The solution of Rebus [ENG] #6 (and a bonus)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #rebus8 years ago (edited)

Thanks to everyone who participated in my last rebus contest! There were some creative answers and I'll take some time to think, which of them should be rewarded as good efforts or alternative solutions. Meanwhile, as no one guessed the official answer, I'll provide the authorial solution in this post.

But first, I'll give you a completely unrelated bonus image... 😉

The first part of the puzzle was a star called pentagram and the second was a replacement instruction.

The replacement instruction is quite a riddle itself. The t stands for tonne, as it's tonne's symbol in the International System of Units (SI). Tonne is 1000 kilograms, which is 1000000 grams - so the fraction t/1000000 stands for gram. It's not easy to recognize t as a tonne, but an arrow suggest a classic replacement instruction in rebus puzzles (see my post What is rebus? - examples that won't hurt you (no more) for more 😉), so you should look for a part of a word, represented in an image above, to replace. If you interpret the star shape as a pentagram, you can connect a gram part with 0.000001 of a tonne.

It could also help to look for an interpretation of t, which still makes sense, when divided by 1000000. That could be a different approach to finding the official solution of the first part of the replacement instruction. If you do this, while still keeping a pentagram in your mind, you combine both of the approaches.

As you see, this puzzle is already hard, but the second part of the replacement instruction is also a difficult riddle. The drawing is some sort of a soda pop, of course, but which word should you choose? Is it just soda or pop, or is it a particular kind of soda? The yellow cap and label are very often used in the marketing of tonic water, and since replacing gram in the pentagram with tonic gives us an actual word, this is a very good lead. The official answer is pentatonic.

This rebus was very hard, but the previous one was solved in about 90 minutes, so as you can see, I like to diversify the difficulty levels of my puzzles. I plan to make my next contest much easier, so stay tuned, as the speed of solving should matter in such case.

I hope you liked my puzzle and this explanatory post. Follow me, so you can have my next contest in your feed!

My other posts you might be interested in:
Sort:  

At least I got the ton thing going. I thought the star meant 5 point = 5.0.

Sometimes it's hard to predict, whether the puzzle will be easy or hard. I thought the pentagram part would be quite easy, so I wanted to complicate the replacement part. I turns out that my predictions were completely wrong in your case. 😝

Damn thats clever!

Thanks! Hope to see you at my future contests. 😁

i was gonna go with - if life gives you lemons , make lemonaide - not even in the ballpark LOL

That's a good saying to go with most of the time, but not in this case. 😉 The next puzzle should be easier, hope to see you then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70