Stop... Building time

in #rambling5 years ago (edited)

Ywen5BI.jpg

100.jpg

What does Steem need?

To be honest I did not ask a single human being

But I am pretty sure the answers will differ a lot. If you ask a frustrated minnow, who came with the dream to earn money here or a dolphin or orca, I am pretty sure you get different answers.

Who brings value to the chain?

The Steemian who post daily? The Steemian who promotes Steem? The Steemian who develops dapps? The curator, the downvoter, the votingbot, the witness, the whisteblower, the pro vaccin people, the anti vaccin people, the ones who write 20 pages blog posts or the ones who post 5 sentences?

We are many! We have different intrests, different visions, different values and different opinions

2rzs75.jpg

Again you will get more than 1 answer

What are we?

Are we blogging platform? Are we a chain for dapps? Are we an ecosystem?

What do you tell your friends why they should join us? Or even invest into Steem?

Because the rewards? The community? The fact we are censorship resistent? The content?

When I played poker I was active in 2 forums and it took a while till I was comfortable there.

During the years I switched forums because the content was better at another forum for the form of poker I was playing.

They offered the best content availible and the best players were active there. I was even paying money for the premium acess.

I never got very familiar with reddit and the poker content did not seem to be very good there and I just dont like the interface, so there was also no real interest for me to get familiar,

I chose my forum because of the content

Do you remember Dmania?

dmania_logo_new.png

I thought the idea was great. The execution on the other hand...not so great.
But it pulled people in. How many stayed? I actually don`t know.

At the moment the biggest selling point to get people to join Steemit is in my opinion the reward, which at the same time brings a lot of shattered dreams when people join with unrealistic expectations.

Contentwise Steemit seems to be very good if I want to read about Steem

But if I am not interested about it in the first place why should I read about it?

Don`t get me wrong there is a lot of good content here but Steemit does not provide better content about another topic than reddit or a forum which is specific about one topic.

If we are primary a blogging platform I think we need to pull in people about one topic first.

I am happy to see that there are some big accounts giving people a reason to blog about there chosen tag.

Microblogging ala Twitter

A couple of weeks ago there was a very well written and interesting article about the transition to microblogging.

Most tweets are pretty short and sweet and with 330 million active monthly users I would say people enjoy this.

Does every post needs to be a masterpiece?

No! But we miss the interface for this

The beauty of Steem(it)

As long as you have no trillion followers on Instagram you will not earn a cent there.

Here I see people who write good content, post beautiful pictures, give reviews about movies and earn.
Some only cents, some a couple of dollars and some enough to pay for the next movie and write a new one.

And no, they not all have a big stake here

How fast do you think you can be a "social influencer" on another medium?

The shortcoming of Steem(it)

Why would I switch to Steemit if I earn already on Instagram/Youtube etc?
If I dont get demonetized?
Sadly we could not hold the couple of youtube people we had here.

The rise of Steem(it)

Many people are probably sick of hearing it but

You are an early adopter

The bearmarket drove people out of crypto in general not just from Steemit

Not everyone is willing to post for little money and what we can give is pretty capped in $ terms.
Not everybody understands that posting now, can have life changing consequences.
At the moment is not the time to life from Steem.

At the moment is building time.

Building the infrastructure for the masses. Building your blog, your followers and your contacts and supporters.

The next bullrun will come with this the payouts will look bigger again and again will people come to get their share of the cake.

With all that building we will hopefully have done, through open contests, great dapps ,awsome contests and otherways to monetize your thoughs and attention, I cant see how we could fail!

Please consider giving this little ad a click


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Wow, this may be your best article yet! Thoroughly impressed. A lot of thought went into this and it's going to make a lot of people think. Well done.

What really stood out to me here is this.
..............................................................................
"If we are primary a blogging platform I think we need to pull in people about one topic first.

I am happy to see that there are some big accounts giving people a reason to blog about there chosen tag."
..........................................................................................

Well, these two lines pretty much sum up why I came to steemit and stayed, even in this bare market where I watched my income evaporate 95%. During this time I've accumulated a good amount of steem, built up my following, and earnings could be even better on a good rally, or sustainable even if it's just goes back to a dollar.

You @flipstar were one of my first big supporters. So you always will have a special place in my heart. I sincerely thank you for helping my dream come true, being able to legitimately call myself a travel blogger.

Thank you!

From Pai Thailand! -Dan

PS. Next stop Koh Phagnan in 5 days. Meet me there if you can!

thank you.

Cant really leave Phuket though as I need to go to school so I learn enough to pass my test and can extend my education visa.

My earnings and investment went pretty much down the gutter as well and I dont really enjoyed it but I think we have oppurtunity here as well.

Also there is no alternative to steem (so far at least). Lets see how happy we will be we stayed in 2022 or so

Yeah, it's a frusturating time. But I agree with what you say. I personally am a long term investor, used to swing trade, and day trade...but now I set it an forget. So I'm not all that concerned. Like you say, let's see where we are at in 2022. Best of luck with edu visa and all that you are doing.

well, you earn a loooooot on Insta via sponsors etc etc...there are many ways how to monetize account on Insta. And you get those rewards immediatelly and are not locked in..soo it's not all black and white...btw I totally remember the post about transformation to microblogging...he was talking about old-school steemians being against it right? I totally think it's a think which will happen sooner or later..people don't read posts here..even I havent read this one whole..it's morejust a scanning of a text, looking for something interesting...but time's too precious to read 20-30 posts a day cuz that's the amount of upvotes I ususally give...hah and the DMania was crazy..I just lately thought about it...where are all those Meme creators now :D 60$ for one meme :D and some of them were getting the upvote daily :D it was crazy :D what was wrong about the execution of DMania?

I dont think the lock of the rewards is this big of a problem. The problem is that insta etc is way more scalibible than steem atm.

The way they upvoted could be played by using bots as they made their bot vote for what received the most upvotes

Whaat really? :D Soo if you had a lot of people automatically upvoting you, you had a huuge chance of winning with even a bad meme? Wow didn't know that...that explains why I never got the upvote haha :D

sometimes the game is rigged.

"Not everybody understands that posting now, can have life changing consequences.
At the moment is not the time to life from Steem."

I totally agree with this. As someone with small Steem Power all I care about is finding ways to increase it. I don't want to withdraw anything out considering the price of STEEM. It will be peanuts anyway.

So the best course of action for me and for most of the guys with small SP is to keep accumulating and increase my SP and wait for the price to go up.

Cheers.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a good strategy, keep up the good work!

This is a true and interesting reflection that would help many to understand why it is here ... What are your true interests and intentions? ... In my case now at the head of a community I try to make steem a vehicle of education and reach thousands of users through the tutorial videos. The VDC community (Venezuelans Dtubers Community) has that moment at the moment and we are promoting this project little by little. Educate, teach and contribute useful content to the chain in various areas of knowledge such as music, arts, crafts, cooking, sewing and more ... Greetings from Venezuela brother.

Baner_para_post_vdc.jpg

I believe many people that joined steemit joined for money purposes or should I say mainly for money purposes and so they became easily frustrated when they are not achieving the

They become frustrated when they see others achieving more.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @flipstar
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Hi @flipstar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.884 which ranks you at #1245 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1242).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 203 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64