You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Childhood is the Place Where Communication Dies

in #psychology7 years ago

It sucks to me how someone can be so screwed up from the crucial developmental years of childhood. They can truly be psychologically damaged for life because of circumstances beyond their control. That is a heartbreaking reality. My views on hitting a child strictly for disciplinary purposes has completely shifted this year, from formerly thinking that getting a spanking every once in a while is good for a child (as I was raised), but only to find out that peaceful parenting is the best way to bring forth a child who knows why they do what they do, rather than acting in fear. Nice mustache by the way.

Sort:  

Yes!!! Thank you so much for reconsidering your position and adopting the peaceful method. That is truly inspirational. It is also incredibly honest of you. The evidence that spanking children and being emotionally abusive to them causes harm is now legion. So glad for your response. Wish I could upvote you a million times.

Ofcourse! We need to reevaluate our positions in light of new knowledge, and seeing the harmful impacts that we might be having, without even knowing it. I used to think kids who were never spanked growing up turned out to be spoiled entitled brats that we see today from much of my generation, but I see now that there is actually an increase in aggressive behavior from kids when they are hit as a child. I am not a parent yet or anything. but I'm glad that my views have shifted before I had kids and could have done serious damage unknowingly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47