Writing as Meditation, Therapy and Catharsis...

in #psychology6 years ago

I've been spending quite a bit of time recently, going over my old writing files, private journals and even the several dozen blogs I have littered the Internet with, in the course of the past few decades.

River
Words flowing like a river...

As I started sorting this seemingly never-ending stream of words, I came to the somewhat startling realization that maybe part the majority of the reason I have never been more "successful" as a writer is that I have never approached writing as "a job."

Well, that's not entirely true. I was a technical writer for a few years, but I didn't really enjoy it... mostly because it revolved around writing what other people told me I had to write — not what I wanted to write.

Although I had the ridiculous notion as a kid that I would like to "Write Stories for a Living" when I grew up... even when I was a teenager, my eternal scribbling in dozens of journals was more about maintaining my own sanity than about creating something that "might become a book someday."

Writing As Therapy

As a teenager, I wrote because it was a way for me to get what was inside my head OUT of there. Although I had no conscious sense of what I was doing, by writing my troubling ideas out I somehow felt able to "no longer worry about them," because I could always revisit them in my journal.

Sunset
Sunset and ocean fog bank

It was a useful tool, especially during some of my darkest emotional times.

Many years later — as part of regular "therapy" — it was my ability to articulate seemingly abstract feelings in writing that turned out to be particularly useful. At that time, I also got into keeping dream journals... a habit that started as a therapeutic "homework assignment," but which I never gave up. 

All these years later, I'm glad I have those very detailed dream records... some of which have turned out to be far more prophetic than "random chance.

To this day, writing remains an important part of my mental health maintenance and stability. Which is why I have always been able to quite sincerely say that I would probably still be writing here, even if there were no rewards. If not here, it would be somewhere else...

It's NOT About "Being Troubled"

Sometimes I encounter people who seem almost troubled by the idea that I am — in part — writing "for mental health purposes.

I finally had a long enough conversation with a friend recently to understand that perhaps the dis-ease with such an idea stems from the fact that the moment someone starts talking about doing things "for mental health reasons," it's somehow an admission that they are "troubled."

Mountains
Winter mountains

Whereas I can appreciate the apprehension — to an extent — it still seems a little odd to me. 

I mean, let's think about it. We exercise and eat right for physical reasons, and we have medical checkups with doctors even if we're not physically ill. Nobody gives that even a moment's second thought...

So why would we not do mental health exercises (like writing) and occasionally consult a mental health professional just to "check in?

Somehow, it seems like speaking of the psyche has become taboo; off limits. And frequently we're more troubled by someone having a nervous breakdown than a heart attack. Why? Why are we afraid of the workings of the mind?

I don't have any good answers, mind you. But I am going to keep writing!

How About YOU? Why do you write? Have you ever written — or considered your writing — in the context of being a mental health exercise? Do you find writing to be cathartic? Do you keep a journal? Do you feel more relaxed and balanced because you keep a journal? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!


created by @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180611 16:57 PDT

Sort:  

I was diagnosed once as being depressed. My doctor prescribed Prozac. If I really was depressed, and the jury is still out on that, being depressed was far, far better than being under the influence of Prozac. I felt foggy, metallic, totally unnatural. After two days I thought fuck this for a game of soldiers, I want to be me again.

Soon thereafter I discovered the internet and set up a discussion list. There I was able to rant to my heart's content from time and converse with friends. I did not see this as therapy, but it was fun. Fun is always good therapy, no matter the form it comes in.

Maybe if I wrote regularly I would gain more benefit, but I doubt it. I just don't work that way. I write when inspired, be it a rant, or pontification, or I just had an idea for a joke. If I don't have a starting point I can't write, so I read, or watch television, or work on my car, something to keep me busy until a new idea pops into my head.

The one thing I will not do is take psychotropic drugs to "cure" my "depression."

Trust me, I'm not a medical doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I create mostly music, but I think it’s important to be creative.. whether it’s writing, photography, or anything else!

We're all in part suffering in mind in life at times: pathos-psyche, psyche-pathos, psycho-pathy, psychopathy. Expressing ourselves is a way to get it out I guess. Sharing and putting things out there gives a positive feedback in some ways. Receiving direct feedback (comments) is good for our desire for attention and to feel like others care.

There are many reasons to write apart from making a living from it. Therapy is just a word for what happens when you use text as a means to understand yourself. I use cognition (erkendelse), as it comes close to the action without really trying to give a practical reason. I feel that is at least also an undercurrent in your writings - not healing, but exploring.

I remember, but hasn't been able to find it that Norwegian/Danish author Aksel Sandemose in "A fugitive crosses his own path" writes about this strong urge after cognition. If you havenøt read it it might be interesting for you.

My primary reason for writing is to keep my memories tidy and cohesive. The longer a memory goes unused, the more it fades and writing about it preserves the details while I still have them. Quite often when reviewing a memory note months or years later, additional details surface and I add them to the note.

Not only does that help me remember but it provides documentation of my family life that can be passed on to my extended family since our stories interrelate and many of them treat writing as an alien process.

Oh... writing is also fun when I can write what I want.

this is so great a post @denmarkguy . nothing is as great as discovering oneself at an early stage in life, and i sure know your art of writing then has made you an excellent and constructive writer today. @denmarkguy, kindly check out this post and show some support: https://steemit.com/hyperfundit/@samotu/fundraiser-help-lucy-get-a-sewing-machine-a-purposeful-amputee

Thanks

I write because I like to write - not all of it is earth-shattering - well actually most of it isn't. I have written more and less at different times of my life and virtually every job has involved some sort of writing - to a greater rather than lesser extent.

I kept a journal (or diary as it was known in those days) as a teenager. Until my sister and her friends found it and flung my adolescent pain in my face. That still hurts.

I have subsequently written to just get my feelings and thoughts out, at different times of my life and it's been cathartic and healing. I threw away those books before we moved to McGregor. Perhaps I shouldn't have.

I still write when something gets to me, and two of those pieces have been this year, and shared here. They are difficult to write when I know I'm going to post them on a platform like this because I'm not one for baring my soul.

I guess, without thinking about it, I do write for my own mental healt, but that said, there have been times, like this time a year ago, when I just couldn't. At all. I plan to write about THAT in a little while... I guess that for some of us, writing is soul food, it's something else for others....

Really like to find posts about these topics, I think mental health needs more visibility.

I passed a similar process through my teenage era. I wrote a lot but then something quite traumatic happened that got all of my writing away from me. Since that time it became harder and harder to encourage myself to write and I ended up writing only in severous distress.

Anyway I'm currently canalizing my mental health through illustration now, happy and hard moments aswell. And few months ago I've started writing again, in distress, but times are getting better and I'm starting to enjoy writing cheerful things back again.

Glad I found this post, please keep sharing good and organic content 🌸

Thank you so much for this post! I do think about this quite often, I mean I am an avid reader, so I have always had a love for literature, but I have never really thought of myself as a writer until I joined here. Now, I am not saying I write the most amazing post (I am still starting out) but I do find it incredibly therapeutic, apart from that I have a discord family that I adore and that make me feel at home and occasionally we get to touch lives and share stories that people can either relate to or open their minds to! I am happy I found your post and I plan on following your wonderful journey <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94