Parenting?!?!?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Parenting.....

I have asked the question of myself and my professor's how much does parenting have on your child's personality? Is their personality already shaped at birth? Are they who they are going to be from day one? It is that old question; nature vs nurture? Does DNA have more of influence on your child, than you could ever have? These are very hard to answer because you may think you have the answer, only to be sent back to square one with the next child.

Personality refers to individual differences in characteristic patterns of thinking, feeling and behaving; according to the American Psychology Association,(2018). Than there is nature vs nurture. Nature is defined as, you are who you are based 100% on your genetics. Nurture is defined as you are a blank slate and your personality is developed through what is learned through your environment. Through the decades these two sides have been heavily debated and used to determine a  lot of social stigma.  The current resolution of the question is, they are not independent they go hand and hand. Both nature and nurture make us who we are.

According to the experts your personality is set by 1st grade. By first grade your personality will be the same throughout your life. If you are a talkative person, you will most likely be a talkative adult. If you are a shy child you will be a shy adult. The list goes on. However, these traits as young children, do show in our adult lives, but also shape other aspects. Meaning it is believed that if you are a talkative child you will work well in group settings, tend to want to lead the group, and you do well in many different social settings. If you are a shy child, you will tend to do well on your own or in small groups, and solve problems on your own. They each have their own qualities.

Now you are probably wondering what does this have to do with parenting and my post. Well, as some of you know I have 10 children, 7 boys and 3 girls. While I was sitting here watching my 4 year old play and his 5 month old brother is upstairs sleeping, I started to think of how different they are. Most of my children did not sleep through the night until they were well pass 2. The 5 month old started at 3 months. The 5 month old tells us in other way than crying, what he wants. The others cried or just didn't tell us, we did process of elimination. Now here is where they differ the most and the reason for this post. 

I have 3 grown children and 3 almost ready to leave. All my children and I, like other families, have had our ups and downs. However, we have always had a great relationship. I am a strict parent. I am not a perfect parent, nor do I pretend to be. I am a parent who will say I am sorry when I am wrong. My children have always had a great personality and have been their own person. So, the reason for the post. I don't believe a child's personality is set this early and I believe nature has more influence later in life than in the beginning. 

There are traits that you instill in your children early, be respectful, don't lie, be fair, don't judge, don't hate, etc. There are traits you give your children without trying, through example, that would be all I have already mentioned and how you handle life. How you handle stress, external people, love, commitments, etc. These all play a role in molding your child. However, I believe that your child can be influenced later in life.

Once your child becomes a teenager of about 16 or so, depending on the child, some may be as early as 14, they start to pull away from you and try to find their own way. You may still have influence and a say. They may still have a great relationship with you. However, they are also learning how to move through life without you. Once they do accomplish to move out on their own, whichever way they do it, you may see a change that you didn't expect.

Once they leave home and are with friends and are starting adult relationships that turn into love, you may see personality traits you did not know existed. A child that use to be independent may become dependent. A child that use to be calm in situations, explodes at the littlest upset. Your child may start being a person you don't recognize. This is where I believe nurture comes more into play and does not stop at 1st grade. 

People will tell new parents that the hardest time is infancy or toddlers. Some will say the teenager years are the worst. Well I am here to tell you it is the adult years. Those are the hardest in my opinion. You go from having a child you know, that confides in you, that you see on a daily basis, who is this person you help create, to someone that is still them, but different. Their personality takes on a shape that resembles their old self but is completely new. You start to see their friends or significant others more and more in their actions. It is amazing to me how much influence their environment can still have on them, past those formative years. To me it is like a new virus that invades and never leaves.

This was just a thought I had today, thinking of how different my 5 month old is compared to his siblings. Than how different they all are compared to the next. Than how different they are once they leave home. 

Thanks for reading :) Please post a comment I would love to hear from you :)

American Psychology Association. (2018). Personality. Retrieved from, http://www.apa.org/topics/personality/

McLeod, Sue. (2015). Nature vs Nurture in Psychology. Retrieved from, https://www.simplypsychology.org/naturevsnurture.html

All Photo's - CCO

Sort:  

Firstly, I want to say I am amazed at you with the ability to handle 10 children. I am handling 2 now, one 7 years old, one 4 years old and sometimes already drive me crazy. How did you do that? My respect goes to you.

