Introducing a joint collaboration with @lifeisawesome and @kushed: Project Positivity

in #project-positivity8 years ago (edited)

I was genuinely surprised to find the consensus in comments on my last post, “Of sock puppets and witch hunts”, to be that I stay and keep writing on Steemit. I would love to do that, but I want to do it in a way that supports the community. What I've decided to do is continue, but with the goal of sharing at least one piece I am excited about daily, and spending more time looking for minnows who are producing excellent content to follow and upvote. I won’t be doing it alone.

As I was hatching my plan, @lifeisawesome was creating one of his own. It has already been established that he and I know one another as friends. We share a passion for writing on positivity. His plan is to encourage and feature writing on positivity here on Steemit through weekly challenges. My plan is to encourage and feature excellence. It is natural that we should merge our goals as it will enable us to offer deeper support to the community by potentially doubling exposure.

This plan will be called Project Positivity!

I have to admit to not fully understanding Steemit. It is with @littlescribe's help in comments on my previous post that I have set a new course for participation here. With that said, I hope you will create and link your best work that aligns with the development and positivity goals @lifeisawesome and I will be sharing. He will set the challenge, and I will follow it up with tips for engaging the challenge/producing quality content.

In essence, we are creating a publication! Your excellent work will benefit not only from resteeming; it will receive the sought-after “whale vote.” For more on that, please read @lifeisawesome’s introduction post here. Project Positivity is his brain-child and is being backed by our fearless leader, @kushed.

I’m talking about evening the playing field.

Let me take a step back for a moment:

What @littlescribe pointed out to me was there are many here who have been writing for years and feel it unfair that I was able to come in and write on someone else's Steem essentially, with that whale (@kushed) presumed to be reaping rewards for my work even as I do. Even if this were true, I don't know that I agree with it being wrong. That description is literally how a publication works. I have built more than one publication from the ground up. It takes years to grow a reputation enough to be able to hire writers to produce valuable enough content to maintain or increase your reputation/income. As this is an income-based platform, that seems like a very natural evolution.

However, I see how it is also a frustrating evolution for excellent and dedicated artists to be working with hope and dedication on this platform and not receive the same recognition.


Stink eye, side-eye, cat eye . . . I get it.

I want to use the curation rewards accumulated on this account to give back. In order to do this, I will put my publication-building skills to work alongside @lifeisawesome. That begins with finding and reading you. As we get Project Positivity started, I hope you will generously share links to past work you have published here which suits our themes and write to the challenges posed. While the goal is to encourage generation of high quality positivity-based pieces, we also want to recognize work you have completed.

Please use “project-positivity” as a tag on your Project Positivity posts so we can easily find them!

Beyond that, don't feel shy in promoting yourself in my comments. I only ask that you share one link of your own per prompt, but as many as you like belonging to others. Of course, only you know how many accounts you have, so please be honest. I've seen how it is hurtful to doubly promote yourself on the same topic, so please choose only one of yours per week.

This is not the only way I wish to be a better community member on Steemit.

I realize there are other projects here promoting minnows. I want to learn about and support those as well. If you have a project you want to spread the word about, please please help me understand it by linking or commenting below.

I am happy to promote excellent work, and not just by minnows, but I am most interested in seeing work from minnow accounts. I resteemed one piece earlier today that speaks on rain and positivity, two favorite topics of mine. I hope you will stop in to read it!

I hope this feels like a positive move to you. I would love to stay here as long as it feels safe. So far, it seems the demand to stay outweighs the demand to put myself in danger by revealing my offline identity.

With that said, I promise to continue composing original content for Steemit. I will also try to be on steemit.chat more often for real-time interactions.

I value your reflections on this action plan. Please share thoughts and post links!

xoxo,

@honeyscribe

Sort:  

As I posted on @lifeisawesome 's post 5 minutes ago. Three of my favorite users combing into one to make something great here! We all appreciate what you all three have brought to steemit, not only with words but with character and attitude! One love

Thank you, @carlidos! I am happy to see excitement about this!

Thank you for doing this! This sounds like an awesome opportunity and a great way for new authors to get noticed!

I could not be more excited about it, honestly!

Quality posts will prevail in the end, believe me.

I am pleased to see that you gave decided to remain a member of the community.Let us celebrate with some pizza.

BEST PIZZA PARTY EVER!

@honeyscribe, this looks like a really cool idea. I love what you guys have done! It has a similar feel to the @robinhoodwhale and the @curie projects. Both of them select, curate, and promote lesser-known authors in the community each day. They list the top picks of the day, each day, and it's up to us to vote on them. They get voted up, and it's not necessarily trended to the top, but they get a little money, lots of praise, acknowledgement, encouragement, votes, comments, and followers. It's fab!

You're doing a good thing here in similar fashion. I look forward to seeing more updates!

Thank you, @littlescribe! I think this will be a fun curation project. I will be learning more about @robinhoodwhale and @curie now. I appreciate the info!

We need more positive posts here, so keep posting!
Do not forget about The Yearning ;D

LOL Would you say you're passionate about that piece?

Yeah!!! :D

literally laughing out loud

Thank you, friend! I'm glad we were able to co-create this awesome project!

I am too - I've had it in my mind for at least a month now, and then you coming along with your idea - it just seemed right to merge :)

I will be in full participation of this project. I'm a minnow of the positivity movement with a big heart. Love you all for taking the initiative... and with that being said I just posted something that I consider to be very positive about the promotion of STEEMIT HERE ... I don't know how strict you are on the guidelines of positivity. To me this article is positive in the sense that it promotes the love for and conviction in the success of Steemit. Take care and thanks @lifeisawesome and @honeyscribe !

Thank you resteemed your article too!

Hi @honeyscribe, just stopping by to let you know you were one of my favourite reads today and I've included you in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here

Thank you for including me! I love what you are doing by listing your favorites for the week.

actually, my lists are daily. :)

Oh! rushes back over to read

It is very generous of you to do this. Thank you!

I'm happy I am able to!

Hi, I wrote the second part of my story that you inspired me to write. If you are interested, here it is:
https://steemit.com/life/@hanshotfirst/the-last-first-date-of-my-life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66