Psychology Addict # 23 | Existential Psychotherapy – When Psychology & Philosophy get together.

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Existentical-Psychology-Featured-header.png

The core precept of existential psychotherapy rests on its belief in the uniqueness of existence. It, therefore, discards psychiatric diagnosis or psychopathology as much as it rejects theoretical frameworks. This is a relatively technique-free therapeutic approach, which seeks to understand each client’s particular perception of the world and unique ways of experiencing it. Here, whatever distress the individual presents during therapy it is regarded as an issue of living rather than a mental disorder per se. Moreover, the individual is seen as the main authority when it comes to his/her views and feelings, with which the therapist engages without preconceptions.

This aspect of Existential Psychotherapy resembles the person-centered approach of Humanistic Psychology, where the psychologist/counsellor is required to deal with the client’s reality with empathic understanding. In fact, the existential method is sometimes placed under the humanistic umbrella, but not all agree with this. For, whilst humanistic ideas are based on eastern philosophies, existential thinkers have drawn the fundamental tenets of existential concepts from the phenomenological method and existential philosophy.

The Phenomenological Method


Despite the complexity of the philosophy underlying phenomenology the method’s central purpose is uncomplicated, which is that one should see things as they appear. The philosopher Edmund Husserl proposed a number of processes (epoché) through which this can be achieved. While its main idea may be simple, trying to put them in practice is not that straight-forward as humans seem to be inherently judgemental.

So, try to reflect on this & step into the therapist’s shoes.

Imagine the following: You are having a talk with someone (let’s call him Danny) who is afflicted by anxious feelings.

Try to suspend all judgment and preconceptions you have (bracketing) when trying to understand Danny’s world. This implies isolating (bracketing) Danny’s experience of the world from all your concepts and beliefs in order to see the world from his lens. For example, Danny comes to you and tells you he is feeling anxious; for you, this might mean a sense of agitation, nervousness; but for Danny it may well be a sensation of panic, freezing. So, how to come to understand Danny? Description would be the following ‘step’, where rather than trying to explain the cause of Danny’s anxious feelings you stay with his experience without simplifying it or looking for the roots of it. Next comes horizontalization the process through which no one issue is placed on a higher of lower position of importance. So, when Danny discusses his family problems you will not regard them as a more important problem than, let’s say his financial struggles. To finalize, it is always important to seek for verification. Here you will ask Danny direct questions as to obtain reassurance of the matter being addressed in the conversation (his anxiety). Last thing you want to happen here is for you and Danny end up talking about completely different things.

Have you ever unawarely applied this approach with a friend, partner or family member? Take a moment to think about it. How did you do?

In case you think you did not do that great there is an important point to be highlighted here for the next time you find yourself in such an instance. Rather than trying to get Danny to explain his experience get him to describe it. The phenomenological method focus on the what and how, instead of the why.

Existential Philosophy


This is because the method described previously draws its depth from the ideas of existential philosophy, which explores the human condition and examines ideas of how life can become a better experience in the face of unavoidable difficulties and, indeed, in the face of death. In more practical terms this concept has to do with how one has come to terms with their reality. Are they avoiding it? Or, facing it?

Nietzsche’s notion of amor fati (to love one’s destiny/fate) is fundamental during the work with a client here. And this is when the therapist’s focus is directed at the client’s present (rather than the past) and the current available ways he/she has to rewrite their experience in life; so then, he/she accepts their experience and consequently gain more control over their future.

Through understanding some of the key ideas of existence that this philosophy puts forward, one might be able to identify gaps, questions and meanings. It is important to keep in mind though, that this is not a fixed rule and at different points in life some of these dimensions of existence are more relevant than others.

Have a look at them, do you agree with this existential philosophical outlook on life?

  • Existence as unique – every human being is a singular being; there are no universalities or commonalites when it comes to essences of people.
  • Existence as verb-like – humans are active beings always creating and changing their world.
  • Existence as free to chose – we are not predetermined by our past or personality.
  • Existence as in relation with the world and others – ‘no man is an island’
  • Existence as embodied – we experience the world through our bodies; for, we are our bodies.
  • Existence as anxious – a consequence of our fundamental freedom.

