The Asymmetric Effects of Entertainment and Why we shouldn't Patronize Kids with Dumb Cartoons

in #psychology7 years ago

I have a confession to make. It might be obvious to many. I Hate Cartoons!!! They just suck. They are terrible and they are a terrible waste of time most of the time. They are making our future generations dumb. Cartoons are not good for kids (most of the time). Just look at the millennials who grew up with modern cartoons. As a kid I didn't like most of the cartoons and today I stand proud about that fact. I'm not saying cartoons are responsible for every stupidity of the kids who grew up with them. All I'm saying is that if you compare those so called ""Kid's Entertainment" with anything you'd call high quality today, you'll see a massive difference. Most of the cartoons doesn't have 1/10th of the depth and complexity of a MCU movie. That's really low.

Kids should be inspired and intellectually challenged; not patronized


We all know how things went with making colleges "sensitive" to stuff. Why should you think the same won't happen to kids. Art should begin with delight and end with wisdom. Kid's Entertainment is also art. At least it can be art and therefore it should be art. Adult Animations like South Park aren't for kids. They are just adult entertainment with a cartoon aesthetic. Kid's shows are a great way to teach kids. I'm not much of a Hayao Miyazaki fan. I think he's a good director. But he's just a nobody in my eyes compared to someone like Mamoru Oshii or Hideaki Anno. But none of those two make movies for kids. Hayao Miyazaki makes movies for kids and they are the kind of movies that a kid would learn to understand and respect more as they grow older. That's what real art is. That's what art helping a child's development is.

The Asymmetric Effects of Entertainment


This claim isn't based on any research paper. It's just something I've come to understand in my life. A piece of art has a small potential for negative effect and a massive potential for positive effect. That's why there isn't much of a connection between video game violence and real violence. But there are many cases where art has tremendously affected many people in inspiring or salvaging ways. Just think about how Hideo Kojima and his games inspired Project Itoh. I've only seen 2 of the 3 movies that were based on his book and both of them eclipsed works like Blade Runner. It was monumental art inspired by other monumental art.

Not just legendary creators but also everyday people who you might be passing by on the street had their lives changed because of art. It's not right to throw away something for kids as just a thing to sell toys and keep kids attention at a very low cost with throwaway pieces of sight & sound. Here are some examples from video games.



This isn't something limited for the interactive mediums. Stuff people watch can inspire them to do great stuff. It's debatable how much these inspirational moments can last. Below is a review of The Wolf of Wall Street by Jeremy Jahns. It doesn't seem like he has started a business (he didn't exactly looked the type either). But for some people who were already having entrepreneurial ideas, this movie could have given them that final push they needed. Sometimes that's all it takes for MASSIVE things to happen........ Just a little push (According to some Clown)

As for an account of some life long positive effects of entertainment from a medium that is technically pretty much just cartoon, you can watch the below confession. A person's outlook on the life was affected forever and I'm sure this person wouldn't be making tons of YouTube content on anime if it wasn't for 24 episodes + 1 OVA of Steins;Gate. Just think about a kid seeing this one amazing science fiction cartoon and finding and falling in love with a whole genre which include works like The Matrix, Blade Runner, Alien, Evangelion, Ghost in the Shell, Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov and many many more.

This is the power and impact of entertainment mediums. They are not something to be thrown away after mass production. Kids don't have the most developed brains. It'll take some time for them to fully understand certain things. The positive effects may not become apparent immediately. many kids don't even have a proper outlook on the world. But cartoons with depth and intelligence and real world sensibilities can help to guide these children in a positive direction.

The Reason that led me to Write this post

Since I have a terrible history of writing focused posts on a single subject without jumping onto tangents I thought I'd make a very focused post this time.
https://steemit.com/buddhism/@vimukthi/causality-dependent-origination-pa-iccasamuppada-and-the-existence-demystified-and-clarified-or-at-least-tried-to-do-so

I just attempted the above and miserably failed in a very constructive way. That's why you have this post. I wanted/"attempted" to write a Transformers: Prime review and explain why I liked it. The prologue ended up being this post.

Now if you'd excuse me, I have to face palm myself while eating some snacks while holding rest of the snacks with my other hand. Until next time, enjoy the banners.

Sort:  
Since I have a terrible history of writing focused posts on a single
Don't force yourself , what's wrong with connecting the dots with serveral other topics . It may even help to form a entirely new idea.And analyzing topic from different perpective can shed light on something ,and help the reader understand .

the postive effects that entertaiment can hav e on you can't be diened ,
I have some anime ,the main-characters had some interesting views of the world , I was like ,damn I didn't think that way ,I love to to encounter perspective of things that are completely different that mine

7 Words my friend:
Mind: Fast
Fingers: Slow
Time: Extremly Limited :-)

It's interesting, but when I was a kid I did not see as many cartoons as the other kids, and the ones I liked the most were the Japanese ones, I always saw them with more elaborate plots, besides the drawings are anthropomorphic, not like the cartoons of now in which the characters have no defined sex, or race, or anything, it is impossible to know if they are animals, humans or aliens.

I could say the same about myself. There were only a handful of great cartoons like Beast Machines and X-Men.

characters have no defined sex, or race, or anything, it is impossible to know if they are animals, humans or aliens.

Used sparingly, this is a feature. When this is the primary art style it's a disaster. I must also add that in many mediums there is bit of an ongoing fetish for characters that look like they are suffering.



Actually just take any character from Mr.Robot (very good series BTW) and contrast with the following.




This is very true. The influence of anime vs cartoons in my life has been profound. Much of my thinking has been molded by what i learned in anime.

Cartoons on the otherhand werent really imteresting to me especially after being exposed to anime.

It would bee interesting to do a research study on how this concept effects cognitive development.

I didn't watch many cartoons to begin with. The ones I ended up watching and loving were the ones like X-Men, Beast Machines, Sherlock Holmes in the 22nd Century and loony tunes + some of the more hardcore old carton shorts where some characters die for real. They were really powerful.

Mr. is true but not all cartoon flim can plunge children into bad things even still many cartoons that can give motivation like our children as parents can only control and watch it to watch good good.

Resteemed upvoted

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5500 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Upvote this comment if you like this service.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48