Going After Your Big Goal Is Getting Too Hard? Here's How To Fix It

Steemit.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Have you ever started a diet on a Monday?

You plan all your meals for a week. Fill the fridge with enough unpronounceable veggies to feed a grown cow. You even prep for Tuesday lunch at work.

(This is a guest post by @vesnapv and she will automatically receive 50% of the total payout)

Then, come Friday afternoon, you're so fed up with celery sticks and tofu dips that the thought of washing, peeling, cutting and actually cooking the dinner becomes too much. It's just not worth it, you think.

Instead of going home, you pull over for some hamburger and fries. Add a Coke too, while you're at it.

There you are. Enjoying the hot, juicy food. Trying to ignore feeling guilty. But still - you know you're gonna buy that jar of Nutella on the way home.
Sound familiar?

Ok, maybe you're one of those people who never go on a diet (are you even human?!). But even so, you get the point, don't you?

Surely, you know what it's like to make a decision to improve something in your life. To set a goal. Start all pumped up, excited and ready to crush it!

Then, at some point, all that motivation disappears.
You have a bad week at work, or your kid gets sick and needs more attention, or unexpected bills show up... whatever the reason(s) you feel completely drained and powerless. So, you skip a day.

Next week you skip two more days. Before you know it, that big goal of yours ends up just like New Year's resolutions no one even remembers by May.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Why do we give up on important stuff?

Failing to persevere at things that are important to us sucks. Big time.

And you might tell yourself you failed because you just weren't motivated enough. But that's not the reason.

I remember a surgeon telling me I need a total knee replacement on both legs. He then said there is a 2% chance I might bleed out and die during the operations.

You think I needed any more convincing to change after that???

Of course not!
I went on to do EVERY SINGLE THING POSSIBLE to get healthier and improve mobility. It took a ton of time, money, and above all effort. But still, after 6 months I was seriously depleted.

There was no lack of motivation on my part.

But I had no more willpower to continue my Spartan lifestyle.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Your willpower is a limited resource

Check this out.
Psychologist Roy F. Baumeister conducted an experiment where he divided students into two groups. They were all instructed to come hungry.

First, students (individually) had to wait in a room while the experimenters baked chocolate chip cookies, making sure the scent of freshly baked cookies was in the air and students can smell it.

Then he offered the students from the first group those same hot, yummy cookies as soon as they were baked and told them to eat 5 or 6 cookies.

But, the students in the second group were offered a bowl of radishes along with the freshly baked cookies. They were told to only eat 2-3 radishes and ignore the cookies. Torture, right?

cookies vs radishes.jpg

After a while, both groups of students were given some puzzles to solve. What students didn't know was, those puzzles were unsolvable. Their sole purpose was to make students frustrated and to measure how long it would take for students to give up.

Results showed that students who were in a position to practice willpower - those made to eat radishes while looking at cookies - gave up solving the puzzle much sooner, plus reported feeling more tired!

Experiments like this one proved that our willpower is limited.
The more you force yourself to use self-control, or to make decisions and choices, the weaker your willpower will be.

It’s sort of like muscles in your body. If they are too weak, more pressure will shift to bones. But, after a while, joints won’t be able to handle it and it will lead to a domino effect of all kinds of consequences.

Low willpower makes it very hard for you to solve even the simplest daily tasks. Following what used to be a simple routine, now becomes a burden you never feel like doing.
So what’s the solution?

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Trick your brain for instant productivity

Mel Robbins says the fastest was to getting everything you ever wanted is to only do the things you never feel like doing.

Great. Thanks a lot, Mel!
I can’t make myself do the things I don’t want to do. It’s muh willpower’s fault.
by You. And me.

Oh, man! Saying that to Mel is like waving a red flag in front of a wounded raging bull. I swear she’s just waiting to hear someone say that, so she could school us all on her stupidly simple way to get things done.

I Tried it

And all I have to say is:
• I felt like an idiot doing it
• I got the job done in record time

Now you know what to do when you run out of willpower. This is a tool. Use it.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

My ultimate goal as a Steem Witness is to improve the quality on many Steem based platforms and to maintain the Steem blockchain.

If you value what I do I would be happy if you would vote for me at the bottom of the Witness voting page. Simply scroll down, enter "valorforfreedom" click on vote and that's it. If I am in the top 50 you can also just vote for me there.

You can also vote for me by clicking on the picture below with my account name in it. Afterwards you simply have to log in with Steemconnect and I will receive your vote.


V9 Separator (No Logo).png

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Stats.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Sort:  

Just take anything in small doses. The faster you deplete your motivation, the harder the fall will be. Allow yourself to grow your motivation and willpower, do not kill it.

Yes, of course, @walkinstairs!
Too much of anything isn't good or recommended. @valorforfreedom has been sharing a lot about that lately.

This tool is actually meant for those who need some extra nudging to get started, not so much for high achievers. They've got other kind of problems, as you say.

Thanks for sharing!

You are indeed right, the five second rule is a tool and once you are started, you need to worry about not going too hard! Thanks, followed you.

My motivation and feeling of being excited was gone after 2 months, discipline and willpower made me work afterwards.

If you do not have cash you will have to hustle to build something. My audience and cash was the result of constant hustle.

