My entry for the 7 DAYS 🖼 PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY CONTEST! 🖼 by @flamingirl [Day 3]

in #portrait-photocontest6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my THIRD entry for the portrait photography hosted by @flamingirl! After the big earthquake that hit Nepal in April 2015 @eoj and I went to stay in Nepal for 3 months for his humanitarian work. I also was able to volunteer, but in my spare time I loved wandering around the streets of Kathmandu with my camera taking photos.

5qvewlyucx.jpg

Since we stayed near Pashupatinath (a famous sacred Hindu temple), I loved to drop by once in a while. One day as I was walking I saw this Sadhu (a holy man) at the entrance. He smiled at me and I smiled back and that smile opened a door for me to ask him if I could take his photo to which he also said yes. For those aspiring photographers out there and those who are just regular tourists who want to take photos, I think we have to always be mindful of asking people to take their photos before we snap. It's alright if we are turned down, but photos with permission are much more ethical and much more rewarding!

For proof that the photos are mine, here is the original photo prior to enhancing.
787ui36scz.jpg

If you want to see more photos from our time in Nepal, please check out my previous blog here.

If you're interested in joining @flamingirl's contest, you can find the announcement here or check out my feed, I've resteemed her post.

<3 @suitcasemama

Please feel free to check out my other recent posts:

27i0fbws7l.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-16T13:36:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 72.15/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=suitcasemama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-entry-for-the-7-days-portrait-photography-contest-by-flamingirl-day-3-c320396264fb1est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I agree with you @suitcasemama - it's important to ask people for permission before taking a photograph of them.


I don't know that much about Nepal but I was happy seeing your photo. Hinduism is an interesting religion, especially the branches that focus on self-realization.

thanks @chrisrice! Nepal is a great country, very friendly people and great for photography!

outstanding portrait, nice capture man
all the best

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Wow, I LOVE seeing the before and after enhancing actually. You and @eoj are the coolest.

Hey, how about some humanitarian work in Lombok? Let's go!

Also, thanks for telling me that it was safe to cook the ube haha

hahaha, im glad the ube didnt kill you! wed love to have an excuse to go back to lombok, do they have lots of kecap manis there??!?! ;)
<3 @suitcasemama

Also, I like that you were still able to get a candid looking shot even after asking for permission. I think some people think they won't be able to get one if they ask, but you always get the BEST photos

aw, thank you! nepal does most of the work actually, everyone is so colorful and friendly! have you been there yet? you should go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 60836.70
ETH 3352.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50