Portraiture Using a Non DSLR Camera - What's Your Take?

I have often wondered what the world of photography was like in those days before the advent of roll film Single Lens Reflex Cameras or SLRs. I was around as a small boy back then when box cameras with sheet films were used. Many great pictures were taken and preserved for posterity by those pioneering photographers. Yes, the challenges were many. Heavy and bulky equipments, long exposure times requiring model to "freeze" for much longer period of time, hours in the darkroom to get it right, etc. Yet we had quality pictures that today's photography has not been able to match.....
Well, I will leave that for another post. I tried using a non dslr some weeks ago for portrait shots using daylight. Hard to synch such cameras with studio gears. And here is my result in monochrome and the color version.

100_1188-01.jpeg

I tend to prefer the monochrome. But I leave the judgements for photographers reading this post.

100_1188.jpg

Camera was Kodak PixPro AZ252 Bridge Camera. I think it was on program mode.
Shutter: 1/80s
Aperture: f/4.5
ISO: 800
Light Source: Daylight via window on the left

Sort:  

When I first started taking pictures, it was in the days of 35mm film. What a difference a few decades make! LOL! I agree with you - while both shots are lovely, the monochrome one is my favorite. Nice work, @abbiephoto!

Photography has indeed taken a giant step these few years. Did you also use the 120 roll film back then?
Thanks @traciyork for all your support and encouragement including recommending me for Daily Spotlights.

You're very welcome, @abbiephoto! And I stuck with 35mm film, but I know my dad used it a few times. In fact, I think I still have some of his undeveloped rolls in a box somewhere. 😊

Loving the black and white version more! Great work indeed!

I am grateful @adam-aj. Thanks

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-03T19:14:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 406.15/200.00
Total Photos: 64
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.66 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of August 5 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Great post @abbiephoto. I remember the days of the 35mm film where you could purchase it in black and white as well as choosing which speed you needed, for example, 200 or 400, depending if you were going to be taking action shots.

While I miss those days of old, I'm glad for today's technology where we can actually choose what photos to print so we don't have to risk the chance of paying for the bad shots.

Yeah! @ilsaione. Those were the days. I still have my roll film camera both 35mm and 120 roll film format, the twin lens reflex. But things are definitely better and life made easier with modern dslr.
Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81