One of the Worst Houses I ever Fixed Up. $100,000 Rehab

in #realestate7 years ago (edited)

I bought this house from a wholesaler for $56,000. I ended up selling it for $219,900 over a year later. Even with that huge margin I barely made anything on this stupid house. It was a massive pile of crap, but a contractor I used made the situation even worse by convincing me to add on it to. I will have plenty of pictures, numbers, and videos from this wonderful experience. Here you can see the before and after pictures of the front.

Screenshot_20170726-094507.png

20170724_110448.jpg

I bought this from a wholesaler as I mentioned. A wholesaler is someone who finds good deals, buys them or gets them under contract, and then sellers or assigns the contract to other investors without doing any work.

https://investfourmore.com/2017/02/20/how-to-get-a-great-deal-from-a-real-estate-wholesaler/

I bought the house knowing $56,000 was about the cheapest you could buy anything for in the area. The house needed a ton of work and my plan was to redo the electric, plumbing, roof, walls, heating, bath, kitchen, windows, doors, paint, flooring, etc. It would be a big remodel but nothing I have not done before. However, my contractor convinced me that for not much more money he could add on two bedrooms and another bath. I agreed to do it if he guaranteed the cost would not be more than $60,000. I should have known this was a pipe dream, but he had done some work for me in the past and been decent. Below are more pics of the house.

20160919_130129.jpg

20170726_095044.png

Screenshot_20170726-094542.png

20170726_095108.png

20170726_095156.png

Below is a video of the house:

The contractor started with the demo and this is a video of the idiot pulling down the back of the house. As we got farther into the rehab he kept saying it was not a big deal if the house fell down. I asked him how much more that would cost me and he said $25,000 and I said, YES that is a big deal.

In the end the contractor fell apart on this deal and other ones he was working on as well. It turns out he had done decent on the first few jobs for me, because he was eating losses. He had grossly miscalculated the costs, his workers sucked, and he could not eat money anymore. He actually quit on this job halfway through after spending his $60,000 budget.

I had to hire someone else to come finish for him, and the entire job cost me over $110,000. After selling costs, carrying costs, and holding costs, I maybe broke even. I learned to not take on such big projects, not to trust contractors who I know are full of crap, and not do additions. Here are some after photos.

20170724_111407.jpg

20170724_111308.jpg

20170724_111337.jpg

20170724_112604.jpg

20170724_111228.jpg

Here is a video of the home finished.

If you are into real estate, flipping, rentals, let me know! I love to hear from others in the business.

I also love to hear from those who are interested in the business. I am happy to answer questions. up to this point I have flipped over 140 houses in my career and have 16 going right now.

https://investfourmore.com/flips/

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

dang man, I got stressed out just reading this. Glad you didn't get more burned than this!

Thanks, it comes with the territory!

I did real estate, I can't believe you got that much! Good job. Must be somewhere very popular in locality, I'd only pay 50k for that. LOL

I am in Colorado wuth an average price of about $300,000.

If that is Denver, NYC, or Bay area in Calif., its no surprise. I have lived in all three places, currently in Denver. Good for you!
Prices are about to plummet, keep those monies in gold and silver .. xx

I am in Greeley. I would not assume prices will plummet just because they are high. Things are much diffetent than the last crash. They could level out and drop some, but I don't see a crash coming.

They paid that much in Greeley? Wow. Lucky.
It is not an assumption. I do not assume.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Thank you so much! xx

Well the top economist's in the country predicted a double dip recessions and a housing crash worse than the first one 7 years ago that never happened. I am impressed that you can predict the future better than the experts.

I am talking about the experts. It was not 7 years ago, it is now. Along with that, yes some of us can predict the future, we are called Seers. Anyways, good luck. I was in RE for 10 years in NYC, they are even crashing as we speak, and this is a report from yesterday. I've heard different whispers that Colorado may not get hit. So hopefully not. Wish you well. Peace.

Ha! This made me chuckle!

Me too!

you redesigned it completely. you are a perfect businessman. :)

Thank you, it was a cool house when we finished.

You got a 12.50% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @investfourmore!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote!
I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar!
I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Wish Granted! Beautiful transformation.

0.2 sbd transformed to $.66 upvote
Gratitude for @earthnation alliance
Lila-wish-genie service terms

Love, Lila-Wish-Genie

This post has received a 1.72 % upvote from thanks to: @investfourmore.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.

Before sending a transfer to @minnowhelper, verify that your publication meets these conditions (http://www.minnowhelper.com/conditions.php). After the transfer is made, no claims will be received.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

The housing market in Denver is absolutely ridiculous right now. Do you have any articles about how you chose your contractors or how your found them. So many of them seem full of themselves and over confident.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65