THE KILLING FIELDS OF THE KHMER ROUGE - My writing on the weekendsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #pt7 years ago (edited)

During my trip to Cambodia, this year, I visited the Killing Fields, near Phnom Phen. It's a place where, under the regime of the Khmer Rouge, in the 20th century (between 1975 and 1979), more than a million people were killed. The total number of deaths is estimated to be up to 2.5 million.

Kfields 8.jpg

The genocide led by Pol Pot aimed to decimate everyone suspected of connections with the former government, as well as professionals and intellectuals, the usual targets of a communist regime, in order to abolish any contestation.

Kfields 38.jpg

The executed were buried in mass graves. The executions were often carried out using poison, spades or sharpened bamboo sticks. In some cases, the children and infants of adult victims were killed by having their heads bashed against the trunks of trees and then were thrown into the pits alongside their parents.

Kfields 27.jpg

The soldiers who carried out the executions were mostly young men or women from peasant families, followers of the regime. These killing techniques aimed to save ammunition or to avoid noise in the neighborhoods. People around didn’t even suspect that a genocide was taking place right next door. Does this ring a bell to you? It does to me.

Kfields 20.jpg

The best-known monument of the Killing Fields is the memorial to the victims, where the skulls are organized according to the kind of wound they suffered. There’s also a museum for the remembrance of the genocide.

Kfields 32.jpg

Dozens of mass graves are visible above ground, many of which have not been excavated yet. Commonly, bones and clothing surface after heavy rainfalls due to the large number of bodies still buried in shallow mass graves.

Kfields 14.jpg

The utmost respect is given to the victims of the massacres through signs and tribute sections throughout the park.
As a call for peace and for the absolute need to cease, once for all, all the atrocities and the evil consequences of man's hatred for each other.
That keeps on going, in the name of other principles and motivations.

(Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Khmer_Rouge_Killing_Fields)

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

Photos: Killing Fields, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.
Taken with my Canon EOS 5D MKIII, edited with Lightroom.

​Have a wonderful weekend, my friends.

​If you liked this post you may like these also:

https://steemit.com/blog/@nolasco/people-in-this-world-my-inspirational-writing-for-the-mid-week

https://steemit.com/blog/@nolasco/borrowed-happiness-my-inspirational-writing-for-the-new-week

https://steemit.com/blog/@nolasco/seasons-my-writing-for-the-weekend

Sort:  

I recommend everybody to see the movie "First they Killed My Father"
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4882376/
The living memory to remind the world of what happened.

Will see it, thanks for the link!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 16 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks, my dear friend :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41