Childhood is the Place Where Communication Dies

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

shutterstock_439582198

A lot of us have had to deal with difficult childhoods. We were likely spanked, hit, or beaten. If we were not physically harmed, we had our emotions killed. Our parents did not allow us to cry or express ourselves in an emotional capacity. In this regard, they failed to communicate with us; they failed to allow us to communicate with them.

Compounded by hitting, this authoritarian and pedagogical style of parenting could have wreaked havoc on a our well-being and inhibited proper brain development. What this has inevitably caused is an inability in adulthood to manage our emotions and provide our loved ones with a sense of emotional security. In other words, it dismantled our ability to communicate.

Treat Children as Humans; End the Vicious Cycle


Below are two videos (playlist) I made awhile back on this subject, but I wanted to revisit the content because it is so utterly important. If we do not internalize the importance of raising children with dignity and peace, we may be doomed to repeat the vicious cycle on the next generation...and children deserve to be loved and treated with utmost humanness. Without this humanness, we cannot have happy children or a happy world.

"The art of not experiencing feelings. A child can experience her feelings only when there is somebody there who accepts her fully, understands her, and supports her. If that person is missing, if the child must risk losing the mother's love of her substitute in order to feel, then she will repress emotions.”
Alice Miller, The Drama of the Gifted Child: The Search for the True Self


Other References:

For your Own Good, by Alice Miller (She was a psychotherapist for 20+ years before her death)

Analysis on 5 decades of spanking research by UT Austin

Information on how yelling at children harms them

A blog I wrote with information on spanking


sterlin good

Sterlin Luxan is a visionary thinker, cryptocurrency junkie, connoisseur of psychology, an MDMA high priest, and the Mr. Rogers of Anarchism. He writes for bitcoin.com, runs a consultancy business in the crypto space, and is a public figure. He created the doctrine of relational anarchism and contributes to many causes in the thriving liberty ecosystem.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your advice. I do not have children yet but it will help me well for later. I'll follow you because you're a very intelligent person.

I appreciate the kind words, Izbing. I hope everyone will do the research and realize the importance of treating children in a dignified way.

Sterlin, I'd like to send you a copy of Bob Podolsky's upcoming book "Soul-Bonding" it addresses this very issue and describes how people afflicted with this damage can be repaired. This is also what creates "the enemy within" that most of us battle with our entire lives. Life can be so much better and wouldn't be wonderful if we could make that happen as part of the awakening to Anarchy?

I am actually glad you reminded me, Mike. I spoke with Bob recently. I need to follow up. I think he was going to try to get me a copy. Thanks for following me here, sir. I appreciate it.

My sincere pleasure!

It sucks to me how someone can be so screwed up from the crucial developmental years of childhood. They can truly be psychologically damaged for life because of circumstances beyond their control. That is a heartbreaking reality. My views on hitting a child strictly for disciplinary purposes has completely shifted this year, from formerly thinking that getting a spanking every once in a while is good for a child (as I was raised), but only to find out that peaceful parenting is the best way to bring forth a child who knows why they do what they do, rather than acting in fear. Nice mustache by the way.

Yes!!! Thank you so much for reconsidering your position and adopting the peaceful method. That is truly inspirational. It is also incredibly honest of you. The evidence that spanking children and being emotionally abusive to them causes harm is now legion. So glad for your response. Wish I could upvote you a million times.

Ofcourse! We need to reevaluate our positions in light of new knowledge, and seeing the harmful impacts that we might be having, without even knowing it. I used to think kids who were never spanked growing up turned out to be spoiled entitled brats that we see today from much of my generation, but I see now that there is actually an increase in aggressive behavior from kids when they are hit as a child. I am not a parent yet or anything. but I'm glad that my views have shifted before I had kids and could have done serious damage unknowingly.

thanks for your words somebody have to remind very important things like this one

How can we restore humanity again ? I am having a child next month and I hope to raise him differently than how my parents have raised me

Good article, every parent should read this and take it seriously.

Yet another great post for an eye opener @sterlinluxan. I'm not sure you recall my comment months back, about this same type of thing. I grew up in a home where spankings now would have been considered abuse. They were harsh, no matter what the age. I agree that how kids are treated can and will effect their childhood. There were other things going on too, but I grew up learning to not trust anyone. I never let anyone into my heart until my later adult years. My shyness made me an easy target for some, so after a few trusted moments were blown, I did not want to be around anyone.
When I became a parent, I vowed to protect my child from the same thing, but patience would run low, and I spanked him a few times when single digit age. The look on his face one day, was the last time I ever did that. I was completely crushed that I would hurt my own child. I almost turned into the person I so hoped to avoid.
He is now a teen and a great kid, and did not get scarred from what pain I caused him (because I stopped it when I did) .
On the flipside, there are kids who never get spanked, and they are downright monsters. This is where some parents are going to struggle, unfortunately.

Damn right, great video! Upvoted & followed =)

Children are SO much more impressionable than society gives them credit. This post reminds me of a great one written by @jrhughes about "shit our parents say" and why parents should be careful and selective about their words. (If you'd like to read her full post, you can find it here.)

Yes, you're right...
Our childhood wasn't that great but thanks for sharing

The purpose here is the help other people realize that so we can end the vicious cycle. Too many people still believe hurting children is acceptable and does them good. Hopefully, we can help them wake up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61521.43
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49