Your Reality Is NOT What You Think It Is

in #psychology6 years ago

Fellow Steemitor, I have a red pill and blue pill for you... if you take the blue pill, this post ends. You wake up on facebook and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill, you stay in Wonderland, and I show you how deep the Steemit hole goes...

reality3.jpg
Wil Stewart @wilstewart3




Hm...

You've chosen the red pill.

It's time to sit back, relax, read viligantly, and remember:

All I'm offering is the truth...




We live in a massive reality conundrum.

reality2.jpg
James Bak @vanillapines

I say this because in life…

It seems as though the world we see, feel, hear, smell and taste is the world we live in.

It seems as though the world that our friends, family, co-workers, and fellow citizens live in, is the same as our own.

It seems as though the experiences that we are having, are a direct result of what is going on outside of us.

The conundrum then, is the fact that none of these statements are absolutely true.

And in most cases…

They are far from it.


The Truth Of Your Reality

The truth is quite honestly this:

You do not live in the world.

As much as you may want to try and convince yourself that the world around you is the world you are living in… think again!

I’ll explain that by first asking you this question:

How do you interact with the outside world?

Through your five senses right?

Some might say six senses if you counted intuition.

I personally would include intuition as a sense, but if we were just focusing on the five physical senses and I asked you something like:

“What are your five physical senses doing for you?”

You might say something like:

They are taking in information from the outside world via my sensory nerve receptors and interpreting that data so that I can perceive the world.

So we are taking in information from the outside, but what happens when we interpret this information?

When we interpret this data, we begin to place our subjective impressions onto it.

Our interpretations of the outside world reflect our inner map.

map.jpg
Slava Bowman @slavab

While the world “out there” or external to us may be one way, how we interpret that data is an entirely different process!

This is where we experience the great conundrum of life.


We Live In A Matrix Of Our Mind

While it may seem that we all interpret external data in the same way, there are subtle variances that make a huge impact on our perception.

These subtle variances act as “sensory programs”, some of which dominate our perspective in a myriad of ways.

When you are learning something new, are you more visually, auditorily, kinesthetically, or digitally focused?

This right here will change your experience of the territory, the world “out there”.

By favoring one type of sensory program, you are constructing a map, or inner reality, that is based upon that specific data set.

inner.jpg
Jeremy Bishop @tentides

An auditory-dominant individual will focus primarily on information that is shaping his or her perspective of the world via what he or she hears.

At the same time, a visually-dominant person sitting in the same classroom may be taking information that has a similar context, yet the information is entirely different.

Are they both receiving similar information? Likely, and this is why we are able to come to a similar consensus about our reality.

However, these subtle shifts in focus do make a major difference in the long run.

And this can, quite often, cause us to mistakenly believe that the world we live in, is the same world as those around us live in.


Our Mind’s Filter

We just discussed the sensory programs that focus how we take in information, but what about our belief system?

Our beliefs are subconsciously operating thought programs that are rigid, autonomic, and repetitive in nature.

They look for information that matches what we THINK exists in the world.

Although our belief systems are designed to create a sense of structure and continuity so that we can operate and navigate the world, there’s a major limitation here.

The limitation exists in the fact that our belief systems are only focusing on what we believe to be true.

Things that exist outside of those belief systems, are commonly ignored or interpreted in a way that matches the thought program.

So essentially, you see and interpret what you want to see and interpret.

see.jpg
Tim Graf @timgraf99

If this is true, that means the world you see, feel, hear, smell, and taste out there (objective reality) is likely interpreted much differently in here (subjective reality).

So although it may seem like the world you experience, the objective territory, is real and true to the touch - this is hardly the case.

Have you ever lost your keys in your house?

You spend 20 minutes ravaging the place until you suddenly realize...they were on the kitchen table, right in front of you the entire time!

How did you miss them? Well, it’s quite possible that you believed they were lost and thus your mind was only allowing you to take in information that matched that perspective.

Finding your keys, at the time, were not a part of that perspective!


"We only see what we want to see; we only hear what we want to hear. Our belief system is just like a mirror that only shows us what we believe." - Don Miguel Ruiz


We Manufacture Meaning

We've just explored two facets of our perception that are already significantly altering the difference between our map (the inner reality) and the territory (the outer reality).

But there's more...

As humans, we have this special ability.

It's an ability to create meaning.

Meaning is what is necessary to clarify what is important to us and what is not.

We place meaning on everything in our lives...

Our job, relationships, home, traditions, our past... and so much more.

Everything in our life has meaning, and that meaning is totally and completely up to us to decide.

decide.jpg
John Christian Fjellestad @jchristfjell

With that being said, if you could somehow figure out a way to have the SAME EXACT experience of the outside world as someone else, you would still interpret it drastically differently.

This is simply because the experience would mean something specific for you...

That meaning is extremely unique, and only relevant to you.

Thus, as much as you could try to control the environment around you, the meaning you place on that environment paints an entirely new layer of reality.


Truth Is Relative

When we perceive the world around us, it simply is not as it appears. We can never represent an external event exactly as it appears, because our internal structure modifies it.

