The solution of Rebus [ENG] #2 (and some plans for future contests)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #rebus8 years ago

Hi! Big thanks to everyone who spent some time trying to solve my English rebus #2. Special thanks to @d3nv3r, @imthejckl and @rubellitefae for the courage to reply, though not every comment was an attempt to solve the rebus.

I think that the rebus was very difficult - maybe too difficult, but I have a good excuse. I have much experience in creating rebuses in Polish. I made over 150 of them. I publish them on my Facebook fanpage Poniżej Pewnego Poziomu (which means Below a Certain Level in Polish), you can view them here. I have over 1000 followers on this fanpage and some of them are really great rebus solvers, so I'm used to a certain level of their efforts. 😉 When I publish a very difficult rebus, it gets solved eventually - and it often happens pretty quickly. But I also try to create easy and funny rebuses from time to time - and I will keep this attitude on Steemit. Since I don't reach that many followers here, I shouldn't expect that such a difficult rebus will be solved - so my next one will be much easier.

The Solution

So let's get to the solution...

As you can see, without the mathematical part, the solution of the rebus would be wine. And I thought it would be too easy, so I complicated things a little...

The Mathematics (and logic)

I decided to put something in this wine - and I hope my mix didn't turn out disgusting.


So the logical sentence says: if a<b<0, then a^2>b^2. Now, let's consider absolute values of a nad b. They are negative numbers, so their absolute values are positive (not zero) and |a|=-a, |b|=-b.

a<b /-(a+b)

-b<-a

|b|<|a|

We have two different positive numbers, so we can be sure that the square of the greater number is greater than the square of the other number.

|a|^2>|b|^2

a^2>b^2

It proves that our logical sentence is always true. If we look at the truth table, we will see that if the antecedent a<b<0 is false then the implication is always true. And we proved that if the ascendant is true, then the consequent is true - so the implication is true in all cases. Our sentence is a logical truth.

It turns out I have put a truth in the wine.

The answer to the rebus (finally!)

And finally I give you the correct answer to my rebus:

In wine, truth.

It is an English translation of a Latin phrase  In vino veritas.

We can interpret the rebus as a truth put into wine or as a truth in w that is in e. The second interpretation gives us a truth in w in e, so we have a truth in wine. Therefore: in wine, truth.

Plans for the future contests

As I said, the next rebus will be much easier. Winning an easy rebus contest is also a game of great skill - maybe the puzzle isn't that hard, but you have to be quicker than your competitors.

I would also like to give a worthwhile prize to the winner, even if the author reward won't be big - so if the share of the author's reward declared in the game rules will be less than 1 SBD, I'll fund the rest of the prize from my wallet to ensure that the minimum prize for winning the next contest will be 1 SBD.

Thanks for reading this post - follow me to be sure that you won't miss the next contest!

My other posts you might be interested in:
Sort:  

Very nice, I would never have made that one didn't even know what a rebus was when I posted my answer

Thanks. So now you know. 🙂 I hope you like this format and you will participate in next contests.

I followed so I just may meow that I understand the concept a little better

And there's always Wikipedia. 😌
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rebus

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50