Qurator's Tasty Tuesday #68 - Keto Waffles with Feta, Garden Herbs & Tomatoes steemCreated with Sketch.

in #qurator5 years ago

IMG_20190323_093441.jpg

My dilemma lately has been what to give the Husband who's on Keto while I sit across the table from him and have fluffy golden brown Waffles dripping with all things forbidden.

IMG_20180710_102033.jpg

Berries are Keto friendly, but a waffle made with wheat flour plus all that syrup is a definite no-no!

Briefly, Keto is a high Fat, low Carb diet which has really worked amazingly well for my husband who is a Type 1 Diabetic.

Not only has he lost almost 10 kg in almost regained his six pack, but his glucose levels have remained very constant and he's had to reduce his Insulin drastically.

It really works, so I will not tempt him with forbidden food like carb-loaded waffles!

This, my second and much more successful attempt at making Keto friendly Waffles, will be my entry for Qurator's Tasty Tuesday #68.

A huge thank you for the opportunity to share foods from our part of the world here on Steemit!

IMG_20190323_092429_1.jpg

IMG_20190323_093556.jpg

I used Almond Flour, Coconut Flour, Psyllium Husk (which acts as a kind of glue), Eggs, Coconut Oil, Vanilla, Xylitol, Baking Powder and Chia Seeds, and I must say I was more than happy with the results this time around!

IMG_20190323_085125.jpg

RECIPE

  • 2 Eggs

  • 5 ml Vanilla Essence

  • 2 tbs Zylitol or any other sweetener

  • 1/2 cup Almond Flour

  • 1/4 cup Coconut Flour

  • 2 tbs Psyllium Husk

  • 5 ml Baking Powder (not soda)

  • 2 ml Salt

  • 1/4 cup Chia Seeds (optional)

  • 1/2 - 3/4 cup Almond Milk

Method

Beat Eggs, Vanilla & Zylitol till frothy

Add Coconut Oil

Add dry ingredients alternately with Almond Milk - you may have to add more milk to get the right consistency

Cook in pre-heated and sprayed waffle maker a little longer than regular waffles made with wheat flour

IMG_20190323_091944-COLLAGE.jpg

Do not forget to spray the waffle maker with non stick cooking spray, even though it may be Teflon coated.

IMG_20190323_093804.jpg

These Waffles are super light and fluffy, best to let them cook a little longer than regular waffles before opening up the waffle maker, to cook to a nice golden brown.

I served the Keto friendly Waffles with crumbled Feta Cheese, baby Roma Tomatoes and a sprinkling of fresh herbs.

IMG_20190323_093554.jpg

One last look at the making for all our busy people:

IMG_20190323_085125-ANIMATION.gif

I do hope you enjoyed reading this, could not resist sharing our stunning orchid just outside the kitchen window, glistening with raindrops.

IMG_20190326_090047.jpg

Important to remember that anyone can enter, you do not have to belong to Qurator, head on over to the Qurator's Tasty Tuesday #68, read the rules and show us your food!

Heading over to that post to see what food has been prepared by our Qurator and Steemit foodies!

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Steem Kitchen.gif

SteemEngine.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Great looking waffles Lizelle, mine never look that good or probably don't taste as good as those look like they taste.

Mr Papper, I was ready to send out a search party in cyberspace as you were nowhere to be found, so nice seeing you again, Steemit's just not the same when you're absent! Hope you've settled in nicely in the new job!
I'm sure your waffles still taste good :)
Thanks for stopping by!

I haven't had much time to even look at steemit let alone write anything. The job is going well and the part time drawing work is nearly a full time job in itself in the evenings. But like I told our friend @buttcoins , have to make hay while the sun is shining. I think it was him I told that too. I had a very long night last night drawing and got up early to finish up for the weekend so my memory is failing fast today.
Waffles with fresh strawberries and whipped cream are my favorite and they do taste pretty good if I don't say so myself.
Of course, pretty much anything with fresh strawberries and whipped cream would taste good.

That is good to hear mr Papper, so glad about the job as well! Sometimes bad stuff happens for the good!
You have to prioritise so we understand, look forward to when you get back with the daily dose, life on Steemit is not the same without that sult & papper :)

Thank you Lizelle, you are so kind.

I have never tried savory waffles. I have actually never tried savory pancakes either. It somehow doesn't work together in my mind as I'm used to having these dishes sweet :) But it might taste good and definitely does look good on your photos :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

I also love them sweet but hubby enjoyed his savoury ones, thank you for stopping by :)

ohhhhhh wonderful @lizelle! I can't wait to try this one! Absolutely amazing my friend :) And the flowers, mmmm so beautiful! Another creative masterpiece. I'm sure your hubby was so happy this morning! Well done.

He was very happy, has missed having bread and this is kind of similar, I've been experimenting with making a cheesy bread in a mug and today's version was quite good so will post that one soon:) Thank you for your lovely comments my friend :)

Posted using Partiko Android

That turned out looking pretty good Lizelle, nice way to assist hubby with diet. Finding alternative ingredients that go together not always as easy as it sounds.

...and it's costly here in SA! Thank you so much for your support @joanstewart :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 441 (03/27/19)

Thank you so very much for your wonderful support @thesteemengine!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so very much @c-squared, really appreciate your wonderful support!

Hm. I actually have never heard of Psyllium Husk before I am not sure if Malaysia sells it. Will have to Google it later.
I tried using the egg as part of the binding agent but usually it doesn't really work well as it will fall apart.

I didn't use a waffle maker just a frying pan. Maybe this missing ingredient could do the trick.

Thank so much for this recipe!
Making me droll by just looking at it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I do hope you find it, definitely is the secret ingredient, it acts in the same way as gluten. Thank you for your feedback!

Posted using Partiko Android

With your help and that of @birdsinparadise I'm finding lots of nice food without gluten. And this keto thingy is interesting me more and more... Thanks my friends! ;)

It's really working like a bomb, I need to start but reluctant as I love my fruit...and other sweet delights! Thank you for your feedback my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Its Look So So Good!! Make me hungry...I definitely will try this recipe.

Thank you for stopping by @nattysteemit, nice to meet you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy lizelle! oh this is such a wonderful post for those of us interested in Keto. My wife and I are on it and our biggest problem is what you mentioned, finding a variety of things to eat that are Keto friendly!
I'm so glad that your husband is doing so well on it, it has so many health benefits!

Great, it's quite a problem at times but I'm slowly learning to improvise and there's so many delicious recipes online! Glad you and your wife are on it, I still have to get with the program ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy lizelle! Are you posting about good keto recipes that you find? We need some variety!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42