Philosophy of Use: Tread Ahead and be Free from Fear

photo-1517780300756-935e9b171f3c.jpg
Since I cover psychedelics frequently and because I am active in the psychedelic community here, I often see people who talk about wanting to try these drugs for the first time but they say that they are hesitant to take that first step out of some fear. Sometime it is the strangeness of the experience that unnerves them. Others are reluctant because of the intensity of these substances. The "bad trip" concept drives more than a few people away from the inward journey. Fear of finding the truer "self" is what holds a few people more back. All of these concerns seem perfectly logical to the uninitiated but are they? Many of these fears seem to be based on a misunderstanding of what it actually means to trip. This is not surprising, of course. There is nothing quite like tripping on which a person can base his or her comparison. I, being the advocate that I am, would like to address some of these concerns because if one learns how to tread without fear and cross the psychedelic threshold which separates the conscious and the "under-conscious", he or she will have had one of the most rewarding and enlightening experiences a person can hope to have in his or her life.

A great deal of the fear which keeps people away from psychedelics can be traced back to the countless poor representations of tripping that are present in popular culture. Drug war propaganda has told society that these substances are dangerous or will drive a person mad. There is more at work here than propaganda, however. Often these drugs are poorly represented for entertainment purposes or because the person creating the representation does not understand what psychedelics actually do. If one sees a film where a character consumes a psychedelic drug, there is a good chance that trip which is represented is highly inaccurate. These trip scenes almost always include colorful cartoonish characters which are almost certainly absent from any real experience and, usually for comedic effect, they end with an over the top freak out. All of that is fine, of course. I like a lot of the movies that I have in mind as I am writing this but they do give people false impressions about these drugs and that leads to some unnecessary concerns.

photo-1500215452373-cccbc70288b2.jpg

Most of the people who I have seen express hesitation about trying psychedelics for the first time cite the intensity and strangeness of the of the trip as a reason for not treading into the deeper parts of their mind. It is true that these drugs are strange and powerful but they are perceived differently by one who is under their influence. If, for example, as I sat here (relatively) unaltered, my walls started to breath and my laptop began to melt, I would be a bit unnerved to put it mildly. To one who is tripping, on the other hand, those things seem to be perfectly natural. The walls are breathing because they are supposed to. One does not question the crazy things that happen during a trip (he or she may question many other things, though) because he or she is in a state of childlike amazement. The uninitiated may not understand this statement but I sometimes describe tripping as feeling like being in kindergarten. That is to say, you don't exactly understand why things are the way that they are but you are extremely enthusiastic about being a part of them.

photo-1504194104404-433180773017.jpg

I have written about "bad trips" on my blog before but I will touch on the subject again as they seem to scare off some would-be psychonauts. With the exception of when someone has unwanted contact with law enforcement or has an accident, the concept of a "bad trip" is highly flawed. It is more productive to think these kinds of trips as difficult experiences. They usually have a "cause" (some unaddressed emotion or something like that) and they can force one to address that "cause" whether he or she wants to or not. However, this is not a negative thing. The reason that the "cause" had such an effect on the trip is that it needed to be addressed. A person may not enjoy this process but its result is worth the discomfort. It can be seen as being akin to setting a broken bone. It hurts to do it but one is able to walk better in the end.

Fear of finding the true nature of the self saps some individuals' desire to try psychedelics. This is somehow both the most valid and the silliest of the things that stop from trying psychedelics. I understand the thought process. One may think that the journey of self-discovery will change who they are but he or she is the "self" waiting to be discovered. The trip will change them, true, but only in the sense that they will understand the "self" and it's place in the world more fully. There is nothing to fear here. The revelations, the "monsters," the "teachers," and all of the things that the user encounters already live in the darker parts of his or her mind. The drug merely shines its strange light on them so that they may be "seen" by the individual.

photo-1454817481404-7e84c1b73b4a.jpg

Rewards await those who can free themselves from these fears. The understanding which one gains through tripping is a treasure that can never be stolen. The intensity of the of the experience gives a person basis for comparison when he or she must deal with stressful situations. The strangeness of psychedelics can open ones mind to previously unthinkable possibilities and novel approaches to problem solving. There are countless other benefits as well. If you are thinking about trying psychedelics for the first time, purge these fears from your mind and the path inward will be open to you.

photo-1513775192371-1b9d33760c3f.jpg

Peace.

This was another installment in my Philosophy of Use series of posts. If you liked this post, please feel free to check out my page for more similar content.

Unless otherwise credited, all the images in this post were sourced from the free image website, unsplash.com

Sort:  

I really like your post and way you explain the "fear of tripppin". You make some very good points here.

Pop culture perception of drugs definitely has a very negative influence on openness to psychedelics. Only a few people who tried psychedelics told me they've had a bad trip where they saw monsters chasing them and it very much resembled to what you can see on TV. After talking to everyone of them more about it, I found out they were drunk at he moment of taking them.
Funny, the same things happens when people try marijuana for the first time and don't like it. Vast majority is drunk at the time of trying.

I think taking drugs and having good experiences with them is all about how you approach it. It's not called a trip for nothing. You have to prepare yourself for it :)

Thank you.

You're right about that. Alcohol doesn't mix well. I wouldn't call this a bad trip but the times I have try mixing the two, I felt pretty sick and that ruined the first couple of hours of the trips.

Truth.

That's a good point. Yeah, a lot of the negativity that I've experienced in altered states have been related to drunks around me or the mixing of alcohol. I must admit, though, a little alcohol doesn't hurt. I remember, once though, several friends and I had bought a six-pack to take with us before we turned on. After the LSD started to take affect, we just left the six-pack beside a tree and never touched it until we started coming down (I think thirst had kicked in).

When I'm on LSD I can drink a never ending amount of beer with no effect lol

Psychedelics have helped me face a lot of my fears, and showed me how many problems in the mind are actually rooted in fear. I could write a big wall of text trying to describe how psychs have helped me get familiar with my mind, but fear is one of the most important lessons in my opinion. "Face and erase" is what I say. You aren't free until you can face that part of your mind, and when you do, fear loses its power. It will still be there to some extent, but now you have control and you realize that fear isn't real.

Resteemed to over 18100 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

One of the other reasons is the fear of incarceration. Not only does the State put promote propaganda about the supposed "harm" of the substances, but they stress the way they will fuckup your life if they catch consuming such "harmful" substances.

I think Keith Richards once said like "we don't have trouble with drugs, we have trouble with police." "Who are the brain police?"

Very true but that is more of a valid fear so I didn't want to put it along side this type of stuff. The best way to avoid that is to trip in someone's home or in places where the cops are unlikely to just show up.

My friends and I used to be pretty careless and would go driving around and stuff which could have caused us all sorts of truble but luckily we never got caught doing it.

I understood what you were doing, but regardless, so many of the supposed "bad trips" people may have are produced by the propaganda machine itself. In fact, the "war on drugs" has resulted in turning a large segment of the country's population into potential felons. Why, just because that segment may just want to expand their world view?

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Upvoted and Resteemed. Thank you for using human services my friend :)

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @artisticscreech!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64