Have you ever been told you're not good enough?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever been told you're not good enough? That you will not succeed, that you have too much to learn?

Maybe that's a stranger on the street, maybe the boss, perhaps the family, someone you cared for, maybe your friends. The problem is that you have come to believe it in time.

I know this because I went through it, I was told I would not succeed and I was often taken to the point of the plans I was doing to myself. And that affected me a lot, I dreamed about the projects and I was so sorry that even though I was thinking about all sorts of fools I could have done and I was bringing all my ideas I did not even have the courage to tell them.

I was dreaming and I was just becoming more and more frustrated because I could not tell, ask for advice because I was afraid of the critics of others. The worse part is that those who criticized me were the best friends, the people I trusted in and respect. Every time I hear them saying "come back to your heart", "do not dream anymore", "you will not succeed" I feel like someone just gives me a straight punch in my stomach, unexpectedly, what I was breathing, almost falling off my feet and making me feel a void inside. I initially try to convince them, to show them they are not right, to show them that they will succeed and try to lead the project / idea at the end, but hearing them every day that I will not leave or ask me 2-3 times a day, what progress did I start to give up on the things that I was doing because they persuaded me not to go, they convinced me it did not work.

Now looking back - I am amused, I expected to have results when I was still in the implementation stage, it was normal and natural to have no results. But I got to the point where I did not say anything about what I was doing, I was seeing my work and although it was frustrating because I wanted to talk to them very much, to tell them what they were doing, to censor me and to drag me lead the project at the end but that frustrate me damn hard, I felt like everything I did not count.

We were looking for their validation, I wanted them to tell me that I did a good job not someone else but this happened too few times, most of the time it was something like "yes, you did that, but if I was putting myself my head could do it even better. "

After a while, I began to break away from those people, to surround me with people like me - people who strongly believe it will be good, who think you can do anything if you are willing to work and who believe in the good of others. And I realized I was not defective, I realized how much the people you have around you count and whether they support you or not.

Now I've come to believe that I'm still good enough and if I do not know that I can become. And you, like me, are good enough to do everything you want! You are good enough to be happy, you are good enough to succeed, you are good enough to be prosperous. You are good enough to be successful and truly enjoy life - and if you are not, I'm sure you can become just working for it.

I'm sure you have something you can do next, that you have learned enough things to help someone else get closer to where they want, I'm sure you can get where you dream. I'm starting to think that anything is possible in this world if you are willing to work and invest time in your work. The problem is not if you are good enough if you are talented enough but if you are willing to work to get where you want it.

Ignore anyone telling you that you are not good enough, ignore those who tell you that you will not succeed without explaining why I believe this without helping you get there.

I'll tell you a secret.

Many of those who say that you will not succeed are actually concerned about your own person, because if you succeed, they will feel bad, you will suddenly destroy the lie they still say, the little one who tells them only the lucky ones succeed, the tiny one according to which only those with relationships get prosperous. The lie that tells them they can not.

Every time you think you're not good enough to do something give me a mail and I'll try to encourage you, I'll try to get you out of the dilemma.

Do not look for excuses to postpone to launch something, do not apologize for not doing something - grab and do it again and from that point on, it will start to come up with resources, people who can help you, projects that will help you you can earn money as you go further.

I do not believe in success overnight, I do not think you are good in a field one day but I think if you invest enough effort and passion in what you do you will succeed.

And never forget that you are good enough to become great!

14156135_525787184279186_2135806292_n.jpg

Sort:  

You are good enough!

Thanks to @ghulammujtaba, this article was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

YES. This hit home. My first post a little bit ago was partly about how most of my life until recently I have been so scared of learning some things like math and technology because I didn't think I could, I didn't think I could handle it, and I struggled.
"And I realized I was not defective, I realized how much the people you have around you count and whether they support you or not." .... <--- especially that part. I do try to surround myself with more positive people now.
Thanks for sharing this, and for helping me to remember that I can succeed.

I'm glad that you succeed @mamatalks. Life is hard, sometimes we had bad people around us, we need positive people for win our pathway. Welcome here :)

Thank you :) Yeah, I have learned that life is too short to have to constantly deal with negative people all the time. For the ones who really drain you and are not supportive, if you can't completely get away (such as.... from negative family members!) then you can at least minimize contact and strengthen yourself against their negativity when yo do interact. I try to strive for balance. Thanks for the kind welcome. See you around!

@coupleumbrella you are so beautiful and pretty
I love you :)

Hi @zainqureshi, can you love someone just from viewing a picture? Thank you anyway...What's your opinion about text?

yes, I view your picture the heart is talk with me wow :)
the text is great, your knowledge is very informative.

I hope you will read my next articles too. Thank you :)

Heartfelt write... I'm glad you were able to pull through... In life we just need to understand that no one else in the world thinks the way we think, happiness is an inside job it's your own responsibility and lastly you are your own limit... Your mind is a very powerful tool if you believe in yourself there's absolutely nothing you won't be able to do... just believe in you irrespective of what others think... Thanks for your write

Hi @tamaraudoubra nice to see you here. Never forget that you are good enough to become great!

Amazing write-up. I honestly can relate to it. Keep it up👍

Nice words from you @eddy2cul. Thanks!

"if you invest enough effort and passion, you will succeed"-
I can't but agree totally with this. I'm happy you overcame the negative comments around you; it kills many dreams. There's always more room to grow, so keep growing. Cheers!

can you argue why you're not agree?

Thank you for presence here and comment @herr.ekong

"You only receive the love that you think you deserve."

I love that quote because it's so true - and quite relevant here. I've most definitely been there, and although it was not an easy place to be, it did teach me so much. I can tell it taught you a lot too.

In the end, the world will never know who we truly are. And it may never know, but we must trust in ourselves the entire way and do what we know we came here to do.

Great post @coupleumbrella. I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: How To Fuel Flirtation And Ignite Irresistible Interactions

We have so many faces, the real one it's just for us. I will check your post right now :)

As soon as I read this post, I followed you to gain more motivational power!
Excellent determination, keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66