On Genuine Conversation

in #psychology6 years ago

Today my thoughts are not so much on freewrite as I am more focused on considering my replies and I do greatly value those steemians who take time and care in their comments and responses, not only because I love kudos like any other, but because I am here on a decentralized platform in order to escape the continued narrowing of bought and sold Internet.

Gone are the days of wild west net surfing in which one seemingly found themselves down an intriguing rabbit hole of freewill associations. One subject, site, article or art piece leading us to the next, and next, and so on down the line, a trail only we took in relationship to our own thinking and experiences, our data not sold and our experience not "tailored," or crafted.

Yes, there were those times I found myself in some lurid pit and it seemed I couldn't push out fast enough the multiplying x's appearing on my screen, but I definitely would rather have the threat of tripping off ledges than being wagon-wheeled safely around by an outside authority I didn't choose.

@erh.germany, a steemian friend of mine, does not shy away from real conversation and recently wrote a wonderfully engaging article titled: INTUITION - What happens beyond the discursive use of the mind?

I give her high praise not only for spending time in producing valuable and engrossing material to ponder, but for her desire to dive into real conversations no matter the touchiness of the subject within a world that is more frequently growing a dismissive attitude towards authentic dialogue.

Below, Scott London emphasizes how we are indeed suffering the loss of real communication.

The Power of Dialogue By Scott London http://www.scottlondon.com/articles/ondialogue.html

It's a sad fact that while most of us spend a sizeable part of our lives communicating with others — in face-to-face conversations, over the phone, in committee meetings, via e-mail and social networks — we seem more separate and disconnected than ever.
The trouble with much of what passes for communication today is that it's all crosstalk. It's a din, not a dialogue. We fire salvos of information across the Internet, or shoot each other text messages, or blog or Twitter about ourselves. But is anyone paying attention? And if they are, do they catch our drift? Genuine understanding seems to be the exception rather than the norm in everyday communication. We speak at each other, or past each other. We speak different conceptual languages, hold different values, embody different ways of seeing the world.
Much of the time, we're not even listening to each other at all. The dialogue is a monologue. We fire salvos of information across the Internet, or shoot each other text messages, or blog or Twitter about ourselves. But is anyone paying attention? And if they are, do they catch our drift?
The trouble with much of what passes for communication today is that it's all crosstalk. It's a din, not a dialogue.
The noisy chatter reflects the fact that we don't really know how to engage one another in authentic conversations. We simply haven't learned the skills of listening closely to each other, of engaging in meaningful exchanges, and of finding shared sources of meaning. We lack the know-how and the tools.
As we move into times of accelerating change and deepening uncertainty, we need to get smart about how to talk to one another. We need to be able to overcome differences, find common ground, build meaning and purpose, and set directions together. We need to be able to think together as groups, as teams, as committees, as communities, and as citizens. >

In light of highlighting exciting dialogue, and in honoring authenticity and genuine conversation, I am including below, for my quality content of the day, a genuine and generous conversation between myself, @kimberlylane, @erh.germany & @goastrighter.

Not to exclude, there are other thoughtful comments to be read following @erh.germany's intuition article, but I will only include the two people I directly interacted with.

Please read on if you feel so inclined as I think the comments are meaty enough to go on as a regular post, but if you're out of time, or just looking for desserts, that is fine too. Let's just lean towards valuing one another in all of our genuine contributions to ongoing discussions and debates!

@kimberlylane
You ask, "Can a machine indeed interpret human intuition without being an organically grown entity itself?"

Of course I am no expert when it comes to computers, but my answer would be no, without human input the machine is still apt to fail at this task.

Yes, I do believe the ability to store huge amounts of data relating to particular cases and frequently chosen courses of action via human beings can be detected by the computer and after some time, the machine may start to have a higher probability of matching typical human reactions, but intuition (as shown by your research) lies outside of the typical.

Perhaps, we could say the computer could be replicating and producing "a gut hunch," minus having any guts ;)

I agree that intuition comes from learning and that the ability to intuit can definitely be dwarfed or grown depending on the care, environment and importance we place on it. In my opinion, that learning is not just about situations, but bodily sensations and emotions (as you've highlighted above) and how could these be trained into AI?

At the same time, if society grabs onto AI as being the final and greater word, the mass population will grow to doubt their own abilities with a greater zest--especially, if punishments for outside thinking begins to dominate society.

Actually, I think this is already happening and many people do doubt themselves and one another and they badger those around them who might begin their own questioning as to what is actual truth. This creates a socialized policing system and much pointing at one another rather than taking a macro view (as well as an inner-wisdom view) as to what the problem is.

