Some thoughts on SUFFERING

in #psychology6 years ago

Hi Friends,

I was having a discussion with @wanderlass on her blog earlier today. We were talking about Abundance and the stressful nature of inhabiting the Scarcity mindset. I had referenced a post on the subject. The conversation then touched on suffering - as a factor of one's resistance to the flow of reality (ie to what is). Below are some thoughts which were generated at this stage, edited up a bit from the original. They are not absolutes, regardless of their presented form - they are merely thoughts. @wanderlass considered the possibility that these thoughts might be of assistance to some of you and suggested I formulate them into a post. It is in this spirit and with this possibilty in mind that I am acting upon her suggestion. I dedicate this post to the alleviation and transmutation of suffering; her suffering, all of our suffering (yes yours too tuff guy/gal :) - human and non-human alike!

suffering.jpg
source 1 [images] source 2

  • suffering is born of a resistance to the flow of reality (i.e. to what is; beyond and independent of, the intervention of judgement-based thought which applies labels of good, bad etc)
  • we resist reality when we manifest our Control Issues. When we resist reality we try to control it (try to alter it), and we suffer (think about times when you try to get people or situations to conform to your notion of what ought to be!). Control issues can play out at the most subtle of levels, hidden from the conscious mind! Where there is control, there is also fear - an uncovering of one can lead to the other
  • if we can accept reality by completely accepting what is (not resisting, not fighting, not trying to change it – maybe just observing it), then we can start working backwards and observing our resistance to its flow (this needs to be keenly done - mindful awareness type thing!)
  • our resistance or control issues is/are born of our early traumatic experiences and further layers are added to the core wounds as we gain in experience through life
  • life conditioning encourages us to blame (anything external - rather than take responsibility for the consequences of our actions and how we feel). By blaming, we lose the possibility of uncovering what really is going on - lost in untruths. The energy of blame can have many forms – complaining, passive aggression, snubbing, entitlement (compensation) etc, as well as many subtle levels and targets (including, perhaps most significantly, aspects of ourselves!)
  • if we are able to set aside blame (sure there may be a stage of being angry, but we need to remember that this isn't the end of it), we can turn our full attention to our real feelings and needs
  • we are the only ones (each of us individually) with the potential for a full and complete understanding of why we are the way we are (what governs us un/sub-consciously). We are the only ones who can meet our own deepest emotional and psychological needs. This starts to reveal itself when we turn a brutally honest (but soft and forgiving) gaze on ourselves, and sticking with an alertness of approach that doesn't just accept the diluted answers that the ego mind may offer. Clearly forumlated questions which enquire into the nature of how one feels about things, allowing the answers to come without reaching for them. The suppressed energies (which radiate negatively in the background of our lives) then start to untangle and release as we become aware of the blockages
  • the description sounds more complex than the doing. Each of us can do this naturally, and each of us can discover how. If scepticism (and notions of inadequacy, unworthiness etc) can be put aside for this (experimental???) enquiry, then the process itself becomes the teacher
  • going with the flow implies a lack of effort (strenuous, heavy energy). Stress is experienced as it is released (suppressed feelings have to be consciously felt to be released). Once you have been through this cycle once, you gain in experience and understanding and the process picks up power and speed. This is a brave undertaking, it can initially be unsettling, but this is where belief in self, universe and process come in - each stage is a stage (finite and temporary) and will pass
  • everything is intricately, intimately connected and any point can serve as the starting point for a serious and sincere enquiry into aspects of one's Being! Going with the flow also means (IMO) flowing with the energy of Infinite Intelligence; and this is fundamentally benign, interested only in healing and in raising consciousness and awareness. This very same flow is resisted through fear, control, blame, anger, envy etc etc, leading to alienation and suffering.

Thanks for reading

Namaste
🕉

Sort:  

Going with the flow also means (IMO) flowing with the energy of Infinite Intelligence; and this is fundamentally benign, interested only in healing and in raising consciousness and awareness. This very same flow is resisted through fear, control, blame, anger, envy etc etc, leading to alienation and suffering.

YES! Benign, the perfect word to describe it. My thoughts follow these same paths, but you are further along in internalising it.

we resist reality when we manifest our Control Issues.

There's a saying in AA that you can change anything, except for people, places and things. I'm learning how that works. Matt Johnson of The The said it nicely in Lonely Planet on the Dusk album.

If you can't change your world, change yourself...

Nice post my friend. I'm glad @wanderlass made the suggestion. It's all rather timely with where I am now, right here in the present. See what I did there?

Thanks Camuel, yes what futility to try and change the world and what frustration! Another version is be the change that you wish to see.

And umm, did you drop a tautology? ...but not a real one as 'now' and 'in the present' have different slants....that kinda thing? 😏

Power and control issues. A direct correlation to traumas during life, for myself, it dates back to early years. Anxiety is certainly associated with this, almost to a point of debilitation at times.

I try to visualize everything in terms of matter, moving around, boundless in it's possibilities, completely random in its nature, but even this thought, as true as it may seem, or even be, is not easy to adhere to.

I could fruitlessly type away and explain exactly where my tribulations with alcohol brought me over the course of the first 12 years of my adult life, but I can't see how it really matters. I was not able to cope. It's really as simple as that. If you can use your imagination, I am sure you can pretty much sum it all up.

I have taken Cognitive Processing Therapy to address my PTSD, I've taken mindfulness groups on more than one occasion, attended counseling services, and long ago gave up gambling my mental health with experimental psych meds. (Of course the doctors still try to push them on me) but I had to really face my own issues to successfully put down the drink. That was 15 months ago. I still have a load of work to do. My biggest issue today is acceptance of my powerlessness over every and all aspects of life. I am aware I can influence outcomes, but truly I know I cannot stop or change any of the possible variables that will indeed occur. Murphy's law..ever present in my mind.