Have you ever in some way rewritten your life experience?

Psychology-3.png

Anxiety – The burden of freedom


While anxiety is seen by many fields within the mental health world as a disorder, in existential psychotherapy it is rather seen as an unavoidable aspect of existence. An aspect that can either overwhelm us, or energize us.

Sore Kierkegaard suggested that anxiety is the very price humans pay for freedom, something which he sees to be fundamental to human life. He rejected the notion that anxiety stems from people’s individual development or, even, personality. Further explaining that anxiety in humans first, result from the experience of a world we did not necessarily choose; second, from the constant need to make (or not make) choices and, finally, from the understanding that life is ultimately moving towards an end.

Of course, for those to whom anxiety is overwhelming, the therapist explores the aspects of their lives which are revealed through anxious feelings. Subsequently encouraging them to dissect their experience in this world in order to face their fears with courage, instead of deny and reject them. The therapist here sees that, when someone opens up about their anxiety they are revealing what is valuable for them, in other words, the things they believe to be important. Also, there should be no hurry in trying to rid the person of anxious feelings, as within this framework this is not a disorder that needs to be cured, but a chance for self-evaluation and change.

Criticism

The critics of the existential approach point to the apparently limited empirical evidence existent in the field. However, this is changing as more and more psychologists are ‘beginning to engage in outcome and process research’. There is already documented evidence supporting this approach and developments in the field (terror management theory) that successfully applied the core concepts of existential psychology/philosophy in the understanding of human behaviour.

Summary

  1. Existential psychotherapy rejects psychiatric diagnosis and psychopathology as its fundamental tenet rests on the belief of the uniqueness of existence.
  2. Therapists engage phenomenologically with their clients while drawing on the ideas of existential philosophy, in a nearly technique-free, conversational method.
  3. Nietzsche’s notion of amor fati (to love one’s destiny/fate) augments the phenomenological method, as they support the interpretation of personal meaning.
  4. Anxiety can either be overwhelming or a driving force to humans. It is further seen as an inevitable aspect of human life as it is the price humans pay for their fundamental freedom.

Reference List:

Barker, M. Vossler, A. Langdridge, D. (2010) Understandying Couselling and Psychotherapy, London, Sage.

Spinelli, E. (2007). Practicing Existencial Psychotherapy: The relational world. London, Sage.

Image source 1, 2, 3, 4

[Original Content by Abigail Dantes 2017]


Dear followers, I am unusually posting my Psychology Addict series this Friday due to the holiday period, which I will be celebrating mostly in my offline world. Thank you, as always, for taking the time to read my writing and engaging with my work. It truly is the best Christmas gift you can give me! All the best & Merry Christmas to you and all your loved ones!😊

SteemSTEM Logo.gif

I would like to send a special Happy Christmas message to the steemSTEM community, to those amazing curators, project founder and co-founder, who work so hard and have my full respect and gratitude!

Merry-Christmas-.jpg

Sort:  

whatever distress the individual presents during therapy it is regarded as an issue of living rather than a mental disorder per se

Nice! Blame the sin, not the sinner, so to speak.

While its main idea may be simple, trying to put them in practice is not that straight-forward as humans seem to be inherently judgemental.

