Monday Morning Quote: "You want to live longer? Go out and see the World"

in #quote6 years ago (edited)

Goooood morning readers! How are you? Monday is here: Head up and let's work!


Monday Morning Quotes: A place where, each Monday, I'll bring my favourite quotes to send you a bit of my positivity to start the week on full power! Hope you enjoy it.

Source: Harry Lee McGinnis popularly known as Hawk (born August 28, 1927), is an American traveler doing a 129,000 km around-the-world walking tour. He started in Dublin's St. Patrick's day parade of 1992, and by March 2008 has completed 66 countries..


Will you retire in a sofa?

This Monday quote was born from a combination of happy encounters and dialogues. My good friend @macchiata gently sent me this photograph to use on the Morning Quote - Thank you!

Later I found myself talking to @richardcrill on the Freedom Tribe Discord channel. I've just met him, but it's one of those persons that you can just sit and talk for hours.

Our subject was of course related to nature , freedom , living life fully . Among the lines on the chat we were bringing some important names to the table, whom are somehow unknown for many travellers. Guys like Dick Proenneke and his documentary Alone In The WIlderness, or Alexander Supertrump and the movie WIld.

Richard came up with this guy, Harry Lee McGinnis, I openned the video and the first phrase the guy says is today's quote. He then continued saying, "if you retire, don't go home and sit on the sofa". If felt like a punch to my face and I realised that his words should me spreaded.

Harry Lee McGinnis is a 80 year old guy travellig the world on foot - if this isn't motivational enough, I don't know what is.

What's your interpretation of this quote? Feel free to 'philosophize' on the comments down bellow.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

[Blog #32] Beautiful Day | A Walk in The Woods | Photography

[vlog #3] Definitive Guide to Change/Fix a Bike Tire

Travel Story: Hitchhiking Villa Cerro Castillo (Part II)

Travel Story: Hitchhiking Villa Cerro Castillo (Part I)

[Blog #31] Sunny Day | Brainstorming | 24 km | Actifit

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

I understand the wanderlust. All those who wander are not lost. Have yourself a great day.

Is that a quote by JJ Tokien, @marionbowes? We gotta wander indeed!

An awesome week full of activities for you too and thanks for the comment.

Yes!!! He actually said ."Not all who wander are lost". You are welcome and yes many activities this week. Many posts to come.

Parabéns, seu post foi selecionado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas no Steemit. Obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

Hoooray, valeu!

We like the idea 👍 I wrote about it in my recent post too. Going in circles feels like time passing away so quick...
We need to get up and live the life 😃

Absolutely! Less TV, more real action. Thanks for the comment @dinotruck.com.

Whoa!! so honored the shot got featured here 😀
Sending you all the positive vibes I have

But of course! hahahaha that's a beautiful picture.

Thanks for the positivity and I send back in double for you! Lova ya

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51