Mindfulness has proven to be the most helpful to me, but putting into practice? Very hard at times. Anxiety is a really hard physiological response to control. Biochemical reactions are powerful, and we know their thought provoked. Rewiring that subconscious, no easy task. I continue to work on this, and I am very grateful to see blogs like yours. Literature that makes a difference in people's lives.

The latest book I was able to get my hands on is called "The healing power of the breath" Techniques to reduce stress and anxiety, enhance concentration, and balance emotions. It even comes with an audio CD! way cool. I go into all this with an open mind, and I cannot perceive how it could adversely affect me, considering adoption of these ideas has helped me tremendously in my journey of recovery from both substance dependency, and trauma.

I will return to read more of your blogs. Thank you for this.

Thank you @futuremind. It is not easy, and you have a plate full! However, you are here, the worst is over and you have survived. That is a major something! I have replied to you on your blog, just would like to suggest a few things for you if I may:

I also have a good friend @camuel, who has also had 'tribulations' with alcohol, he blogs and vlogs about it.

And my friend, we are not powerless, we have just given it away. We can take it back and no power in the universe can stop us, except for ourselves!

I'll see you around 🔆 🔆 🔆

Thank you for the resources @barge, I will check out this documentary tonight. I'm looking forward to it!

It's certainly not easy. I no longer crave the drink. When my anxiety is bad, I seem to crave it, but I know that is an illusion. What I am really, actually craving is anxiety relief, and the more tools I obtain to naturally relieve it, the better off I will be. Thank you for your time, and conversation my friend. I look forward to speaking with you again!

If you enjoy the doc, there are some guided meditations associated with it which should come up in the suggestions on YT. You mentioned 'mindfulness', what about meditation? It is considered to be the most (by a long distance) effective way to treat acute anxiety....also, if the mind is saying 'this isn't working', it is probably not the case that it isn't - we can just observe the games as they play out, no action required (including thought :).

Love it @barge! You're right on the money with so much here, and so much of it parallels the thesis of Viktor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning . Suffering helps us focus...it is an opportunity for us to be self-aware at level we rarely achieve in any other state of mind. So easy to talk about but much harder to do, which is why we have to educate ourselves with great posts like these. Awesome work!

Man's Search for Meaning is a 1946 book by Viktor Frankl chronicling his experiences as an Auschwitz concentration camp inmate during World War II, and describing his psychotherapeutic method, which involved identifying a purpose in life to feel positively about, and then immersively imagining that outcome. According to Frankl, the way a prisoner imagined the future affected his longevity. The book intends to answer the question "How was everyday life in a concentration camp reflected in the mind of the average prisoner?" (source: wikipedia)

Hadn't come across him before and had to look him up! To have a parallel made between his work and the expression of this post is an honour, it is impossible for me to imagine the extent and intensity of suffering (physical, emotional and psychological) he will have witnessed. Suffering does have that quality of being a teacher - a guru - and can certainly be seen as a powerful servant of conscious awakening for as you say "it is an opportunity for us to be self-aware at level we rarely achieve in any other state of mind". So if we can't get suffering (or adversity) to do it for us (or if we don't do it for ourselves by going through suffering consciously), who/what else ever could?

The wikipedia article goes on to say:

Frankl concludes from his experience that a prisoner's psychological reactions are not solely the result of the conditions of his life, but also from the freedom of choice he always has even in severe suffering

...we always have a choice, that's an EMPOWERING thought!

The manner in which you received this post and the eloquence (yes indeed :) with which you responded is really uplifting, many thanks @artibeus.

🌟 🌟 🌟

The pleasure is all mine @barge, especially in light of this awesome follow-up response. My deepest apologies that I missed this for a few days!

So glad you dug into Frankl! That last passage in particular that you included from wikipedia is perfect. Give his book a try whenever you get a chance - its short and arguably the best piece of non-fiction (or perhaps the most impactful) that you'll read.

Again great work and thanks for getting us all to pause and engage in some higher-level thinking! Looking forward to plenty more!

Congratulations you have been upvoted because you left a post in the NewbieResteem Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box.

I liked some of your reasoning and statements such as:

"Suffering is born of a resistance to the flow of reality "

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)


Lots of votes made possible due to the kindness of abh12345 and his Steemit Curation Leagues

Hi @bashadow, I am a bit confused as I did not link to this post in the NewbieResteem Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box! Thanks for your upvote and comment anyway!

Ah I see, I need to change my message a little bit, @wanderlass, left your post. I think I will re-word it to "you or a friend". I did enjoy the content, I never vote for things just because someone left a drop, I have to actually like it somewhat also. I liked it.

Thanks for clarifying....and thanks for reading and liking the content, much appreciated 🔆

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wanderlass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks @minnowsupport and thanks again to @wanderlass 🔆 🔆

Fantastic post @barge, looks like you two got into it and right down to some core stuff. This is a great primer for those looking to start discovering themselves and deserves more views so I resteemed ya.

Going with the flow also means (IMO) flowing with the energy of Infinite Intelligence

Which means being open enough to see, feel, understand it. I feel like this flow is embedded in us, just waiting to be discovered, and once we do our life flows right along with it. Like we are the cells in some organism, you don't see our cells acting out of tune with our body.. unless they're cancerous

Which means being open enough to see, feel, understand it.

....and perhaps even recognising one'sself in it? ....or even being it!? Interesting about cells and the body - I wonder to what extent they are really (rather than conceptually) separate?!!

Many thanks for the resteem, you are very generous with your words and actions @jakeybrown 👊

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

thanks @resteemable and the kind person who put it out there 🔆 🔆 🔆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.79
ETH 3156.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56