I tell people about Steemit all the time... They're curious, but not always motivated enough to sign up or start posting..

in #positive-trail7 years ago

I'm looking for some positive and creative feedback!

Generally, when I'm in social situations, at some point the topic of "how people are making money on the internet," facebook or youtube comes up... Usually all three one after another lol.

And then.. When an opportunity presents itself, I steer the conversation in the direction of Steemit Mwahahahaha!

Even now, most people have zero idea what Steemit is or STEEM. However, Steemit being as exciting as it is tends to peak everyone's curiosity...or at least it does initially and I love to talk about it.

  • So I tell them a little bit about the platform, a quick introduction to Crypto currencies (usually in referencing BitCoin) and then, I mention how the mining process works. To me this is one of the most distinctive and interesting aspects of Steemit and also something I greatly appreciate about it!

  • I also throw in the part where Steemit is basically a one stop shop. It's easy to use and learn about Steem, a great source for entering or brushing up on everything crypto and also, you can read up on a whole variety of other interesting topics.

  • In general, people are definitely interested in steemit! However, I do find that there is a reoccurring barrier that prevents them from going the extra mile after our conversation. They either sign up and don't begin posting (waste) or, they don't stay motivated long enough to sign u when time permits.

  • I wonder why..? Maybe the community could help suggest some positive and creative ways for me to encourage my friends and family to dive in a bit further as I want steemit to have a positive affect on their lives...

  • I think these people could really benefit from what steemit has to offer since they are content creators already! Most of them either post on youtube, or on facebook waaaaayyy too much! I'm just not he kind of person who is going to keep buggin them to post or sign up... So I'm really looking for something I can say at the end of a conversation about steemit that might give people that extra positive incentive to become active.

Thoughts?

jaybird Steemit.jpg

jaybird ~

Sort:  

It's fantastic to hear you speak about Steemit so positively. And I look forward to the prospect of working with you on projects in the future. You are a talent. But don't get dismayed by peoples' reaction. Some have an interest some don't. Some will express an interest and never do. 'You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink'. However, what you can do is take comfort that you are giving them a heads up into something that could change their lives in a very positive way. You are sharing - a terrific gesture. But there is one powerful motivation for others. Let people see you lead by your example and I have no doubt once they see what you're able to do, they will follow. Good work. Keep it up!

Thanks Brian for this very thoughtful response and your words of encouragement.

I think I get what you mean. I'm sort of just doing exactly that at this point. Making conversations and telling my friends and family who I think could do great work here, to get on here.

Steemit is definitely a positive vehicle for creators, and I have a lot of creative friends I'd like to see contributing!

Btw, I'm looking forward to connecting when we can. You me and Dan will get something going on this summer!

I wouldn't even try to make people sign up or do it if they don't want to. Most people are spectators anyways. Let the market dictate and just keep putting out great content, when there is enough noise, they will come :)

Oh I'm not trying to make any1 sign up. I Just want my friends and family who show interest to be on here enjoying it with me ;)

I would even bother even trying... people tend not to do things that they are not interested in. I tried 20 years ago to get my brother to workout, he does't want to haha

There are already more and more users on Steemit, the network grown at a high speed. Little by little the bird makes its nest

I think most people are too caught in the fiat web to realize the potential of a cryptocurrency. Most people will jump on as soon as it becomes mainstream, but never before. It's like, that new suit that Kim Kardashian wore that is trending now existed before she put it on, but no one cared then.

haha great analogy there. Ya especially when it's something that most ppl do not understand yet. I just want some of my friends and fam to be on here bc i know they can offer great content.

Maybe share some of your own success in terms of engagement, followers and payments and talk about some other people on Steemit you admire and what they have achieved?

Those are good suggestions. I feel like I can probably go deeper than i have. I've shared some of this with friends before. a few have signed up and then never posted lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44