You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My recommendation for overcoming depression or anxiety

in #psychology7 years ago

I never suffered from depression or anxiety before, but I've had led a miserable life because of my anger issues.

I only started healing properly when I started seeking professional help. Psychotherapy is a long-term commitment, and should you put in the effort to get help, it will pay off.

I am not trying to shit on your post here @jesusbatallar, but I personally would like to encourage anyone suffering from any form of mental illness to get professional help.

The internet has made it too easy for us to feel like we're being helped today.

That's too easy. The most pressing issues in your life can never be solved easily. I spent a lot of time reading blog posts and listening to life coaches, but they only ever provided a temporary reprieve.

If you want to heal properly, don't take the easy way out. Go for hard. You'd know you're starting to heal properly when things start to get a little uncomfortable.

Good post anyway @jesusbatallar. You're helping people among the noise the internet has given.

Sort:  

Indeed, I have suffered from panic-attacks, anxiety, it led to depression. I have taken medication for it, AND psychotherapy. This is what we should tell all people suffering from these issues. If you can't handle it, get professional help. And don't buy into the guru-shit, I do not mean this post by that to be clear! Psychotherapy by a trained professional is the best thing that happened to me, because I wouldn't get out of it by myself.

Me too brother. No more guru-shit pleaseeeeee

As someone who suffered from depression I can approve and say, psychotherapy is useful. It helps building a new mindset, making new perspectives obvious to you and in the end overcoming what has been holding you back.
It's not like it's done on its own, though. You need to commit and open up.

Of course. It has to be long term and you must be willing to give it a shot, even when it feels tough.

@aldenrtan thanks for your comment! I'm totally agree with you, the better option to heal a depression, or any psychological issue is with professional help, that's the reason why I end with the point of take care and seek psychotherapy , but to take that step maybe we should start by reading other's experiences.

Regards !

Yep! You're doing good work .Thanks for helping ease the pain of mental illness for others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71