A Lego® Like Creation To Teach Programming? A New Toy Is In The Family Future!

in #programming7 years ago (edited)


The children love to play with Legos®, especially my son.Today while looking at Kickstarter(a favorite past time!), there is a new campaign for a brick based game/toy called Algobrix accepting funding.

Its goal is to teach building fanatics the elements of coding without using a computer.

I'd be naive to think there is not a benefit to the children learning how to code. Also, their brains are still in the rapid intake of knowledge stage and this is a great time to introduce coding so their brains can begin to wrap itself around this way thinking.

I'd be failing you if I didn't mention I'm pretty excited about this myself!


Source

Algobrix takes a hands on approach to teaching children how to code. The set includes brick like coding blocks labeled with coding symbols. These blocks are assembled on the Algobot Brain central unit forming a program to communicate with the child's created robot. This will allow the robot to move around, light up, or emit sound in the specific manner it was programmed to.

The coding blocks have two categories. There are function blocks to program the robot and parameter blocks to customize the function blocks. For example, the function block will program the robot to move forward. The parameter block could customize the function block to program the robot to move forward for two seconds. Additionally, should the child(or maybe even me 😭) codes incorrectly, the central unit will flash red to indicate the coding is incorrect.

There are building bricks for sound, lighting, and even motors. There are also sensor bricks allowing the robots to react/respond to sound, touch, lights, and even nearby objects.

There are also Activity Boards and Cards to further enhance learning. The coolest part is the Algobrix are compatible with LEGOS®!


Now may be the time to pledge for the Algobrix Kickstarter Campaign, because there is a substantial early bird discount.

Examples:

  • Algobrix Starter Kit | Early Bird $169 Retail $300
  • Algobrix Standard Kit | Early Bird $199 Retail $360
  • Algobrix Advanced Kit | Early Bird $249 Retail $415

Top Picture Screenshot Source

OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!


Awesome Veteran Logo designed by @guiltyparties

Community Challenge Logo used with permission by @merej99

Sort:  

This is one of the most interesting articles I have seen on steemit! It's amazing how young children are now able to learn how to program by just using lego-style blocks. Great article, thank you for sharing!

I am glad you enjoyed it. We are always looking for toys that facilitate learning. This toy looks like it rocks. You are very welcome for the share.

There's a similar one called Cubelets.

Ooh, thanks man. I will check that out as I have never seen it. Would be nice if there was a better price point.

Figure maybe trying Ebay or something. It's a niche market so the prices seem to be jacked.

I think my son is more excited about these than he is the Algobrix. He is waiting for his mom to get home and we are out here looking at this. We just counted how many ten dollar bills it will take to get the 20 set. "I 'm saving up my money for the twenty set", he says.

We know how niche markets work. Higher price point...but that's the advantage for a business in a niche market.

It probably wouldn't be too difficult to build them at home for those who know how. Good luck with this project. Definitely great for kids to get into robotics.

At least you admit you'd like to play with this set yourself! Looks like fun, I must say. Thank God, I'm not tempted, as my son is already doing code on the computer. Even taught me a few things about it. He loves being the teacher! :)

Yes, I do like to play. It not only helps to keep me young but it also allows me some quality time with the children. I've escaped makeup on the face, so far!

It's great your son loves to be the teacher. In college, I always found teaching others really helped me to master the material. Love it when I read children are learning.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.43 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That is badass! I have zero knowledge of coding. (It could be magic for all I know.) And I love legos! Might have to order some for me........oh and the kids of course..........

Lol, I feel the same way. My son may have become a pawn. "It's for me....umm I mean the kids".

Hey, you wanna come over later and play legos and jump on the trampoline? I got Otter Pops in the freezer too.

Looks interesting !
Thank you so much for your effort to post this information @lexikon082 !
👍👍👍🌸🌸🌸
Upvoted !

You are very welcome @akkha! Maybe we will see a bunch of little programming Steemians in the future.

thank you so much friend !

Thank you so much !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68913.70
ETH 3738.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68