I believe that my dreaming practices have greatly increased my intuition and not just in listening to, identifying and honoring my own inner voice when it comes to nighttime working through problems, but in the waking reality too. I am more apt to pay attention to what my emotions and/or body are saying and then to the responses and happenings around me. And, whether the crow starts cawing, "no," like crazy when I ask myself whether I should do something, I don't have to wonder if I'm crazy or if the world around me is really interacting with me in such a deep way or if these are mere coincidences, because that really doesn't matter. If I hear the crow saying, no, then that is what my own experience is leaning towards. A friend on the phone later might list all of the ways in which I might be wrong, but my initial interaction with the world was different than I am learning to lean more into that answer. Notice the IN in INitial and INtuitive, INteraction.

Thanks for an INteresting read :)

Kimberly

@goastrighter
"And, whether the crow starts cawing, "no," like crazy when I ask myself whether I should do something, I don't have to wonder if I'm crazy or if the world around me is really interacting with me in such a deep way or if these are mere coincidences, because that really doesn't matter."

That's such a difficult thing to properly make use of. You're right that it doesn't help to wonder about the how's and why's.. From a subjective point if view, with honest introspection I think anyone can feel the reality behind such moments.

@kimberlylane
Yes, doesn't help, but sometimes I still do look too closely at the how's and why's, second guess my own best magic.

@erh.germany
Dear Kimberly,

you have wisely spoken. I have not much to add and mostly come from the same standpoint.

Only I would say that you (and I) probably still think of it as a "problem", to which a policing and itself distrusting system overgrows this insight. I would say, it's maybe not the people but more the loudness of distributed messages.

When you look at an ordinary day you find it almost occupied with normality. Maybe a little percentage is drama in its physical appearance. A dog barking and the owner commanding him full of rage to quit. Or a baby crying itself sore and nobody around to sooth it. An impatient customer in the row mocking the cashier. But the rest of us doing their business, providing for food and shelter, doing the dishes, working the desk, buying birthday presents or greeting some strangers eyes. One dies, another one is born. We do what we can and we help where we were asked to help. And sometimes we are the road ragers and the uncaring ones who are observed by others. We say "no" but mean "yes".

We people are in our heads though really busy to identify problems and there, the ratio might be vice versa.

Your way of contributing to intuitive things, to let your associations flow freely and profit from them as your personal guiding system I appreciate a lot. Our human to human differences are a fortune, aren't they?

To doubt the inherent qualities and abilities I observe, too as a phenomena connected to the technological conveniences. Take a navigation system in a car. Before we had this luxury we had to rely on maps and also on our inner compass to navigate. We had to consider the movements in the physical world even more so when we walked by foot and had to orientate ourselves. Now, when there is no necessity to use those qualities people just neglect them and get the habit to always use the device. Did you mean this also?

To become an outsider by a rigid policy it really takes much. As long as you find people who do have things in common with you, I don't see a threat (in the sense of losing my life or going to prison). But even then: it would be good to know that one can stick to his ethical principles, no matter what.

Oh, that is true. You don't have to take an either-or position when the crow starts to cawing:) listening to your highest authority can be such a relief as it neither produces hatred nor ambiguity. I find this moments in my work much easier than within my private relations. I want to develop this quality and train my mind to be of more peace. ... Still a way to go:)

Now, my answer became long, lol :)

@kimberlylane
You write, I would say, it's maybe not the people but more the loudness of distributed messages and I completely agree with this sentiment.

Yes, I did mean we lose our capabilities when we depend on someone or something else to do it for us, but would also go further by adding that those systems which would like to profit off of others being blind consumers and workers benefit and encourage our losing touch with our own divine wisdom. And, those doing "right," by these systems will attack their neighbor for challenging their own by-in.

It's great to be able to discuss, in complexity, different values and beliefs and realize we're all in this together, informing one another. But sadly, in my opinion, this kind of free and considerate way of debating is being stomped out in politics, in education and even in one to one relationships.

Yes, most difficult exercising in private relationships and I too, will continue working this quality and daring in action.

Thank you for your thoughtful response.


Photo Credit: Laura Thonne/unsplash
Article on Dialogue: The Power of Dialogue By Scott London http://www.scottlondon.com/articles/ondialogue.html

Sort:  

With a subject like 'intuition' there are so many complimentary ways one can approach it, not to mention alternative points of view and healthy/ fun debate to be had... I think this is true for many sujects in the philosophy/psychology/spirituality areas. In fact it's a little troublesome to be confined to the little reply box.. I was tempted to do my own post, but then how does one respond directly to specific points?...
It is great to have a platform like this where one can engage such a wide diversity of people in discussing powerful topics...

