Romanian pickle recipe

in #recipes8 years ago

Hello my Steemit friends!

Today we will do some pickles

But first I must say that all the vegetables are bought only from farmers and not from a Mall or something like that.

The ingredients

  • green tomatoes,

These were the last tomatoes from my garden

Ok ..if you canot see...in the far far (galaxy) corner on the right you can see three remaining green tomatoes...
Ok, ok maybe there is still one or two

Oh sorry ...maybe this picture is better

  • cauliflower,

  • celery

  • small watermelon,

  • Red pepper


Note: The red pepper is not hot, rather has a normal taste litle bit juicy.
In Romania we call it red pepper but his real name or definition is -Eastern European frying pepper or better known olso as Antohi Romanian frying pepper-

  • green pepper (these where hot..well most of them, we chosen the best ones to make the brine spicy olso)

  • last but not least we put some carrots and cucumbers
    Procedure

    Put vegetables in layers do not squeeze them and do not leave large gaps in jars.

    Above are put leaves and stalks celery, arranged so as to push vegetables in brine.

    And now as a family secret we added a branch of a cherry tree

    Boil a brine of cold water and coarse salt - a tablespoon of salt, race, 1 liter of cold water. Bring to boil and brine 2-3 to 5-10 minutes to cool. Pour the hot brine over the vegetables and fruits placed in pots.

    We used Romanian coarse salt.

    Now this part is super important !!!

    The jars must be as tight as possible. After this we put them in our cellar.
    Do you remember my cellar?
    I show that to you in my previous post check it out if you did not read it:

    https://steemit.com/winemaking/@cynetyc/making-wine-at-my-home
    Note you can see my cellar at the end of the video!

    In 2-3 days fermentation occurs in full. Fermentation will take 2-3 weeks, as it is warm, the place where you stored the jars.
    Then rinse off brine, about 2-3 weekly basis and pickles are ready for consumption.
    Once you have opened the jar, you have made the connection with the atmosphere and introduced without you, new bacteria existing in the atmosphere, which amplifies the production of slime over souring and pickles.
    Never leave vessel discovered, when you started to eat pickles in it, cover it and lock it as tight as possible, otherwise it will sour the pickles and they will soften and rot.

    Final product

    Thank you for reading this post!

Sort:  

Lovely @cynetyc. Thank you for posting. The vegetables and the colours especially when decorated with the delicate doilies; all a feast for the eyes.

Thanks so much for appreciating my work @bleujay! It took 3 days to make the whole operation and then I created my post!

Thank you for your reply. It is a quality post with every photograph telling the story of thought....motive.....decision....action on the part of the author and his awareness of his readers. Nice. It is believable that it took three days. Thank you for the behind the scenes details. Cheers.

my mom would love to see your blog ... she is a huge fan of picles :) great job my friend :)

Thank you very much @mamel! Now is the perfect time for making pickles!
I love to show what I make because I am proud of my work and in the same time I want to show that we can do it in our homes and not buy them from the MALLs.
In my country (Romania) ...started from 10 years ago this craziness with promotions...in the MALLS... and peple lost their minds...running after promotions...
Now the are showing at the tv news that they found in the malls meat that was 40 years old!
After I seen that news ...I lost my apetite...
And I am trully scared to take any food from these malls.
And like that I started to make my own food with the stuff that I have from my garden and if I dont have some stuff I buy direcly from farmers....where I can see that they where in the ground or water (hydroponic farm).

@cynetyc wow! impressive!
Is that pickling?
Keep writing you're doing a great job!

good day my friend, I congratulate you for the wonderful work done with these preserves, before I change to also preparing fish escabeche or pickled eggplant, very good excellent job post,

Thank you so much @jlufer I love picked eggplant too !

Thank you cynetyc. Very good as usual. I am looking forward to see the wine cellar. I am going to that post next. In this post, the translation is somewhat harder to understand than the last one, but I can make out what you are saying. Keep up the good work. ~Cheers~

Thanks @james83501 for your kind words, I tryed my best to make the words more simple, because in romanian there are more words for pickles for example...the tomatoes are called gogonele, but for that word there is no english translation, so I tryed to make the words more simple.
I am glad that you understood my content and olso glad that you liked it!

Yes, I like your work. That is why I follow you ; )

Thank you for posting the "Verify" one. I am checking into that. I have been reading some of your other posts as well. Very good. I like the target practice one. You look kind of comical when you are fast-forwarded back and forth (hehehe). Great entertainment! And, I just spoke with my son about your wine making post. Also, since I am just really starting, and we all need a helping hand, I am going to start, daily, looking at the Blogs of my Followers, finding things I like that are over one day old and less than a month old, then upvoting them and resteeming them. I would ask you to do the same for me. This way, we all get continual exposure. That is what we all need, right? I am staring today. I will look at your Blog and resteem and upvote the ones I like.

Yes I agree @james83501 on what you wrote . I want your content to be seen too!
One of the ways that I can directly help you is voting you 100% (done )
PS: Sorry for the slow response but I was offline last days, because I had a lot of work to do.
Olso there are other ways that writers like you and me can be seen and I intend to explain in a future post in detail.
But rest asure all interation that I make (with a real person, on the site are olso some bots that I discovered and some that I dont even know ) I upvote, because I want to help others as much as I can.

Wonderful! Lovely fresh veggies and they look great in the jars

Beautiful pictures! Nice article also.

What does it taste like when finished?

I will be sour but with a taste of spicy too, because me and my family we love spicy food and peppers!

Looks very tasty, hope to try it someday.

O yeah they are awesome for the winter time !

Nice story!!! Felicitari!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65