Steemit at Formula 1 Grand Prix - Austin Texas - October 2017

in #racing7 years ago

Dear Steemit Friends,

I write this post sitting at my seat on Turn 9 of Formula 1 at Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas. It is day 3 and Race Day for the 2017 Formula 1 United States Grand Prix. This is my first time to attend any Formula 1 race event and as most people will tell you, the experience is both exhilarating and amazing!

The schedule for the entire 3 day event is outlined below.

I unfortunately did not attend Day 1 on Friday and instead chose to start and join Day 2 for the Formula 4 - First Race, the Qualifying Rounds, and the Justin Timberlake Concert. Given that this was my first time to attend an F1 Event, I figured I had to be prepared. As a beginner I looked at the COTA website to figure out what I was and was not allowed to bring. For those going for the first time - a lot of the items listed as not allowed are actually allowed. Examples are fold out and inflatable chairs, backpacks larger then the size specified, monopods and camera stands, and large umbrellas (as long as they aren't too obstructive.)

Here is a snap shot of the gear I brought:

As you can see - just the basics to survive.

For those who just want to enjoy the race, the atmosphere, and the festivities without spending a whole lot of money, I recommend bringing your own water (which you can refill using the huge complimentary water towers located all over the place) and snacks. Outside meals are prohibited though.

With my digital ticket and survival pack in hand, I was ready to go. Before getting into the details of the Day 2 Events, a little advice for the newbies which I learned. The price of Admission for 1 Day and a seat assignment is the same as the price of Admission for all 3 days with no seat assignment (just entry). I recommend spending on the 3 day admission, because there are plenty of grassy areas where you can setup your folding or inflatable chairs and get just as good of a view of the race as sitting in an assigned seat on the bleachers - unless of course you are paying for VIP seats.

The concerts as well are accessible and the experience is better if you join the crowd in the grassy area in front of the stage - Again, unless you have paid for VIP front stage passes.

Below are the details and specs for the COTA track:

First thing I did when I arrived was buy some food - The delicious aromas coming from the various stands and food trucks were just so hard to avoid. The first meal I had for the day was a Bacon and Cheese Hamburger with a bottled lemon vitamin water from the first food stand I came to - It looked good and there were lines of people, so I figured I couldn't go wrong.

It was delicious!! By this time (around noon) I was starving so I made quick work of the burger. There wasn't much going on, so we decided to walk around a little bit and check out the rest of the track. I took an opportunity to use my IPhone to take a panoramic view from our bleacher seats. Turn 9 has 2 turns, so a great spot to see some of the action.

As you can see from some of the snapshots I took throughout the event, It was a beautiful Day.

Being at F1 in person is an amazing experience, The feel, the sound, and the sheer power of the cars is something you need to experience first hand. Film cannot accurately capture the thunderous roar and speed as each car passes by.

The videos below are just some of the footage I caught on Day 2, but as you can see, they don't truly capture the actual feeling and excitement of being there in person.

Following are the results of the Qualifying rounds from Day 2 for the Day 3 event:

According to formula1.com, "Lewis Hamilton eased to pole for Mercedes in Saturday’s qualifying for the 2017 Formula 1 United States Grand Prix, but Sebastian Vettel will have every chance of keeping his title hopes alive tomorrow after putting his Ferrari second on the grid, three-tenths down on the championship leader."

You can see a rundown of the events in the Qualifying rounds HERE.

Last but not least, who could forget one of the main attractions for Day 2 - Justin Timberlake - who ended the day with a concert that filled the entire center field of Circuit of the Americas.

and of course who can forget the video so you can jam along - I will edit the entire day's footage and upload to DTube soon!

https://dtube.video/#!/v/cloh76/9xi3626s

As Day 3 and the Race itself roles around, I will post some footage as the day winds down. Please follow me for updates. If you enjoyed this post, please Upvote, Comment, Resteem and let me know what you think in the comments below


How to vote?
  • Use the witness page https://steemit.com/~witnesses
  • scroll down the page until you see the vote box below and enter cloh76.witness
  • click VOTE and accept my Appreciation and Gratitude!

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 21.0% @trafalgar upgoat, thanks to @cloh76
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cloh76 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I remember when i went to the 2008 Silverstone Grand Prix in the UK, it was the one and only time i attended an F1 race in person and it was back in the era when the V8 engines were SO loud that you needed ear protection in the stands. I remember the feeling of the sound waves hitting me in the chest with a thud every time they stepped on the gas out of the final turn.

I'm envious of your visit to Austin, hopefully one day i will be able to experience it again. I hope the race was as thrilling to watch in person as it was to watch on television.

F1 has come a long way. Bigger and more powerful engines yet the same mind numbing speed and thrill. Ear plugs are definitely still required and the raw power and excitement you feel when you are there in person is exhilarating. I hope you get another chance to go again in the future. I recommend everyone experience it at least once.

Aw! This is really cool. I'd love to watch this in person. Thank you for sharing this with us, Chris! 😉

Happy Steeming!

Aw! This is really cool. I'd love to watch this in person. Thank you for sharing this with us, Chris! 😉

Happy Steeming!

I hope you get the opportunity to see it in person one day. It's definitely something everyone should see in person once in their life!

This post has received a 6.72 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cloh76.

Looks good, great blog Chris! That will be an amazing thing to watch. Wish I could.

One Day hopefully. It was great. Day 3 was even better. I'll post that a little later

Cool, I'll make sure to read that then!

@cloh76,
Am very happy to see you blog again. I have been waiting for this for a long time now. 😂

BTW, I am waiting for the photos of your wedding, where is it?

We still havent gotten them back from the photographer yet. I expect them by the end of the month.

We have the race for quite a number of years already but I've never been to one.
on occasions when I was nearby close enough, I heard the engines and it was really noisy.

Yep. you can't miss those engines. They are even louder up close. I hope you get the opportunity to see a race in person someday!

This post has received a 1.98 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @cloh76. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 6.85 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @cloh76

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65