Posted using Partiko Android

First a technical question: you do know that you can enlarge the text-field in here when you hold the very right corner at the bottom of this field and stretch it?

Write an article about intuition! I would like to read it.
As you said there are many approaches and also possibilities to structure your text, to use sources (I found it difficult to choose from the many sources) and also "abuse" what you have found on my (or some one elses) particular article and stretch the thoughts and inspirations up your own imagination.

If you would like to respond to specific points, you also have the possibility to place a link into my article in the comment section to make visible that you wrote your own piece. You could use passages of my text, quote them and refer to them. To make a quote of someone visible, use the angle bracket resp. the character shift > and then you get this vertical line on the left side, the text is then a bit brighter.

Some people do not mind when you place links in the comment section of their article, others feel quite disturbed or annoyed by it. I mostly ask but sometimes simply dare to do this if the context somehow tells me it'll be probably okay.

In the beginning, I actually planned a more funny article and even wanted to make a contest with the best stories of real life experienced intuitions!

Thanks for the tips. I think a challenge/debate exercise in philosophy/psycholgoy/sociology/spirituality fields would be interesting...

Posted using Partiko Android

... I will chew on that thought :)

How about making a co-work with the three of us?

Something similar like the finish the story contest ... ? ... I would be curious how this would come out.

When I was a kid I loved to finish the stories of others. We took a piece of paper, wrote two sentences and then covered the written sentences so the next player couldn't see them. Then it was the next person's turn to write, add his sentences and fold the page. And so on. The more people, the more fun it became. ...... I don't know how you could do something like that here at all. Just a spontaneous idea. :)

I found the end results so hilariously absurd that we always were laughing our butts off.

Yes, that game is fun :)

....or a debate challenge, although I know it might not be popular to support a view arbitrarily. I enjoy it though.
There is a Wikipedia page of List of unsolved problems in philosophy which might supply 'neutral' material.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow, what a list!
I was just reading a little across. A debate about unresolved problems would probably raise more questions than answers, but I think that would be the point of such a debate?

Hehe. At the beginning of the Wiki entry examples were given:
"What is the meaning of life?", "Where did we come from?", "What is reality?

Where I am now in life, the first two questions are predestined to take up the question of creation. Since I now agree with the Buddhists that the question of the origin of life is only relevant to the extent that one comes to the conclusion that it is quite useless:) There is no beginning without an instance of creation. For me personally this is okay and I have hardly any debating spirit left in it.

The question "What is reality?" is much more exciting to me. I have written two articles about it.

Maybe we should - if we agree on an idea or simply exchange ideas - choose a topic on which each of us has not yet written any concrete thoughts or texts? What would be your preferred topic from the wiki list?

Tough question, there's so many good ones: qualia, the hard problem of conciousnes, why there is existence rather than non-existence, counterfactual conditionals.... many are unsolvable in my view, and that's what's so interesting.
I'm sure there is a lot of overlap within them too. Having a number of articles on the same topic will certainly spark some complicated and rich discussion...

Posted using Partiko Android

If we get more people involved we could do a suggestion round and then a vote from a short list...
I am thinking about how to / if to organise. I'm still very small time plankton but I do think something like this would give some direction and a sense of community to a scattered group of non-fiction / mind science thinkers...

Posted using Partiko Android

Let's hear what Kimberly is saying.

There are many in philosophy interested people here, but not actually a community, as far as I know. I do sometimes write science related articles for the steemstem-community but there the talk about philosophical matters is limited.

Maybe we could open up a philosophers round but then this would be going to be a lot of work. Building a community is quite an effort here.

I sometimes asked myself how much time I can spare for how many communities and I always come to the conclusion that I already came to my limit. On the other hand, you never will get any significant success when you are a lonely rider. Which is fine, as well. Depends on the goals one has ...

@goastrighter, I agree it's difficult to get it all into a little box.
Thanks for your thoughtful responses, I have enjoyed the dialogue.
Erika makes some good points below--both on how to set-up technically, which I'm still learning, and that I probably should have asked you both before creating a post with a string of our responses. So, thanks for not being irritated ;)

I started reading this post of yours, as usual and then realized that it was also about us! I thank you from my heart. It's kind of different to see the conversation here and it gets also some different taste and touch. Like it a lot.