Quite so. Every conscious thing is of necessity judgemental, because every conscious thing of necessity has values, so it will look at things necessarily through the perspective of these values. A therapist might try, and partly succeed, in being non-judgemental, but I don't they can ever truly deeply succeed. I think that's more a job for, say, one's partner: after many years knowing us, they should become experts on us!

every human being is a singular being

As unique as a grain of sand. In other words, strictly, but irrelevantly, unique! Meaning: grains of sand are more similar than they are different. I think uniqueness, like most things in life, must be worked hard at. It's not something gained by default. To paraphrase George Orwell's Animal Farm, "all animals are unique, but some animals are more unique than others"! Nietzsche saw amor fati as a thing attained only after much struggle. You basically have to be a genius to do that; only very rare people can do it (according to him). And in my interpretation it has to do with being a Creator, being able to use negative things to your advantage, like David Bowie used his odd-colored eye that he got in a fight at school when someone supposedly stubbed him in his eye. He used it as a trademark of his appearance and his art and became known for it and was imitated later by Marilyn Manson with his oddly-matched contacts. It's a display of extraordinary will ("will to power"), basically, to use the negative to one's advantage.

Anyway, nice write-up, glad to learn a few things about existential psychology, I don't think I was aware of this beforehand (unless something escapes my memory).

Hi @abigail-dantes, I have to agree with the notion that to help someone being able to focus on the "facts" without the "story" is the way to go. I know for me, that's the way I roll! At least now I do. I tried it the other way and found that the story was usually full of anxiety-filled drama whereby just the plain facts presented me with options and solutions.

You have put this very well @karecarrens! It is hard to detach oneself from past stories and the attempt to look for reasons, though. But, yes, I could not have put this better:

that the story was usually full of anxiety-filled drama whereby just the plain facts presented me with options and solutions.

To the best of my knowledge, this is the first time I've read someone formally 'blend' psychology and philosophy.

The end result is a much more holistic view and understanding on how it all works.

Psychologically we tend to get 'stuck' in life due to having an overly physical and materialistic view on life.

That's where our anxiety derives and drives itself from.

Not understanding the basic fact that we are a spiritual being trapped in a human physical form.

Your essay offers a valuable bridge both in understanding and overstanding of psychology as a science (which you kindly wrote about in the other essay you wrote).

I've personally been practising this blend of psychology and philosophy in everything I do both on myself and with clients for last year or so.

The results are basically miraculous!

People I work with have so much better overall comprehension of how everything works and how they can self heal going forward.

They are also very able to reconcile their past and reframe their narrative to be able to lead a much more fulfilling life going forward.

Thank you so much for writing this.

This is my first visit at a post of yours. I read your article and was amazed to discover new (to me) ideas on how to help people deal witht their lives. As I read, I would find myself asking you questions, but when I finished reading, I realised that many others might have had the same thoughts as me, but are better qualified to ask them in a meaningful (and intelligent) manner. So, I have read to the bottom of this long page.

I have very little knowledge of psychiatry and psychology. Sometimes I even admit to myself that I don't really know what they are. As for philosophy? I suck at it, for my mind does not work in a well-ordered manner; it jumps about like I've got a tiny frog inside my head. I do have more of an interest in the philosophy of Ethics.

If you don't mind an entirely ignoramous amateur trying to spell out his thoughts in a somewhat disorganised manner, then, read on; else, just ask me to delete and I will do so.

A small self-description is important for me to explain my reasons for viewing the world as I do, or else it will sound like nonsense.

I spent a sickly childhood as an introvert and not very aware of the world around me, preferring the imaginative worlds in books. There is always another 'me' watching me, laughing at me or cringing when I make a fool of myself. The only way I could get the better of it was by developing a rather weird sense of humour.

To break out, I tried painting, then writing poetry and, finally, about 18 years ago, I discovered the best way of all. I started writing a story. In many ways the story reflects who I am. It is a soft story, bad people are not always bad, but when they are, there is no middle ground, they must be dealt with. The story is character driven and they all revolve (and evolve) around a special girl, a mutant, who has the gift of empathy.

I had preconceptions of what empathy is like. She taught me that I had not thought it through, that being empathic can force us to become hard at times (is one example).

To try and keep this short (if it is not already too late): It was stated that we are not governed by the past. I saw an argument against it. I think one important aspect was not mentioned - how we react in a given situation, which should be dictated by the past, depends on how we interpreted the past event. I believe that not only would intepretation be different according to temperament, plus other even older or newer experiences, but, that were we able to create a hundred alternates of the subject and place them in the exact same situation, there would be differences in how the past influences their present actions, especially if there are even tenths of a second differences in the timing of the event.

