You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Genuine Conversation

in #psychology6 years ago

With a subject like 'intuition' there are so many complimentary ways one can approach it, not to mention alternative points of view and healthy/ fun debate to be had... I think this is true for many sujects in the philosophy/psychology/spirituality areas. In fact it's a little troublesome to be confined to the little reply box.. I was tempted to do my own post, but then how does one respond directly to specific points?...
It is great to have a platform like this where one can engage such a wide diversity of people in discussing powerful topics...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

First a technical question: you do know that you can enlarge the text-field in here when you hold the very right corner at the bottom of this field and stretch it?

Write an article about intuition! I would like to read it.
As you said there are many approaches and also possibilities to structure your text, to use sources (I found it difficult to choose from the many sources) and also "abuse" what you have found on my (or some one elses) particular article and stretch the thoughts and inspirations up your own imagination.

If you would like to respond to specific points, you also have the possibility to place a link into my article in the comment section to make visible that you wrote your own piece. You could use passages of my text, quote them and refer to them. To make a quote of someone visible, use the angle bracket resp. the character shift > and then you get this vertical line on the left side, the text is then a bit brighter.

Some people do not mind when you place links in the comment section of their article, others feel quite disturbed or annoyed by it. I mostly ask but sometimes simply dare to do this if the context somehow tells me it'll be probably okay.

In the beginning, I actually planned a more funny article and even wanted to make a contest with the best stories of real life experienced intuitions!

Thanks for the tips. I think a challenge/debate exercise in philosophy/psycholgoy/sociology/spirituality fields would be interesting...

Posted using Partiko Android

... I will chew on that thought :)

How about making a co-work with the three of us?

Something similar like the finish the story contest ... ? ... I would be curious how this would come out.

When I was a kid I loved to finish the stories of others. We took a piece of paper, wrote two sentences and then covered the written sentences so the next player couldn't see them. Then it was the next person's turn to write, add his sentences and fold the page. And so on. The more people, the more fun it became. ...... I don't know how you could do something like that here at all. Just a spontaneous idea. :)

I found the end results so hilariously absurd that we always were laughing our butts off.

Yes, that game is fun :)

....or a debate challenge, although I know it might not be popular to support a view arbitrarily. I enjoy it though.
There is a Wikipedia page of List of unsolved problems in philosophy which might supply 'neutral' material.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow, what a list!
I was just reading a little across. A debate about unresolved problems would probably raise more questions than answers, but I think that would be the point of such a debate?

Hehe. At the beginning of the Wiki entry examples were given:
"What is the meaning of life?", "Where did we come from?", "What is reality?

Where I am now in life, the first two questions are predestined to take up the question of creation. Since I now agree with the Buddhists that the question of the origin of life is only relevant to the extent that one comes to the conclusion that it is quite useless:) There is no beginning without an instance of creation. For me personally this is okay and I have hardly any debating spirit left in it.

The question "What is reality?" is much more exciting to me. I have written two articles about it.

Maybe we should - if we agree on an idea or simply exchange ideas - choose a topic on which each of us has not yet written any concrete thoughts or texts? What would be your preferred topic from the wiki list?

Tough question, there's so many good ones: qualia, the hard problem of conciousnes, why there is existence rather than non-existence, counterfactual conditionals.... many are unsolvable in my view, and that's what's so interesting.
I'm sure there is a lot of overlap within them too. Having a number of articles on the same topic will certainly spark some complicated and rich discussion...

Posted using Partiko Android

If we get more people involved we could do a suggestion round and then a vote from a short list...
I am thinking about how to / if to organise. I'm still very small time plankton but I do think something like this would give some direction and a sense of community to a scattered group of non-fiction / mind science thinkers...

Posted using Partiko Android

Let's hear what Kimberly is saying.

There are many in philosophy interested people here, but not actually a community, as far as I know. I do sometimes write science related articles for the steemstem-community but there the talk about philosophical matters is limited.

Maybe we could open up a philosophers round but then this would be going to be a lot of work. Building a community is quite an effort here.

I sometimes asked myself how much time I can spare for how many communities and I always come to the conclusion that I already came to my limit. On the other hand, you never will get any significant success when you are a lonely rider. Which is fine, as well. Depends on the goals one has ...

You're right, does sound like a lot of work which is why I need to consider it more... and (hopefully); become more established on Steem.
I never know what to write about so will use some of those questions as I for myself in the meantime..

Posted using Partiko Android

@goastrighter, I agree it's difficult to get it all into a little box.
Thanks for your thoughtful responses, I have enjoyed the dialogue.
Erika makes some good points below--both on how to set-up technically, which I'm still learning, and that I probably should have asked you both before creating a post with a string of our responses. So, thanks for not being irritated ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49