The Power of Sigils and Manifestation

in #psychology6 years ago

background.jpg

You may have heard of the idea that your thoughts and words create your reality, and I think we can mostly agree that there is at least some truth to this. You may have even heard of Dr. Masaru Emoto's Water Experiment where the results were: 'they always observed beautiful crystals after giving good words, playing good music, and showing, playing, or offering pure prayer to water. On the other hand, we observed disfigured crystals in the opposite situation.' thus showing the power of words and intention with scientific experimentation. This was a study I learned about in school, but never really gave any thought to again until much later in life when I started to attend group meetings in the metaphysical realm where this idea and many splintering ideas were abundant.

I soon after learned about 'chaos'/'kaos' 'magic'/'magick' (I honestly have no preference on the spelling) from some friends of mine, that was accompanied with this amazing talk by Grant Morrison that I highly suggest you take the time to listen through, as it explains all this in a much more fun way than I can (I promise it gets awesome once you get past the alien part lol):

So with sigil magic you basically make a statement of intent, which the style of doing this will vary from person to person but I like this way best: "Be clear, succinct and specific. It’s important to write down the thing you truly want, rather than the thing that you think will give you want you want. Writing 'I want a raise at my job' is much less effective than 'I want to make $50,000 a year.' This is particularly true when it comes to love. “I want Brian to ask me out” is far less potent a statement, for instance than “I want to be deeply in love with a wonderful man.” You can also write these in the “I will” format, as in 'I will open my own successful organic bakery.'”

You then take your statement and cross out all of the vowels and repeating consonants "Words are defined by their vowels. As long as the vowels remain in the words, it’s hard not to see them as words rather than symbols. Without the vowels, the letters can represent any number of ideas. We’re taking the sentence away from it’s role as a literal transcription, and making it one step closer to being a symbolic representation of an idea. What about “Y”? It’s up to you. If it looks or feels like a vowel, strike it. If not, keep it."

Screen Shot 2013-12-01 at 1.47.03 AM.png

You then take the remaining letters and create a symbol or picture using the letters or create a 'magical' chant with the consonants (yes this will sound like a made of language and that is the point!). Once you have the symbol or chant you then charge the sigil, which can be done through meditation, masturbation, or sex with the chant being repeated during this time or with the symbol/picture in sight or incorporated in the ceremony. You can then leave the symbol in plan sight or put in a special place, some people burn them or get creative with giving the magic back to the earth. If you did a chant this could be a new mantra for you or a phrase to use when in doubt or for motivation.

105a-symbols-04-monday-sigil-angel-gabriel-1700x507.jpg

Now that you know what a sigil is, let me tell you what I think. IT WORKS! It takes time for the things to manifest, but I assure you, they have over time. My financial goals I have worked on are being met, along with other intentions we have set forth and have seen great results. To me, on the simplest level, it is just word magic that finds a creative way for a brain to remember an intention we have set forth and is a great tool to keep you motivated for your goals. It may not be "magic" as you may traditionally think, but it is word magic that can implant empowering goals deep into your psyche.

I also create image boards, like the one at the beginning of this post, which I keep as my phone screen saver and computer background. This image also feature our 'lakshmi goddess' images with the four arms holding items. This is also a powerful manifestation tool and my proof is that 2 weeks after mine was made, we got our first offer to work on our first pot farm, which as you will see I am holding a pot leaf in my hand! Pretty amazing if you ask me! But I will note this was the fastest manifestation I have had come to fruition using these types of tools.

To me it all comes back to manifestation, which is basically just taking the time to sit down with yourself, find out what you want in life, and find ways to work towards to it. It may sound simple, but society has driven us from doing things as easy this, because we get caught the hustle and grind of daily life! So sit down, find some quiet space and start making your goals and dreams you reality!

PS: If you have experience with sigils, tell us below and lets discuss!

codysteem.jpg

Please give me a follow here on Steemit, check out my travel website and join my doTERRA essential oils team!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I really like this idea. Psychology is such a young and confusing science, but the one thing clear is that your brain has unimaginable power (this is my brain complimenting itself). I am a strong believer that if you set your mind to something, you will achieve it. And what a better way that to have a representation of that 'something' that can make is seem even more real. Amazing post, thank you!

Here is a good "sigil" or what we call a veve. It is for Legba, who opens doors. You could say he is the master of manifestation. Give it a try, works for me, it also clears the path for other sigils. FB_IMG_1522942566617.jpg

Really glad to see other people coming out on their magickal practices on Steemit. Learned a little about veves and sigils from relationships with a few who were and are practioners of Santeria, and Palo Mayombe over the years.

I have been actively practicing magick for over 20 years. Though a lot of my background is in Thelema and Ceremonial Magick, I have found my home in voodoo. I have been releasing the rituals and teachings of the magickal fraternity I helped found called the Gnostic Order of the Black Cross. You can find the first few releases on my Steemit @marcus.pulis

Thanks, Marcus. I will definitely check out your stuff and I am glad to have found someone else who is familiar with these spiritual practices.

Awesome, thank you, will try it out!

Fascinating post, which reminds me of a relevant experience. About 30 years ago I was exploring this area of magickal tradition, stating an intention, creating a sigil, and also composing a related "endless verse" (where the verse begins with the end of a phrase or sentence, and ends with the beginning of the same phrase or sentence, like Dhalgren or Finnegans Wake, only a lot shorter), which I chanted in a focused state. My intention was to date a particular young woman, the friend of my ex-girlfriend.

Amusingly enough, she asked me out. We saw the movie Full Metal Jacket. Over dinner we soon realized in conversation, without being rude enough to say so, that we loathed one another. This extinguished our previous attraction so thoroughly, we were both plainly revolted by the thought of a traditionally date-ending goodnight kiss. And that was that. We never spoke again.

Wow, very interesting, thank you for sharing! Reminds me of the example in the post "This is particularly true when it comes to love. “I want Brian to ask me out” is far less potent a statement, for instance than “I want to be deeply in love with a wonderful man.”

Yes, it was exactly that statement which caused my memory to resonate so much that I shared my little experience.

Glad to see someone who is familiar with the term "chaos magic". The first time I heard about chaos magic was years ago on a website for Satanists, (www.satanicinternationalnetwork.com) and I was referred to the writings of Phil Hine. I think I'm in the right place when I read in the comments mentions of Lon Milo Duquette.

Congratulations @mickeybeaves! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Good posting.. good information, its usefull.. thanks for share it @mickeybeaves..

sigils are make believe.post_coitum.jpg

Make believe? I see it right there, seems quite real to me...

sigils make you believe - hence the make believe - i have another entire blog dedicated to make believe... the gallery is full of sigils and the journal is for the numerologist..

https://cubitknot.deviantart.com/

make believe

Nice point, make you believe. I get it.

if you want more upvotes check out my last blog post @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24