Actually, not only because of differences in interpretation, but also, what other thoughts have been thought since then; for instance, perhaps one of the alternates had an ah-ha moment, changing the way they perceive their past, or the meaning of that experience.

I have taken enough of your time, so I'll let go the rest of my thoughts. I hope some of what I have said does make sense.

First of all, you had me following your blog as I finished reading the paragraph about your story :) it sounds like something which will trully fascinate me. Sencond, I would never ask you to delete such an honest comment. Finally, while you state that you have a limited understanding of psychology, the argument you raised about the deterministic role our pasts play in defining who we are is indeed from a cognitive-behavioural point of view. The cognitive theory of emotion suggests that it is not the situation itself that gives rise to a particular emotion, but the meaning attached to it and the meaning here is an interplay amongst a) the individual’s history, b) the individual’s context and c) the individual’s mood state. Basically a summary of what you reflected :).
Regarding existential psychotherapy and phylosophy, I have noticed that, by far, the perception of how our past does not defines us is the most sensitive one. Still, the way I see it is that however much our pasts define the person who we are now, it does not have to dictate the person we can become.
@arthur.grapho, thank you so much for taking the time to read the post, the comments and take part in this discussion! Merry Christmas to you.

It's a helpful idea to look at anxiety as potentially energizing. I tend not to look at it that way. ha ha But it many ways, I would suppose we need a kick in the butt from some cortisol or other anxiety chemicals to make sure our list gets done. I'm wondering, though, if the pathway is thoughts->chemicals->anxiety or thoughts->anxiety->chemicals. The meeting of philosophy with psychology, though, interests me because I believe that philosophy and thinking can ultimately change a person's psychological leanings and pathologies. I've seen that happen in my own life! (Don't you love the day after Christmas? It should be national reading day or something... such a relaxed day!)

The meeting of philosophy with psychology, though, interests me because I believe that philosophy and thinking can ultimately change a person's psychological leanings and pathologies.
You're good @geke! This is precisely what the brain/mind model proposes; as it points out (with enoughtevidence to support it) that thought processes correspond to processes in the brain and vice-versa. As for the neuropathways, in a very (VERY) simplified way it goes as you suggested first: thoughts-chemicals-anxiety. In a brain process that activates the sympathetic branch of the autonomic nervous system.

Ahahahahah Enjoy the rest of your 'day after Christmas' - this is a great title for a short story! :D
All the best to you @geke. :*

Yet another thought-provoking, well written topic. When I spent time at Laurel Ridge (psychiatric institute), I was in a wing that dealt specifically with military veterans, yet none of the therapists were themselves combat veterans, and only one was an actual military veteran. More than anything, I felt bad for the therapists, for they had the most daunting task of all. And therein lies the problem. It's not that I needed the therapist to be a veteran or have experienced combat, (though, more empathy could have been achieved), but rather, when we think of mental health now, I think it suffers the same problem healthcare faces. An overburdened system. How can anyone expect a therapist to truly empathize with anyone when they have an enormous case load, already thinking of the fifty patients they have to see that day. I think modern mental health care is so sanitized, that the basic human connection is lost, much like the doctor that comes whisking into a waiting room, punches notes into the computer, asks a few generic questions, shrugs off the questions asked, spends their average 8-minutes with you, then rushes off to the next patient. This modern day culture is struggling with mental health, and I don't think current mainstream practices are equipped to handle it, (of course that's just my own opinion, based on my experiences), just in sheer volume alone. It's too rigid in its approach to mental health. The system seeks to identify, categorize, isolate, fitting everything into neat little check-marked boxes and handy little questionnaires. The brain, and therefore, mental health, is far more complicated than that. I could be way off base here, apologies if I am. Either way, great work! I enjoyed this.

