You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Childhood is the Place Where Communication Dies

in #psychology7 years ago

Yet another great post for an eye opener @sterlinluxan. I'm not sure you recall my comment months back, about this same type of thing. I grew up in a home where spankings now would have been considered abuse. They were harsh, no matter what the age. I agree that how kids are treated can and will effect their childhood. There were other things going on too, but I grew up learning to not trust anyone. I never let anyone into my heart until my later adult years. My shyness made me an easy target for some, so after a few trusted moments were blown, I did not want to be around anyone.
When I became a parent, I vowed to protect my child from the same thing, but patience would run low, and I spanked him a few times when single digit age. The look on his face one day, was the last time I ever did that. I was completely crushed that I would hurt my own child. I almost turned into the person I so hoped to avoid.
He is now a teen and a great kid, and did not get scarred from what pain I caused him (because I stopped it when I did) .
On the flipside, there are kids who never get spanked, and they are downright monsters. This is where some parents are going to struggle, unfortunately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55