Get to Know @insight-out

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

soap-bubble-2403673_1920.jpg

Two weeks ago I was nominated by @dysfunctional to participate in #GettoKnowChallenge started by @anomadsoul.

It requires to nominate 5 to 10 of your posts which you think are of a good value and would be interesting for others to see. I am really appreciative to be invited to take part in the challenge by one of the bloggers I visit most often.

However, I have been on Steemit for a relatively short period of time and thus my blog doesn’t quite cover the requirements of the challenge. That is why I decided to present only 3 of my posts and share some behind-the-scenes information.

I experiment a lot with my writing style. I try to make my articles informative, but easy to read… and fun. The latter is my Steemit resolution. One of my personal goals here is to dust my sense of humor and take it out of the shelf where I seem to have left it a while ago.
The next thing which all of my articles have in common is that I always try to share something personal in them. I believe that people are not so different from each other and it will only help them to see that another person feels the way they do. As I love to say: I am a human and nothing human is alien to me.

So, enough talking. Let’s move to my compilation.

Married to an Introvert - Mission Possible?

The original heading of this article was Married to an Introvert. Mission impossible? but I couldn’t make the markdown code work properly (I still cannot do it with the emoji btw :/ )This is a post in which I talk about my experience of an introvert and an extravert being in love. I also discuss the scientific understanding of these personality traits.

What surprised me after I published this article was the number of introverts who commented it. I somehow expected that there would be many extraverts who will be feeling for me. Instead, there were many introverts feeling for my husband. Lol!

A fun fact: in popular science, it is common to use the word “extrOvert” instead of “extrAvert”. It is incorrect though. In his original text, Jung himself used the term “extrAvert” (from Latin “extra” means “outside”).

What are you – cute or smart? Brothers and Sisters. Part 1

This is the first part of a series about brothers and sisters relationships. I have a younger sister who is an extremely important person to me. We have a very strong relationship and I am so grateful that I have her in my life. Probably that is the reason why I have been interested in the subject since… forever. Actually, I was considering doing my final paper in my bachelor degree on this subject. However, I didn’t do it because I was running out of time and needed a bunch of identical twins for my study to start with :D

On the other hand, research in family relations is mainly focused on the mother-child relationship. There are little papers on siblings’ relationships and how they affect their personality. Unfortunately, it is extremely difficult to isolate and examine the variables in families. You never know what influences what – is it gender, is it birth order, is it mother (father)-child relationship, is it age gap, is it peer group, etc. Yeah, social science could be a complete mess sometimes :/

However, if you are curious about your brother (sister) and yourself, give it a go.

Vacations & Your Mental Health

To be honest, what I really like about this piece of work is … the front image. It’s so shiny that makes my day every time I see it in my blog list :D

Jokes aside. This is an article which will make you feel less guilty about having a vacation. Who doesn’t like that? Another thing that I like about it is the play on images I made. I tried to bring humor with the pictures and the text beneath them. After all, I was talking about diseases a little too much in there :)

Behind the curtain: this is the only article of mine my husband has read. Unfortunately for me, he concluded that I ruin all his vacations because I plan too much. I guess he is not completely aware that perhaps he will never go on a vacation unless I plan one. He will just grow roots in front of his computer :P


I hope you like my short list of articles. Now, it is time to pass the challenge forward and nominate three other Steemians.

  1. My first choice is a surprising one for me. I have never liked philosophers very much. They talk too much and always make trouble :D However, I kind of like this one. @alexander.alexis has an amazing list of fascinating articles about … well, everything, he is a philosopher after all :P So, Alexander, I can’t wait to see what your picks will be :)

  2. My second nominee is someone who decided to give me a hand without knowing me at all. He and the wonderful @erh.germany delegated me 100 SP to help me grow. Furthermore, he is a person who stands behind @bananafish and @co-in (collective intelligence) projects, trying to make Steemit a place for quality content. This is @f3nix. I am waiting forward to your list of posts @f3nix :)
    P.S. I invested some of the SP to the minnowbuilder program to help other redfish grow.