Your input is incredible @therightsideofup. I will certainly read these words over and over again as they delicately touch on so many relevant topics : the relatioship between therapist and patient, the categorizarion of mental disorders and empathy. I really appreciate your insight. You are allowed to be off base here :) I can see I can learn a lot from you. Also, thank you again for more encouraging words about my writings !! All the best to you.

This psychotherapy has always seemed to me a great tool, at present in my country we are going through an economic depression and have effectively increased suicide rates, learned hopelessness and psychological death as a result, it would be great that my population had services of mental health optimos. regards

Thank you for commenting @maryness.

Another great take on one of the most interesting psychological perspective! @abigail-dantes keep on writing :) And Happy Christimas for you and your family!

For you too @saunter! Thank you very much for taking the time to stop by :)
I wil be taking a break from Steemit over the next few days!
All the best 🌷

Had to read this twice.. still not sure I understand it all correctly. There are two things you mention, that particularly made me think: ..we are not predetermined by our past or personality.. not sure if I can agree to that.

I think our choices are very much determined by those things. Wouldn't this freedom of choice mean then, that i.e. past experiences have no effect? And just judging by the people I have lived with, I am convinced, that their personalities very much influences their choices and decisions.

The other thing is the relationship between freedom and anxiety... for me personally it feels reciprocally proportional, meaning less freedom equals more anxiety and vice versa.

Of course there is also a possibility that I got it all wrong.

Ow @reinhard-schimd, thank you very much for taking the time to read my post 🌷

So, let’s address your most thoughtful comment! There is a branch of psychology (behaviourism) that is deterministic and argues that our past defines us not only now, but also in the future. Meanwhile, existential psychotherapy (what we are discussing here) argues that we do have the capability to step away from this predetermined ‘path’. Also, please note that here, contraryly to psychoanalysis, there is no looking back. This is much more about the now and the next! Therefore, because humans are seen as ‘verb-like’ - always undergoing transformation- our personalities are not seen as fixed and therefore, not what defines who we are as a whole.

Your reflection about the relationship between anxiety and freedom is thought-provoking. Again, freedom, according to Kierkegaard is inherently within us; even if one does not feel free one is free because one is human. He says that even not making choices is a choice; so, perhaps this is what prompts anxiety in your case. Not feeling free, limits your choices, which is one of the three main causes of anxiety and fear according to this approach: 1 - living in a world we did not choose, 2 - the constant need to make (or not) choices, and 3 - the realisation one is moving towards an end (death).

This is not about getting it right or wrong :D it is mainly about the perspective one has of life and existence. And this is how existential psychology and philosophy understands it and presents it.

All the best to you 😊

Thank YOU for taking the time for your detailed answer!

The approach of existential psychotherapy is new to me, so it looks like first I need to learn more about it. My first wife (long long time ago) was (is) a psychiatrist and so I might still be stuck in some old thinking patterns from that time...

Which immediately brings me back to the issue of how personality determines things. She loved to argue (since she was super intelligent and usually won). I'm very much the opposite and hate arguments. Hehe.. typical Libra. For whatever its worth in this context ;-)

So, as much as a human being may be free per se, I don't think we really are as a member of a society or in relationship to others. In fact, her level of freedom was higher in my opinion, as she wasn't shy of conflict resulting of her choices.

I understand, that we have *the capability to step away from this predetermined ‘path’. *. I just wonder if we are able to walk a new one, based on choices that have nothing to do with things we have experienced up that point. Some people for instance are more daring than others... I don't know if we have these things in our genes or if its determined by the environment we grow up and live in. I could see a 50/50... So, they'd make different choices than someone who is timid and careful. Somehow I don't understand, how who we have become at a certain point in our life, cannot have an influence on how we proceed..?

Keep thinking of the three main causes of anxiety... guess my reasons would be slightly different. Plus I'm happy, that I generally don't have much of an anxiety "problem". Of course, particularly later in life, one becomes aware of ones finiteness. So far it does not scare me and there were even times, when I thought it would be ok for it all to be over..