We are quite literally in our own little space bubbles.

It may seem like the world outside of us is what we are made out of.

The truth is… it is only what we think it is.

...and how we interpret that, is a personal responsibility.

bubble.jpg
Andrew Worley @andrewnworley

When I realized this for myself, I was at first a bit shocked by it. It’s weird to think that you’re not actually interacting with the world and that your entire reality is a figment of how you interpret it.

However, I began to realize over time that there is great power in this. Since our thoughts and emotions make up much of the lens in which we filter reality, when we learn how to change and take more precise control over that filtering process, then we can start interpreting reality on our terms.

Another extremely important thing that I realized is that because I am only interpreting my external reality in specific ways, that means I am missing out on a lot of useful data.

This means that the interpretations shared from others become highly valuable to me.

I may see the territory out there as one way, but someone standing right next to me may have an entirely different perspective.

Is one better than the other?

In my opinion: not at all.

It's just information.

I see our perception as a small piece of the pie.

The entire pie represents every perspective of the territory combined together.

We each interpret a small piece of that pie.

What seems to happen is that as humans, we run into problems because everyone is seeing a different “piece” of the pie.

reality.jpg

And thus, one person may say “this is the absolute truth.”

They may be right in that it’s truth… but is it the only truth?

Absolutely not!

This is why I always seek out numerous perspectives when I’m trying to understand the truth of a situation or of an external reality.

With so many different slices of life, you have to acquire as much pie as you can to even begin to have a useful perspective.

I am lucky in that I really do love pie. ;-)


The Map Is Not The Territory

I believe that if more people understood how perception actually works, we’d probably be able to get along a lot better.

Maybe there’d be more compassion in the world as we realize that everyone has a unique and useful perspective to share.

Maybe we’d appreciate the value of listening more as we realize the value in acquiring a greater perspective.

Maybe we’d question our own beliefs more, as we realize that we are limited by our mind’s filter and perpetual choices.

In the end, what is going on within you (the map) is not the the world around you (the territory).

map2.jpg
Dawid Zawiła @davealmine

Remembering this provides you with the power to change at any moment.

When you are in control of interpreting the reality around you, you also get the opportunity to choose the best information to work with.

With so much information available to you, will you choose the most empowering perspectives?

The choice is yours...


When you think about your perception, do you feel detached and/or separate from the world around you? Or do you feel like what you experience within you is accurate, compared to what is going on around you?



Did you enjoy this post? Was it worth an upvote? I really care about the content I create and upvotes help to let me know that you find it valuable. Give it an upvote to let me know!



Ignite-Your-Soul.png

Follow my blog to get more content like this!


feature2.png


This Perceptual Strategy Will Change Your Life In An Instant: Transform Your Life NOW: How To Initiate The Meta-Verse

How To Get What You Want In Life: Do The Little Things In Life Really Matter?

Need some inspiration to make a big change? Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid

Interested in the power of perception? How To Use the Google Search Engine Of Your Mind To Find What You Want Most In Life

Exploring your sexuality? True Life: I'm 29 And I Still Haven't Quite Figured Out My Sexuality

Did life just happen to you? Will You Open Your Gifts In Strange Wrapping Paper?

Ready to make a big change in your life? You Must DIE to FLY

Sort:  

exciting and very relevant read. Welcome to the awakening into the holographic matrix

#nkkb
#teammalaysia Member at Steemit.
#mentormemtee with #zublizainordin and #nkkb
@OriginalWorks #originalworks
https://steemit.com/@originalworks
@t3ran13
Thanking @fisheggs
#fisheggs
https://steemit.com/@fisheggs

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @axios to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @axios to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you @nkkb. Good to be here ;-)

Thank you @nkkb! Cheers friend!

cheers friend

Yes indeed:
"The map is not the territory."
Neuro-linguistic programming is a compelling tool, and as a certified practitioner, I enthusiastically endorse everyone to learn more about it.
Well done @axios, I love your blog! 🤗

@scan0017 what a pleasure to run into another practitioner on here! I've been into NLP for most of my life...lately I have been leaning more towards Michael Hall's Neuro-Semantic models though. If you haven't checked him out yet, you'd likely really enjoy his work.

Thanks for stopping by and reading. Really glad we crossed paths on here. Cheers!

OK I am with you 100%.After examining my beliefs I realized I no longer believed I lived on a magical ball spinning 1000 mph at the equater with water sticking to it with this miracle of on which it rests onat the BASE the GENERAL THEORY of relativity a concept lol, I believeI am on a Flat Earth, I learned that in February and have since found EVERYTHING I knew was a LIE. I look forward to following and I am SURE learning from your journey of awakening.

