You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Genuine Conversation

in #psychology6 years ago

I started reading this post of yours, as usual and then realized that it was also about us! I thank you from my heart. It's kind of different to see the conversation here and it gets also some different taste and touch. Like it a lot.

True conversation we have and had. This form of dialogue I only do have with people who are ready to listen and to respond. What I also consider is that we remain independent from one another. As far as I sense it we behave as equal towards. This is good. No strategies used, no dishonest praise because I get something from you or you get something from me other than our words:)

Just yesterday I was sitting long with my brother until midnight and we had one of our many good talks. I cannot tell how much I love him but we exactly were talking about what you mention here. Sometimes, one misses people in ones reachable realm where there is a same level. I gave many of my texts to my friends and also family members. But I felt little resonance.

Because my brothers realm of interest differs so much from mine that we understand each other in principle but not in profession. When I give him something to read (story, poem, article) he tells me it's nice but I can see that he cannot really grasp the meaning. When he shows me his restored old timer cars and gets all exited about the process of doing that, showing me the parts of the engines and stuff; I appreciate his work but don't really get it. We laughed a lot about it yesterday but still manage to explain what we feel when we follow our passion.

Since I do steemit I think I stopped more to annoy my friends with what I think and write. I found you and some other mind like people. I had asked myself: Erika, how many people do you need to feel okay? With how many people do you have time to dig deep and engage yourself? My answer was: Not so many. A handful. If it were too much and I would maybe support expectations from readers of my blog and cannot answer appropriate any more, I would probably feel bad.

Quality exchanges need time, yes? Fast typing is then definitely a good thing to be able to. :)

... To avoid chattering and cross talk one has to be strong at times. When I come together physically and I sense the slightest sign that this could be a good talk I engage myself a lot and see what it creates between the two of us. Sometimes it succeeds and sometimes not. Do you also experience that?

Sometimes I even feel ashamed to write and talk that much. ... LOL. Then I have this ideal picture in my mind of a wise person who talks only little and only the needed things. I look at myself and think of me of a complete idiot to need all my words! ... Already I used many of them. But see me writing this with a twinkle in my eyes and a smile on my lips.

We need this words as we cannot meet in person.

Thanks for Scott London and the Link. I do sign what he says. And I refuse to behave in this way he criticizes.

Sort:  

Yes, quality changes do require time, in both thought and here, the action of writing a response. I suppose that is why I wanted to make my post-for-the-day our conversation, as that was where more of my energetic focus was going anyway and my thoughts were that this kind of engaging was important. Given the choice of monologue freewrite-style of stick with reading and considering the replies, yesterday, I chose the later. Seemed to me that was the art, the depth was there in our conversations.
Thank you for formatting instructions, as I am still learning how to use these and knowing how makes the posts not only more aesthetic, but easier to read.
Glad you were okay with me referencing you and your article and you make a good point that it might be prudent to ask before taking such liberties.
Yes, I like to engage with others a lot too and like you, I do find sometimes it goes somewhere and other times not. That takes some amount of bravery, but if we don't dare fully engage then nothing is really learned or said, just things like, "How is the weather?"
I understand the conversation with your brother, the different passions and at the same time the genetics and family background that give you a commonality that conversations can easily launch from. I very much enjoy talking to each of my siblings as well and have nine of them so different subjects we each get into and relate to and others that we don't. Still, always, the respect and admiration you're referencing.
Might be nice to be a sage and use words at great utility, but I'm like you, my mouth is running and I find it difficult not to talk &/or write a lot :) I have drawers full of papers including my thoughts, feelings, ideas and shelves full of dream journals and life reflections. Not sure what my kids will do with those?
Smiling back on a beautiful Sunday morning :)

Totally okay. I felt honored.
I agree, it takes bravery to scratch the borders of others. Otherwise learning would be difficult as one not always knows how far one can go.

Oh, that is a good question: what will the children do with the remains? I was thinking about this, too. Haven't made up my mind so far. Sometimes I think it would be good to clean the things up and also maybe throw away a good deal of texts. As they leave much room for interpretation and sometimes that might be a burden to the children. On the other hand, it can give space to get to know one from another angle and to see mom and dad as persons who not only were parents.

I very well can imagine what's in your shelves and drawers! :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49