True conversation we have and had. This form of dialogue I only do have with people who are ready to listen and to respond. What I also consider is that we remain independent from one another. As far as I sense it we behave as equal towards. This is good. No strategies used, no dishonest praise because I get something from you or you get something from me other than our words:)

Just yesterday I was sitting long with my brother until midnight and we had one of our many good talks. I cannot tell how much I love him but we exactly were talking about what you mention here. Sometimes, one misses people in ones reachable realm where there is a same level. I gave many of my texts to my friends and also family members. But I felt little resonance.

Because my brothers realm of interest differs so much from mine that we understand each other in principle but not in profession. When I give him something to read (story, poem, article) he tells me it's nice but I can see that he cannot really grasp the meaning. When he shows me his restored old timer cars and gets all exited about the process of doing that, showing me the parts of the engines and stuff; I appreciate his work but don't really get it. We laughed a lot about it yesterday but still manage to explain what we feel when we follow our passion.

Since I do steemit I think I stopped more to annoy my friends with what I think and write. I found you and some other mind like people. I had asked myself: Erika, how many people do you need to feel okay? With how many people do you have time to dig deep and engage yourself? My answer was: Not so many. A handful. If it were too much and I would maybe support expectations from readers of my blog and cannot answer appropriate any more, I would probably feel bad.

Quality exchanges need time, yes? Fast typing is then definitely a good thing to be able to. :)

... To avoid chattering and cross talk one has to be strong at times. When I come together physically and I sense the slightest sign that this could be a good talk I engage myself a lot and see what it creates between the two of us. Sometimes it succeeds and sometimes not. Do you also experience that?

Sometimes I even feel ashamed to write and talk that much. ... LOL. Then I have this ideal picture in my mind of a wise person who talks only little and only the needed things. I look at myself and think of me of a complete idiot to need all my words! ... Already I used many of them. But see me writing this with a twinkle in my eyes and a smile on my lips.

We need this words as we cannot meet in person.

Thanks for Scott London and the Link. I do sign what he says. And I refuse to behave in this way he criticizes.

Yes, quality changes do require time, in both thought and here, the action of writing a response. I suppose that is why I wanted to make my post-for-the-day our conversation, as that was where more of my energetic focus was going anyway and my thoughts were that this kind of engaging was important. Given the choice of monologue freewrite-style of stick with reading and considering the replies, yesterday, I chose the later. Seemed to me that was the art, the depth was there in our conversations.
Thank you for formatting instructions, as I am still learning how to use these and knowing how makes the posts not only more aesthetic, but easier to read.
Glad you were okay with me referencing you and your article and you make a good point that it might be prudent to ask before taking such liberties.
Yes, I like to engage with others a lot too and like you, I do find sometimes it goes somewhere and other times not. That takes some amount of bravery, but if we don't dare fully engage then nothing is really learned or said, just things like, "How is the weather?"
I understand the conversation with your brother, the different passions and at the same time the genetics and family background that give you a commonality that conversations can easily launch from. I very much enjoy talking to each of my siblings as well and have nine of them so different subjects we each get into and relate to and others that we don't. Still, always, the respect and admiration you're referencing.
Might be nice to be a sage and use words at great utility, but I'm like you, my mouth is running and I find it difficult not to talk &/or write a lot :) I have drawers full of papers including my thoughts, feelings, ideas and shelves full of dream journals and life reflections. Not sure what my kids will do with those?
Smiling back on a beautiful Sunday morning :)

Totally okay. I felt honored.
I agree, it takes bravery to scratch the borders of others. Otherwise learning would be difficult as one not always knows how far one can go.

Oh, that is a good question: what will the children do with the remains? I was thinking about this, too. Haven't made up my mind so far. Sometimes I think it would be good to clean the things up and also maybe throw away a good deal of texts. As they leave much room for interpretation and sometimes that might be a burden to the children. On the other hand, it can give space to get to know one from another angle and to see mom and dad as persons who not only were parents.

I very well can imagine what's in your shelves and drawers! :))

Congratulations @kimberlylane! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Authentic conversation requires a search for Authenticity of the self and an understanding of the Self first.

Often times we find ourselves or cross others who are straddling the precipice of Authenticity. Feeling the cold breeze on their cheek that the cold bites deeply, but does not hurt.

There's a sort of, icy freshness to the topics, conversations or thoughts that come with Authenticity when someone is attempting to cross that bridge.

I hope everyone out there will be using their best efforts to escort our lost Brother's and Sister's across that line and into the True New World.

Take Care,

E

We find ourselves on the cross--as Marion Woodman says, waiting for the third. Crossing a bridge by first being suspended and tugged in all directions.
I am attempting at best effort, but sometimes fail.
Thanks for stopping by and commenting,
Kimberly

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46