Verse Therapy – Session 1

in #reconciliation6 years ago (edited)

Verse Therapy


is a series of original poems written as a means of channeling powerful, potentially destructive emotions into healthy, creative expression.



This self-inflicted therapy has its roots in my post, Poetry Experiment, which was written about a family member. That poem came from a sudden, unexpected surge of inspiration. Forgiveness and its mighty power were made clear -- I was cleansed by the verse.

Welcome, traveler. Verse Therapy is now in session.


steemit-enternamehere-poetry-verse_therapy-session1-today-rose-pink.jpg



Today
SCB 12 May 2018, Garland, TX

We didn't always get along, not so strongly.
We lived in small ways, felt so wrongly. Yet,
These days we fret more calmly.

She says –
Becoming strong,
Sing our song, we belong
Together. Forever!

Old wounds healing nicely, licked for years by the fire.
New moods feeling sprightly, picked clean of festered ire.

Unwrapping your layers
Savory flavors overlapping
Sour reactions clashing
Cacophony crashing
Into a sea.
See you, it's me.

Lovely.



End - Verse Therapy, Session 1
Questions and comments about this session are welcome.



Poetry Experiment:
20180507_104429-3.jpg
Verse Therapy - Session 2:
steemit-enternamehere-poetry-verse_therapy-session2-2018_iris-200.jpg
Verse Therapy - Session 3:
steemit-enternamehere-poetry-verse_therapy-session3-aftermath-white-flower-200.jpg
Verse Therapy - Session 4:
steemit-enternamehere-poetry-verse_therapy-session4-pink-flowers-200.jpg


Who is enternamehere?

steemit-enternamehere-sketching-portrait-375px.jpg

ENH is a steemian exploring life and artistic expression one day at a time. Also known as Seana. Here I am.

Thank You




Sort:  

Yes. Don't put pressure on yourself! Channel your energies and feelings towards what you can keep under control.

All the way 100.

Did you feel a little better after? Still working on your penpal papers. I picked up a small booklet and am filling it. Creative therapy is the best healing.

In fact, I felt more than a little better, I felt amazingly refreshed after I was done. This series is just what I needed to put some old worries to bed. It has shaken me awake from my fuzzy slumber, so get ready. Yes to creative therapy.

An entire [small] booklet?! What an exciting ride, definitely worth the wait, I already know. :D

That reads like something you could put music to. That old wounds/new moods lines were really great, love the word usage. I don't read/hear enough of that style of language these days :)

goatsig

I really appreciate you stopping by! Funny you mention putting it to music. I actually already recorded myself reading this poem (with my phone's "memo" app) and was fiddling with dSound (never uploaded there yet), and I have a few casual recordings of myself freestyle rapping. It's all morphing into its own creature, all these interests I'm discovering.

As always, thanks for the feedback :)

I'm very impressed by your poetry. I wanderspoke wrote a bit more in chat. But really enjoyed your verse. I can imagine it is a very powerful 'exercise' of life. I've written many times as therapy, it sure is a wonderful endeavour, but none of mine are worthy of public consumption. That's what journals you can bury in the earth are for ( :

Creative and well composed poem. Time breeds understanding and love overlap negative reactions

Thank you for reading.

You are a true wordsmith.

Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41