Hm.. 1 - living in a world we did not choose.. chewing on that one. I feel very privileged that I could make a living as a self employed artist for 30 years. I am grateful, that I live in a safe and prosperous part of the world and that I have a wonderful relationship. So, within my options, I got it pretty good and in a way, where I am now is a result of past choices. Would the fact, that certain choices were not even available, like having a mansion at lake Como mean then, that I live in a world I did not choose?

Oh well, I better choose to get some work done ;-)

Have a wonderful Christmas weekend!

So, as much as a human being may be free per se, I don't think we really are as a member of a society or in relationship to others ...
You could not have experessed this more clearly! Absolutely, and this is what psychoanalisys suggests, further elaborating the existential phylosophical proposal. Because we now live in a civilized world, which imposes rules that go against our instincts we all have become intrinsically ill. You see, while we are naturally free, we live in a world that sets several kinds of boundaries.

I do believe that personality traits are a result of both the environment and genetic factors. In certain cases I believe the environment plays a much more ifluential role (I could dig out some studies to back this up :)).

As for your final point, the way I see it, it is the following: in the big picture (according to this approach) one has not chosen this world; still, the more one feels one lives through their own decisions (the excercise of freddom) the less anxious and sad one becomes. In fact, this is something largely explored in research conducted on anxiety and mood disorders. One of the commom aspects in the lives of those afflicted by such kinds of distress is precisely what psychologists call entrapment - the very feeling of lack of choices, or control over one’s life!

@reinhard-schmid, thank you so much for your incredibly insightful comment. I trully appreciate you taking the time to read, write and debate this topic. All the very best to you.

Again thank you for taking the time to deal with my comment... not so sure its insightful. Rather my longing to understand, which has always been a driving force.

Spent the evening with my parents yesterday and when I woke up this morning, I thought about them in admiration and how they have made some really good choices in their lives. I had these thoughts independent of our discussion here, but now they come back again... ok, I guess that's a different story, but it really got me thinking.

Interesting, what you say about entrapment. Found myself in such an unhappy situation for many years, long ago. Although I ended up there "by choice" (or was it through manipulation?), it turned out to be a dead end street... thank god I found the strength eventually to turn my life around. Or maybe I just got lucky... sometimes I really think a higher force had mercy and gave me a helping had.

Wonder what psychologists suggest to get out of the entrapment. Or if there even is a general way to approach that...

Dear @reinhard-schmid, how great to hear you have managed to overcome the time in your life when you felt 'entrapped', which inevitably prompts my interest in how you managed to do it. You see, some people never do and succumb to major depression and turn to medication. But, as for your question. Yes, in psychology, cognitive-behavioural therapy has successfully treated individuals in not only a state of entrapment, but also of co-morbid disorders (such as depression and anxiety). The empirical evidence for such outcome is aplenty. Maybe this should be a topic for a future post! :)
Best.

Hahaha... not so sure, I want to tell too much about myself here in the broad public ;-)

To satisfy just a bit of your curiosity, I'll make a very long story very short: in the end, I think it was the first conscious and well reasoned decision I ever made. In my early 40s there was a lot of junk piled up and I thought by myself... chances are, that I'll live another 40 years. And I simply didn't want to spend them like that. Was hard though...

Not sure, I understand much of cognitive-behavioural therapy, so maybe that would make a good post indeed!

I wil most definetly come back to this incredible response after the holidays (trying to stay away from the computer a bit for). You have discussed many relevant things here that made me think! Chat soon :)

Existence as unique – every human being is a singular being; there are no universalities or commonalites when it comes to essences of people.
Existence as verb-like – humans are active beings always creating and changing their world.
Existence as free to chose – we are not predetermined by our past or personality.

This is exactly what I feel and think. So I am partially in this aspect, very useful article, thank you
I'm fond of psychology and this topic will be the next to study for me)

I am very glad to hear that @taliakerch! Thank you for commenting :)
Merry Christmas to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34