Cigarette Guilt Trips and The Vice Hypocrisy

in #psychology6 years ago

As someone who used to smoke regularly, I never wanted to be the annoying, persistent guilt-tripping ex-smoker

image.png


In modern life, there are endless vices, substances, and activities which can harm us and lead to our untimely demise. Alcohol, drugs, poor diet, lack of exercise, and stress are just a few of the many ways in which we can reduce our quality of life.

There is no shortage of hedonic activity to engage in, no scarcity of transgressions against the self. The truth is, life in 2018 has so many factors that can lead to death it's beyond unsettling. Most of these are out of sight and out of mind, just the way we'd like it.

But there's one vice that, for some reason, stands above all the rest in terms of visibility and vilification. Its universality condemnation and vilification is accepted full-stop, to the point that it's socially acceptable to guilt-trip another person for engaging in this particular activity.

I'm referring, of course, to the act of ingesting tobacco in the form of a cigarette

image.png


Smoking is bad. You get it. Most likely, you've known this as long as you can remember. Tobacco is vilified, and for understandable reasons. Cancer, emphysema, heart disease, and countless other health concerns accompany this nihilistic activity.

As a society, we now view the act of smoking as a sign of someone that's lost control or that doesn't care about themselves. A smoker can't help but loudly announce their addiction to the world, as it can be legally had at any hour of the day, including at most workplaces, and also leaves a foul smell in its wake.

Yet, we are perfectly fine with the sight of someone entering a fast food joint, slurping down a big gulp, or having another round at the bar as if it's the socially acceptable thing to do. For some reason, tobacco no longer has the same socially acceptable protections as these other activities.

Some would see this as a sign of evolution, a step towards a healthier future where people are bent on annihilating themselves through one vice or another. As someone who has left my smoking addiction in the past, I am certainly content with the fact that I'm no longer dependent upon this destructive activity.

But can we stop the self-righteous double-standards?

image.png


When I see someone smoking, I don't view them with disgust or disdain. I don't guilt trip my friends into quitting or remind them of how terrible smoking is for them. I know these individuals are well-aware of the risks and I am respectful of the current stage of their addiction.

Of course, I encourage them to stop when appropriate and am always open to offering guidance and support. But, like any vice, I'm realistic in knowing what will work and what won't and don't presume my persistent nagging will be the thing that pushes them to finally stop.

Some may disagree with this strategy, but I believe a person has to have the internal desire to change, and that empowering that mindset is the most important thing I can do instead of shaming them. I may no longer smoke, but I still drink occasionally. I still eat more sweets than I would like. I'm not always perfect with every activity or exposure that may lead to my eventual downfall.

It turns out, I'm still very much a human, full of flaws and short-comings. And, regardless of your smoking habits...so are you. It's important to remember that the next time you think about looking down on someone for lighting up.


All uncredited pictures from pixabay.com or my personal account

If you received value from this post, I would gratefully appreciate your upvote


My Latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

Cool, thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71