Thank you for sharing this in a way to prepare myself that my children will consistently change depending on their environment and nurture. I do hope I will still be sane when they reach their teens. They are boys and already quarrel everyday. Phew! But also adorable in their own ways.

I think we all will have our grace to take care of the children. 😍 hugs to you as you take care of beautiful big family ;)

Thank you :) It has its challenges but the rewards outweigh them. I have 7 boys so I know all about the ruckus they stir up :) My oldest boy is 27 and he is an adrealine junky so he keeps my heart pounding.

You will make it, the school years are the easiest to me. You get into a routine and learning becomes the focus. Plus, you get a little time to yourself :)

Hugs to your family as well :)

Everything you have said, i couldn't agree more. I am no parent, and just so you know, in that 'post teenage' age bracket of adulthood.

Is my personality still being influenced, nurtured?

Honest to say, the answer, following, now that you say, is actually yes. When you say, and i quote

ou start to see their friends or significant others more and more in their actions. It is amazing to me how much influence their environment can still have on them, past those formative years

Very True. Personally i was not much of a talker growing up. Which is probably the reason i tend to write well.... lol!

But yes, I remember as a child, if i wanted something from my dad, i would simply write him a 'letter'.

But over the years, of having talkative, and i mean really talkative friends, i have found myself some what outgoing. And talk maybe a little more than i used to then.

I think, and you correctly allude to this, as an adult, one's personality gets to be impacted on by his or her fellowship.

Of course as adults, children now get to spend more time with others more than the parents, which means that 'others' assume a bigger stake, albeit indirectly, in influencing them.

This is a very thought provoking write, @imaginedragon. Much appreciated.

I am very glad you are part of the @asapers family. I curate for it. Hopefully your fellowship with @asapers can influence all of us in here to write quality works!!

Thanks. And love, much.

Thank you so much :) I was thrilled when I woke up and saw that @asapers choose me their curation post and resteem. I hope to be in a lot more, hopefully with my fiction writing. I too was a very shy child and I expressed more through writing than I ever could verbally. It is still that way today. Thank you again :)

Yes! I agree entirely...

I evolved between childhood and adulthood often through making deliberate choices other times through modelling the behaviour of others.

You sound like an awesome parent, honest, as you say not perfect...Are any of us?

We teach them some stuff, exhibit some stuff for them to copy and hope the combination is enough to set them on the way right.

I also agree about the age thing, when they are young, you think if I safely get them to this age or that age visualising magical milestones in your minds-eye when everything will be simple....No, no, no it does NOT work like that...

As you say the worries become different but still remain. But I wouldn't change a minute of it, was it all plain sailing? Nope...But it all combined brought us today when you and are happy with how our kids have grown, who they've become

Enjoyable read, gave some food for thought too...Thankyou. Enjoy the evolution of family life, wishing you and yours many happy times and the very best wishes from me and mine :)

I would never change a minute of it. You are just told, wait until they become an adult, life is great then. You get them coming over all the time, grandkids, it becomes simple, your job is done. Well not in my experience. My kids are self-sufficient, the adult ones, but two have changed due to peer influence. The pediatrician, my professors, the literature, all said their personalities were set by 8 or 9. I don't agree.

Thank you for reading my post and for commenting :) I wish you all the same :)

I would never change a minute of it. You are just told, wait until they become an adult, life is great then. You get them coming over all the time, grandkids, it becomes simple, your job is done. Well not in my experience. My kids are self-sufficient, the adult ones, but two have changed due to peer influence. The pediatrician, my professors, the literature, all said their personalities were set by 8 or 9. I don't agree.

Thank you for reading my post and for commenting :) I wish you all the same :)

Congratulations @imaginedragon, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 39

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Thank you :) I upvoted and resteemed. I also upvoted some that you have resteemed. Thank you again :)

Thank you for doing that, all our curated post will benefit from it :)

Loading...

I have recently published couple of articles on my parenting blog
diaper rash cream

pregnancy week by week

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33