Perspective is very relative to flat earth, only in LITERAL terms which is funny because the TRUTH is OFTEN HIDDEN in PLAIN SIGHT as russianvids used to love to say. I will leave you with this to ponder, we were told that a ships sails disappear from the bottom down proving curvature, there are TONS of videos show EXACTLY THAT happening, and then, they grab a telescope or ZOOM and GUESS what, the ship is right back in VIEW! The reason you cannot see forever is because of water in our atmosphere, over a long distance it obscures EVERYTHING like it is hrd to see a long way underwater, same concept, PEACE!!!!!!

regarding this Al l being "NOT" solid or real I get that, my brother is all about that, at the same time if you jump in front of a train things could get UGLY you know? The earth being flat is some we knew as kids until they brainwashed us to think we live on a spinng ball that is, I remember being puzzled by theat initially ayt some level....

Hey brudda I hear you there. I've looked into the flat earth concept and have friends who are die hard into it. For me, it's a belief, and as long as you remain planted on planet earth it will be as true as you believe it is. When I have the opportunity to ride my first rocket ship (which is not a far-fetched idea in our time) then I will know for sure as I see the full scale of Earth for myself. It's very possible that the earth is round, its also very possible that it's not. I like to say "I don't know" a lot because it keeps me in a state of possibility ;-) I think the overlying concept that flat earthers convey to me is: everything you were told is not necessarily the truth and should be questioned and researched. I can fully support THAT concept. Thank you for sharing your truth brother - cheers!

THANKS! I LOVE this place. How about hollow towers for 9/11 and september clues simon shack? I looked into that and being a loose change type guy on what happened, when I watched those guys evidence the entire story of 9/11 for me changed to it was a HOAX from the day it was built it was a scam (i came to believe before finding out about 9/11 hoax, that sandy hook, las vegas shooting and boston bombing were hoaxes, so I went back with my new knowledge of hoaxes and applied the hoax logic . The ineffiency of getting 50k people into a building (with only 24 eleveator banks and 3 levels of local elevator stops) in a short time period of an hour or so for the majority is, as usual, hard to believe. If you have time and are interested I would like to hear your thougts. I know 2 people personaly who had a DIRECT relative or friend"die" and 1 is my Dad's friend so their needed to be alot of evidence for me to be able to say what I am saying knowing what I know. Check it out, I made a short video on my youtube channel zoomtruth too, but september clues and aaron dover were originals I think.

This reminds me of a theory in Communication studies where in an exchange, the input of information is being filtered through our own back pack of experiences. This works as a filter that weaves its way through every communication an individual has and ultimately shapes the personal perception of the interaction for you. Thanks for the food for thought. I really dig your posts.

Yes exactly. Same type of learning/communication/perceiving model being presented here. Thanks for reading and the kind words @puravidaville!

you be as cheesy & sarcastic as you want to be - I think your blog is FANTASTIC! very very nice work :)

@inksanity Hahaha well thank you for embracing my sometimes-cheesy nature ;-) I really appreciate the kind words!

Fantastic post. Logical, interesting, and extremely relevant. I think that there are some "Proofs" for your assertions. If we all did perceive reality the same way... and if truth were the same for all participants... why do we have different favorite colors? Different favorite foods, or musical/literary genres. If we experienced the world identically, then there should be a color or taste or texture or sound that was simply superior to others. The fact that in such simple things, there is such diversity proves that while the same stimulus may be experienced by multiple people, what they take in and how they process it can lead to a different response. I agree that if we put down our self-righteousness and accepted on the front end that other people may approach situations or conversations with different interpretations, that we could exchange more pie and come out with different outcomes. Maybe we don't like their pie... that's ok, at least we understand what they consider "pie." It is actually a wonderful thing that we are diverse on this foundational level of comprehension. If we all had the same opinion of what is beautiful in others, that would be tragic for those who didn't carry those traits. But because we all perceive a bit or maybe a lot differently, we can all find enjoyment. It's just sad that we've chosen to dislike or hate those things that are "different" to us rather than to simply redefine in our thoughts what we like.

@drwillwho I really enjoyed reading your comment here. That's a really great point with the fact that we all have different preferences. Did not quite think about it in that specific way!

Here's my prediction for the future: we as humans will value thought / lifestyle diversity as much as nature values genetic diversity.

Amazing post! This perspective towards life reveals such a great potential for each one of us. It should be posted on our fridge door to remind us of the power of our individual perception every day so that we can slowly break free of our limiting thinking habits, one thought at a time.

@rawadventuress ah thank you so much for the kind words. But yes, these concepts should be posted all over the place. On the fridge, the toilet, the dog, the girlfriend - everywhere it would be useful :P

Thanks for stopping by! I'm about to go check out your channel, you seem to have a lot of cool things going on over there ;-)

I love this post @axios - Great work!

Thank you so much @t8scones!

So much YES to this! :)

Glad I followed you man, this is right up my alley, reminds me of non-dual teachings. I actively notice my perception and have been trying to remove any limiting beliefs that keep me from perceiving what is true. It's easy to get caught up in our heads!

@jakeybrown so glad to have you here man. Non-dual teachings have absolutely influenced my writing in a lot of ways. In the end it is really about being more vigilant about your relationship to things in your life. It all comes down to thoughts and identity. The simpler you make it for yourself, the easier it is!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61367.99
ETH 2929.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67