You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 23 | Existential Psychotherapy – When Psychology & Philosophy get together.

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

This is my first visit at a post of yours. I read your article and was amazed to discover new (to me) ideas on how to help people deal witht their lives. As I read, I would find myself asking you questions, but when I finished reading, I realised that many others might have had the same thoughts as me, but are better qualified to ask them in a meaningful (and intelligent) manner. So, I have read to the bottom of this long page.

I have very little knowledge of psychiatry and psychology. Sometimes I even admit to myself that I don't really know what they are. As for philosophy? I suck at it, for my mind does not work in a well-ordered manner; it jumps about like I've got a tiny frog inside my head. I do have more of an interest in the philosophy of Ethics.

If you don't mind an entirely ignoramous amateur trying to spell out his thoughts in a somewhat disorganised manner, then, read on; else, just ask me to delete and I will do so.

A small self-description is important for me to explain my reasons for viewing the world as I do, or else it will sound like nonsense.

I spent a sickly childhood as an introvert and not very aware of the world around me, preferring the imaginative worlds in books. There is always another 'me' watching me, laughing at me or cringing when I make a fool of myself. The only way I could get the better of it was by developing a rather weird sense of humour.

To break out, I tried painting, then writing poetry and, finally, about 18 years ago, I discovered the best way of all. I started writing a story. In many ways the story reflects who I am. It is a soft story, bad people are not always bad, but when they are, there is no middle ground, they must be dealt with. The story is character driven and they all revolve (and evolve) around a special girl, a mutant, who has the gift of empathy.

I had preconceptions of what empathy is like. She taught me that I had not thought it through, that being empathic can force us to become hard at times (is one example).

To try and keep this short (if it is not already too late): It was stated that we are not governed by the past. I saw an argument against it. I think one important aspect was not mentioned - how we react in a given situation, which should be dictated by the past, depends on how we interpreted the past event. I believe that not only would intepretation be different according to temperament, plus other even older or newer experiences, but, that were we able to create a hundred alternates of the subject and place them in the exact same situation, there would be differences in how the past influences their present actions, especially if there are even tenths of a second differences in the timing of the event.

Actually, not only because of differences in interpretation, but also, what other thoughts have been thought since then; for instance, perhaps one of the alternates had an ah-ha moment, changing the way they perceive their past, or the meaning of that experience.

I have taken enough of your time, so I'll let go the rest of my thoughts. I hope some of what I have said does make sense.

Sort:  

First of all, you had me following your blog as I finished reading the paragraph about your story :) it sounds like something which will trully fascinate me. Sencond, I would never ask you to delete such an honest comment. Finally, while you state that you have a limited understanding of psychology, the argument you raised about the deterministic role our pasts play in defining who we are is indeed from a cognitive-behavioural point of view. The cognitive theory of emotion suggests that it is not the situation itself that gives rise to a particular emotion, but the meaning attached to it and the meaning here is an interplay amongst a) the individual’s history, b) the individual’s context and c) the individual’s mood state. Basically a summary of what you reflected :).
Regarding existential psychotherapy and phylosophy, I have noticed that, by far, the perception of how our past does not defines us is the most sensitive one. Still, the way I see it is that however much our pasts define the person who we are now, it does not have to dictate the person we can become.
@arthur.grapho, thank you so much for taking the time to read the post, the comments and take part in this discussion! Merry Christmas to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 61362.14
ETH 2643.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58