  3. My third nominee is a person who I don’t actually know. I ran over his (her) blog by accident while browsing through the @steemstem posts. And I fell in love with his (her) publications immediately. If there is an alternative universe in which I am a cell biologist I would choose the exact same topics as he (she) did. This is @scienceblocks. I am extremely curious about the articles he (she) will choose.

So, I guess, that’s it! The ball is passed forward.

Greetings to you all, @insight-out

Image (under CC0 Creative Commons):
https://pixabay.com/en/soap-bubble-huge-large-2403673/

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words and the nomination. Oh and a big thanks for the three articles you mentioned. Looks pretty inserting. I will be bookmarking them for further reading. Once I am done with current post I am working on I will take up this task.

Great! I can't wait to see what your picks will be! :D

Oh thanks for nominating me, Val. You know, I'm impressed with the quality and at the same time the equilibrate approach of your articles. It's seeable that you've the reader in mind and the intention of communicating. Not so obvious as it can seem at a first glance. I'll see if I can find a moment for this nice initiative. Keep up the good work and stay selfless and awesome as you are 😉👍 - f3nix

Thank you for your kind words, @f3nix! I hope you find the time and dig out some of your favorite "old" stuff so we, your readers, can enjoy them once again :D

Thank you for the nomination:)
I guess, I will take a little steemit break and get some distance. I will come back and hopefully can make a post referring to "get to know me".

As I know all of your articles already (or most of them), I spare a related comment and just say: it's a pleasure to have you here and be part of the engaged commenters. Which is not always an easy job;-)

Take care and hug the baby.

Oh, I will be lying if I say that I am not sad about your decision to take a break. I will miss you!

Actually, last week I had an urge to write to you on Discord and ask you how are you because I noticed that you were less active on the platform. I didn't do it because I thought that I would look like a stocker :D

I am waiting forward to seeing what your break is going to bring us. I am pretty sure that you will come back with more of your wise approach and incredible insights! <3

Warm autumn hugs from me! (the German rain came here today :/ )

I try to make my articles informative, but easy to read… and fun.

You most certainly have accomplished these goals :)

Lovely selection of articles @insight-out. I remember when I first read a post of yours here and got all excited about what you would be bringing to the steemstem community and the psychology category!

You should be very proud of your accomplishments so far, you have come a long way within the community and the platform overall, I would say. The reasons it hasn't taken you long is exactly because of how efficient you are in sharing your knowledge with us: in a light-hearted and informative manner.

Further, you are an awesome group member. You pay careful attention to the feedback you receive and take the time to encourage the effort others make through their work here.

Wishing you a great week ahead! :D

Thank you very much, @abigail-dantes! Your opinion means a lot to me. It's a fact that perhaps I wouldn't stay on Steemit if it wasn't for your kind support in the beginning! You made me believe in this platform and the communities here. I will always remember this! <3

Have a lovely lovely lovely week, too!

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Oh, thanks a lot!

Congratulations @insight-out! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @insight-out! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Instead, there were many introverts feeling for my husband. Lol!

Poor guy 🙁

A fun fact: in popular science, it is common to use the word “extrOvert” instead of “extrAvert”. It is incorrect though. In his original text, Jung himself used the term “extrAvert” (from Latin “extra” means “outside”).

Did not know that! Or knew and forgot!


Ah, thanks a lot for the nomination! I actually think agmoore already nominated me for this, and I've had that article of hers on my to-read list for weeks now! Plus I rarely check my mentions, I always plan on checking them, but rarely do, which is why it took me 6 days to get to yours!

I don't feel like blabbing about myself right now, fortunately for all of you. The people who read my articles already know my work so I don't know what the point would be. Dunno, just prefer writing a new article instead!

Fair enough :) I am waiting for your next one :D I wonder, where would Id take us :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67