yours for the taking. There are tradeoffs, but they're all worth it, every day. Hopefully my stories help you to work towards taking this leap of faith if you haven't already.

Great work! Even though those last 3 are low margin items, they still add up, both in terms of cumulative profit and keeping items out of landfill

Posted using Partiko Android

Precisely. I think in pounds saved and people helped these days, not so much the $ earned.

Good job! That's quite a profit for one day! I still wish I could find deals like this on the side of the road...alas, here in Panama, it really is only trash...

Do you have thrift stores, Facebook Marketplace or Craigslist? You might be able to obtain things cheaply and make a profit that way, by reselling them as a complete item, or even more by parting them out into pieces to sell.

Hi, @stemmatt!

Thank you for using the #diy tag. This post has been rewarded with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote. Build-it is a new tribe on the steem blockchain that serves as a central hub for DIY contents on steemit.

We encourage steemians to post their DIY articles via our website. Have a question? Join us on Discord and telegram

This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, vote for us as a witness on the steem blockchain

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.90
ETH 3519.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38