The price for that was my burnout.

Also, if you have a job you will have to do extra work which easily results in 10-12 hours of work.

Conclusion: Outsourcing is what is required to keep a balance. If you have no cash for that you will have to hustle your ass off till you can.

At least that is my experience and I believe that it is logical enough what I said to be applicable to everyone else who does not invest big into Steem.

By the way: Nice website WalkInStairs!

Yes, the hustle to keep your head above water can make you run extremely hard. It brings results, but yes, if you do not watch yourself closely, you might overheat easily.

Delegating and outsourcing is a way to get more done in the same time without overloading yourself. But as you said you need to have enough cash to make it happen, otherwise you will drown in the financial consequences, as I did.

I guess it is the struggle that is needed for men and women to achieve something and overcome their financial worries and next, delegate tasks to make the results bigger and less tiring .

And thank you on the compliment! I have followed you.

I agree with what you say. The obstacles on the road are tests to see if we have mastered the lessons on the way and if our discipline and endurance are top game.

You should read "The Alchemist". It is a spiritual story about achieving your personal legend.

Agreed! Thank you for the tip, will check it out! Have a good day.

You cannot reach your goals if you only do what is comfortable, however, as she wrote willpower is depletable.

At some point, the simplest tasks will become too much, at that point it is almost too late to prevent burnout.

Conclusion: You can grind hard for a certain period of time but then you definitely need to take breaks when you realize that the simplest tasks become too hard.

I suggest reading burnout syndromes if you are not sure about it.

I personally worked every day for 10-12 hours for 180 days in a row till I got the burnout.

Tip: Give people some of your cash to help you with your job. It is called "outsourcing".

True. Hustling will get you where you want to go, but YOU should be your own #1 priority. Achieving your goals will be useless if you lose your health along the way...

Well, you're quickly becoming a role model for outsourcing 😄

Sacrifice is required to be successful, I paid with my mental health.
However, now it is time to heal again.

Agree as charged! I gotta love or in the mood to do the particular chores in order to get them done - will try to do what I dislike most then... Motivation to do so is my key to do something that I dislike hehehe... But what Mel Robbins said makes sense... Definitely will practice it!

Hey @sandralouis ☀️🌊👙

Mel's 5 seconds rule is a great tool for dealing with procrastination. I don't know anyone who's always in the mood to do chores. It's all about making it easier for ourselves, since many things need to be done, whether we like it or not.

Thanks for reading and commenting.

Interesting post.
I think that you are absolutely right. We are all born with great potential. Just someone does not want to implement it because of their laziness, lack of willpower or even in many ways.
Do not bury your talent by the fact that you have something that does not work. We must fight, develop willpower. Do not bury your future, maybe if you try today, tomorrow it will be much easier to live. Think about it.

Hi @alina-b!

Very true. If you don't use your talents, just because you think it's too hard, you're not only wasting your own potential, but also depriving the world of your talent.

There are solutions, tools like the 5 seconds rule, or outsourcing and many more when you get stuck. So, laziness, or weakness shouldn't be used as excuses.

Nice to see your comment again 👋

This is a great article and it is true. There are tons of people that will tell me that dieting is "hard". And in the nicest way possible I tell them they are wrong... Surgery is hard, losing a love one is hard, finishing an iron man is hard. Eating Kale? Not very hard... haha It is a perspective thing that gets in a lot of people's way. If you change the way you think about eating healthy you find yourself with all of this will power you never knew you had.

@vesnapv and @valorforfreedom, Love this! :)

YES!!! Agree 100%, @annemariemay.

I think we all avoid things that are new and unfamiliar. We all love our familiar, cozy life. So, in a way it is hard to change, but yeah, when it's important enough we find a way to make it happen.
And then, after a while, we get used to the new life and it becomes a new normal.

Thanks for reading and commenting.

P.s. kale is king 😉 No idea why people don't like it...

Thanks for this post, I have been slacking recently, this is just what I needed to get focused again.

That's great to hear, @rhyscn!

Keep us posted, ok?

Wow, i really learnt something great from you right now, for me to achieve what i want to achieve i have to start doing the things i feel like not doing ... this is really a heavy doze i just assimilated and i believe it will make my life better. thanks alot @valorforfreedom for sharing this

Hey @thankgodikkc, happy to hear you took something out or reading the post.

If it was all easy, everyone would do it, right? 😉
So, you are right - once you know what you want and start going after it, you will inevitably have to do stuff you don't feel like doing, along with things you love that come easy. The sooner you realize both are required, the sooner you'll focus on HOW to achieve what you want. That's always good, to focus on the end goal.

Good luck! Stay in touch.

Thanks for sharing the 5 second rule. I never heard of it. I plan to try it. There are a lot of little things, I need to do around the house, but keep putting off. As, I write this I'm think about the pile of socks, I need to match up.

I decided as I wrote that sentence, to hit the post button and go match up the socks. It is done.

Perfect!
Best way to see how effective the rule is, is to try it out yourself. Especially on a small task like matching up the socks.

Eventually, it will become a habit, and you'll use it for big, important decisions too.

I used it today to start tackling the dandelions in my front lawn.

Look at you... more efficient every day.
🙌 Go, Maggie! Go, Maggie! 🙌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73