Think Positive! :)

in #psychology7 years ago

positive-thinking-b.jpg

The last year was a very challenging year for me. The funny thing is I've grown the most during this time! And that's something I'd like to "talk" about today; it's all about how we look at the world that defines us. Our life is a reflection of our attitude and when not paying attention it can easily turn into this dark and scary place, but luckily the opposite is true as well!

These are some of the things that helped me through some dark days:

Looking at the glass half full instead of half empty can be quite challenging at times but even just trying to do so helps us gain perspective. It'd like to think there's always a lesson to be learned, and it's your attitude towards it that'll rather make it sooner than later.

What helped me see things from a broader perspective as well is meditation. I used to think it was something only hippies did, but then I ran into scientific research and it talked about the wide range of benefits, going from better stress management, to having a better immune system and being able to focus better (and even sleep better!). Even just focusing on your breath for for 30 seconds, and being fully present several times a day can help quite some! I build up from 2 meditation sessions a day of an app called Buddhify (of about 10 min each) to a daily practice of 30 - 60min, depending on my mental state.

Another thing is to focus on your circle of influence instead of your circle of concern. Focusing on things you can't change, will only put you down and drain your energy. Focus on taking responsibility for the things you can change and take action in these areas.

The same goes for people. Focus your energy on the ones that also care about you and not only approach you when they need something. I had a friend I had to let go. She was one of those people who would only take. She was a very selfish person with no integrity whatsoever. There was zero loyalty and trust. Funnily these are the things I look for in a friendship lol! It's the first person in my life I actually really gave up on, and honestly I became a happier person ever since. I met new amazing and caring people and now I have more time to spend with them. It's also quite the relieve to not have to be worried on what toxic behavior would surface every time there are interactions!

A very challenging one was, thinking in solutions instead of thinking in problems! I always had the tendency to try and be prepared for all the things that could go wrong. It somehow gave me a false feeling of control and safety. Nothing is less true though, as always being worried about everything that can go wrong will prevent you from joy in your life, as it puts you in a very negative mindset.

Regularly reflecting on all the good things you do have in your life can also help a lot! We tend to focus on the things that don't meet our expectations but what about all these amazing things we have day in day out! The wonderful people in our environment, the tasty food, the ability to use high quality water whenever we want without having to walk for hours,....

Either way these are some things that have helped me a lot the last year and I hope it helps you a little bit as well! Let me know if there are other things that have impacted your life a lot or which one(s) of these helped you! <3


Here are some other posts you might like!

1)How to stop taking things personally: https://steemit.com/psychology/@athenajade/stop-taking-things-personally
2)On asking favors: https://steemit.com/steemit/@athenajade/let-s-spread-that-steemit-love
3)How I got off my couch and started to run: https://steemit.com/health/@athenajade/couch-to-5k
4)On how language influences us: https://steemit.com/psychology/@athenajade/do-we-speak-the-same-language
5)On absolute truths: https://steemit.com/psychology/@athenajade/debate-1-is-there-such-a-thing-as-an-absolute-universal-truth
6)On the limitations our conditioning puts upon us: https://steemit.com/life/@athenajade/this-inner-cage-called-conditioning
7)On growing our own potential: https://steemit.com/life/@athenajade/whatever-you-are-doing-you-are-getting-better-at-it
8)Relax! https://steemit.com/psychology/@athenajade/don-t-forget-to-relax-my-dear-steemians

Banner Steemit.jpg

Sort:  

omg, you are alive :D

Most people still don't realise what a huge positive effect it has on our lives, if we just try to think positive most of the time.
If it's not death, loss or bankruptcy, most things in life can be seen through the positive lense.

True! Positive thinking is equal to positive results...

Congratulations @athenajade! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I was wondering where you went.

Anyways what you said is hard to accept for me, because I was away from steemit for about 3 months and came back to find that I’m working and not even making a dollar on my posts. I feel like my hard work isn’t being rewarded enough and therefore feel like It’s hard to positive when I’m stuck in a negative situation.

I love that you mentioned meditation, quieting the mind is a wonderful thing, and once we become aware of our thoughts its easy to identify them as just that - thoughts!

I was introduced months back to the law of attraction and been having great fun playing with that. Its amazing what positive vibes you can get from just stopping, looking around, and being truly grateful and appreciative for what is in front of you.

I will always remember 2 quotes in particular regarding positive thinking. The first from my yoga teacher:

"Everything is temporary, nothing is permanent."

and another from Esther (Abraham) Hicks:

"Whatever event is taking place, always remember you are just taking the path of least resistance to what you desire."

And as a brucey bonus, heres something my ex told me.

"You are literally made from the same stuff as the stars."

Dont ever forget how special you are legends! Thanks for the writeup @athenajade and have a beautiful week :)

Congratulations @athenajade! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @athenajade! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55