You Are Responsible For Your Own Happiness, You Can Create Your Own Happiness

in #popcontest7 years ago


Image Source

One of the fundamental truths in life is that you are responsible for your own happiness. We cannot expect others to make us happy, it is a task that we need to do it for ourselves. We cannot expect others to lose weight, learn to swim, or to learn to drive on our behalf, why the heck would we expect others to be responsible for our own happiness. Taking responsibility for our own happiness means not blaming others for our own happiness. In this way we can empower ourselves to make decisions and take actions that will lead to our own happiness.

Not only are we responsible for our own happiness but in fact we can also create our own happiness. The happiness that we created for ourselves is the same as the “natural” happiness that we feel if things go the way that we expect them to. If things do not go our way and if these are situations that we cannot change, we can still create our own happiness when we fully accept these situations. This does not mean that we accept defeat, this means that we are doing the best we can with the resources that we have in situations that we cannot change. Events that happen in our lives have no meanings except for the meanings that we give to it. We can perceive an event as either a blessing or a curse and in both cases we are correct.

Let me give you an illustration. Sometime back, I was watching a TV program on AIDS and a lady came on air to share her experiences. She was involved in drugs at a young age and later on discovered she had contracted AIDS thorough sharing of needles. Subsequently, her life turned around, she managed to kick her drug habit and got involved in AIDS awareness program. She began to share her own life experiences and warned the young people about the dangers of drug abuse. What she said really struck me, “It is very ironical that now when I am dying, I am feeling most alive. Previously while I was taking drugs, my life was aimless, and I was just drifting from one thing to another thing. But now I have a purpose in my life which is to educate the young people know about the dangers of drug abuse and the choices that they can make to improve their lives.” Because of the meaning that she attached to contracting AIDS, instead of AIDS being perceived as a dead sentence, AIDS has given her a new lease of life.

So do you agree with me that we are responsible for our own happiness? Can we create our own happiness? Do give your feedback in the comments section.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Positive Reflections: 7 Ways Towards Loving Yourself More
Do You Love Yourself? Do You Show Yourself Enough Self-Love?
Escape To St Kidla, Melbourne For An Afternoon Of Fun
Wisdom From My Autistic Son: My Autistic Son ‘s Behavior Maybe Embarassing But I Am Not Ashamed Of Him
Positive Reflections: Don’t Let Your Post Defeat You But Let Your Past Defined You

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

@positivesteem 6$ upvote has been added by @lays team

Oh ... it's Peterhof! Hello, I live in St. Petersburg! Excellent post, come back to St. Petersburg!

Thank you for the compliments. I really enjoyed my stay at St. Petersburg, it is such a beautiful city.

I will do some more posts about my holiday at St Petersburg.

So beautifull post you today. I like it your post.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you sir for sharing.

I was just reading yesterday about internal locus of control- how taking responsibility for what happens in your life, or at the very least for your actions and reactions, contributes to success and happiness. This is very much what you describe in your article. There is a lot of research supporting the concept.

I am sharing from my own experience so I did not go into the research. Thank you so much for your comments and I am following you now.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 5.62 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

This post has received a 20.46 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @positivesteem. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

Awesome words...

Thank you so much my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76