BEET BURGERS (VEGAN)! The Best Recipe So Far For Burgers That Directly Match And Replace The Cow Versions. :)

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

These burgers blew me away with their fine taste and texture that i really did not expect to get from the ingredients used in them - too good to keep to myself! - No animals were harmed in the making of this dinner!

I think the majority of people will at least theoretically recognise the value and need of being vegan, possibly in terms of health, or at least in terms of stopping the abuse of other living creatures. However, they typically find that in practise they have no clue about how to do it and are intimidated by the thought of having to replace so much of their food 'routines' with alternatives that many simply never even attempt the change. For that reason and also just for fun, it can be good to re-create traditional 'meat' based recipes with equivalents that are plant based and when it is done well, even meat eaters will often agree that the results are even better than the original meat versions.

Since I grew up liking to eat burgers and despite me knowing well that raw fruit and veg meals are better for me than cooked and fried foods - I still sometimes eat vegan burgers and this recipe is the best I've found so far. I have previously used recipes that are totally different to this one, but I won't be using them again!

Ingredients


1.25 Cups of cooked (and cooled) brown rice (I use short grain)
1 Cup of cooked (and cooled) lentils
1 Cup of shredded Beetroot
0.5 Teaspoon of salt (ideally a decent salt - not demineralised table salt)
Black pepper - to taste
1 Teaspoon of thyme
3 Tablespoons of chopped onion
2 Cloves of Garlic (finely chopped)
2 Tablespoons of almond butter
Half a cup of breadcrumbs
Oil for frying (olive or other that you prefer)

Method


  1. Shred the beetroots in a food processor.
  2. Use a cutting blade attachment in a food processor to blend the lentils, rice and shredded beetroot. The mixture should form a consistently blended mix when ready.

  1. Drop the blended mix into a mixing bowl and add all the other ingredients, mixing it all together by hand.
  2. Chill the mixture in the fridge for 15 - 40 minutes.
  3. Form the burger patties according to the size you prefer - you don't have to worry about making them too big to be fully cooked since these are made of plant materials only.
  4. Heat a frying pan to a medium-high temperature and add a thin layer of oil to it.
  5. Fry the burgers for about 12 minutes, turning them over a few times in the process.

  1. Serve however you like! I used lettuce, tomatoes and wholegrain buns - along with home cut potato chips - which was great!
  • Note - I strongly suggest doing your best to source organic ingredients as they are always best for health and taste better too.

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


signature


assume I'm human


Buy My T-Shirts, Gifts & Other Clothing Here.


ureka.org

Sort:  

I think this food is really fantastic, but in our country still not many who eat this kind of food. I really want to try it ...

Oh ok - well, are there ingredients in this recipe that you cannot find there?

I think @thepink means eating vegan not necessarily the ingredients (at least that is what everyone tells me on my recipes, it's just difficult to transition when it's not the norm) :) But if I am right in my assumption, then it's a perfect opportunity to show them how yummy it can be!

thank you guys @heart-to-heart, I still do not know at all about the cake, it seems I am very curious how the process of making and the materials that are needed in terms of making the cake ..

yes @ura-soul, I do not know the recipe in this cake. really like you ask, because this cake is still foreign to our area .. i want to feel and i want to make a cake like that

I want to eat my screen that looks so good!

hehe - time to be creatively foodish then! :)

hahaha, exactly, what will you make for us next? Hopefully something very chocolate!

Beetroots are very rich in nutrients and this vegan recipe will help a lot to decrease the animal slaughters.

My daughter has decided to be vegan. This puts some stress on the home-cooks.
This recipe will be most welcome and I am following you because I enjoy the energy. Once again my sincere thanks for relieving stress. lol

You are welcome! There are lots of good vegan recipes online now. I have found, though, that what taught me the most was learning about the nutrient profiles of plants and using chronometer to get a sense of what I need and what I am missing in a nutritional sense. In any case, more vegan posts to come soon! :)

Look forward to your posts.

How do you do the linking? Its cool. If you dont mind my asking.

Sure, when you create a new post by clicking 'submit a story' you should see link that goes to a page that lists how to format your posts (markdown guide). In there you will see how to make a hyperlink as I have done here. Essentially, you start with a pair of square brackets and write your text inside those - then you immediately add a pair of normal curved brackets after the square brackets and put the target URL in those curly brackets.

This is a very traditional Finnish recipe! I will actually be selling these in my bookstore once I get the food license to make it a bookstore cafe! Here is my most recent post if you are interested! I resteemed and upvoted this post!
https://steemit.com/divination/@ladyreijya/what-can-steemians-focus-on-today

Aha, ok - thanks - i was not aware of that and thanks for your support!

You may also enjoy Lakslada if you like Salmon.

The idea of veganism is to not participate in the exploitation of living beings, including fish - but thanks for the thought.

Ah. I get confused because I have friends who think they are vegan but say that fish is not meat..

ah ok, i see that's unfortunate! maybe you can inform them without them arguing!

one can only hope lol

Thanks for an​ easy recipe.

I am with you all the way my friend! From explaining about making comfort foods to loving the burger back in the day ;) I have been on a burger mission lately. I made kale burgers that were fantastic but have yet to share- we could start a vegan burger party throughout the lands of Steemit! :) I love beet burgers, their color is wonderful! I'll keep this recipe in mind but will have to sub the rice hmmm... you've given me a project! Thanks @ura-soul <3

You are welcome as all-ways ;)
hehe, vegan burger parties sound like a lot of fun - maybe i'll post a different recipe for one soon and we can give mcdonalds a run for their clown money.
<3

Just made this. Awesome!

aha! that was fast - bon apetite!

I'll have to try this as I'm not vegan but red meat doesn't agree with my stomach.

It's a great start to a more balanced belly!

I love beet burgers. Best burgers around!
Upvoted!

hehe - thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53