5000th Post : Positive Reflections: What Is Holding You Back From Achieving Your Dreams? Put Your Answers In The Comments Section And All Answers Will Be Up-Voted.

in #popcontest7 years ago


Image Source

Most of us have dreams that we aspire to achieve. It could be a career that we know that we will excel in, a road trip that we have been planning for some time or perhaps a better life and the list goes on. We have put in the effort, we even have an action plan. But why is there no progress or slow progress? Let us take a minute to reflect on what could have been holding us back from achieving our dreams.

There could be a lot factors that could have hold us back and prevent us from moving forward towards our dreams. One of the most important factors is that we are # unable to let go. Let us examine some of things that we are clinging on and unable to let go.


Image Source

1. We Are Unable to Let Go of Our Comfort Zone

In fact I have already written a post on this subject. We feel secure and comfortable in our comfort zone and with our daily routine that we have established. But if we do not challenge ourselves and move out of our comfort zone, we will not be able to make progress and move forward. We need to do new things or the same things but in new ways to see improvements in our lives. Let go of our comfort zone and we will see our lives soaring to greater heights.


Image Source

2. We Are Unable To Let Go Of Our Limiting Beliefs.

Limiting beliefs are the beliefs that we hold on to or stories that we tell ourselves as to why it is not possible for us to achieve our dreams. Our limiting beliefs virtually imprisoned us. In order to break free, we must replace these limiting beliefs with empowering beliefs. Let me give you an example. Instead of thinking that we are too old to start a new business, our belief should be we are more experienced because of our age and thus more likely to succeed in our new business. We will feel much more empowered with this new set of beliefs.


Image Source

3. We Are Unable To Let Go Of Our Past

As Anthony Robbins, a motivational speaker rightly pointed out “The Past Is Not Our Future”. If our lives are too focused on our past, we will be unable to fully appreciate the present moment and realize the potential of the future. It is like trying to drive a car by looking at the rear mirror. Sure, we may have failed in the past, people might have hurt us or we might have gone through terrible experiences. However we need to realize that what is past cannot be changed, instead our focus should be what can learn from our past and then move on. By letting go of our past, we are able to treasure the joy of the moment and claim the promise of tomorrow.

Yes, folks this is my 5000th post and I really want to share something that is able to help you to achieve your dreams. So do let go of whatever that is holding you back and move forward towards your dream. Please share with me what is holding you back from achieving your dreams and what you can do about it. Your sharing could inspire others and all comments will be up-voted.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Positive Reflections: Getting Out Of My Comfort Zone
Thank You Lord (An Original Poem)
Positive Reflections: Be Kind To Others And Myself
Reflections On My Trans Mongolia Train Journey: Less Materials Is More

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Great post and congratulations on your 5000 post @positivesteem ! Thanks for sharing it with us all in my @popcontest this week and congrats on winning 3rd place last week !!👍💕
I am not one to let things hold me back ! My dream is to build a small house And Retire Early ! Haha , on my 1.5 acre property I own an hour from town up in mountains near a small town called Beaverdell in British Columbia Canada ! Steem and Steemit has all ready paid for my Power shack and power pole that my boyfriend put up recently !! So lack of funds is the only thing currently holding me up !! Hopefully I can make enough Steem on Steemit to start building my small house in the spring !! It would be great Haha !! No More Rent To Pay and I Could Steem All Day !! Good Luck my friend !!👍👍👍💙💙💙
REACH FOR THE STARS AND STAY POSITIVE !!👍💙

Since you already have the land, it is just a matter of raising the cash for the construction. Hope you will be on your way to realize your dream house. It maybe too far for me to visit, but you never know what the future brings.

Haha ! This is so true ! It wont take much to build just a small one level place ! Like a cabin with maybe 2 small bedrooms , got to start saving up that steem and hope the price of steem skyrockets by spring or early summer !! Thanks for your kind reply , we have campers as well if you ever come to visit ! Lots of great fishing and hunting ! 👍👍👍💕

You get the idea, build something small first and when you have the cash you can build an extension

Exactly !! 👍✌💕

That is great.

Congratulations on 5000 posts!! Good for you!!

To answer your question. What is holding me back at times is that I am saying yes to too many things. Sometimes, I see that something needs to be done. I know that I can do it and that it is good for the community, family, friend, or (insert various options here) - so, I do it.
But that is not always what is best for me or might take the time I wanted to spend on my own goals.
I had to learn to say no. Yes, it might be a good thing to do, but I can't save the world single-handedly and have to say yes to me and my needs as well.
Finding that balance is not always easy.

Sometimes we have to put ourselves first and that is not being selfish. And as you rightly said there have to a balance and sometimes there are trade-off as well. Having said that, whatever good that you are doing to the community will also go back to you eventually. Cheers.

Yes, you are right. It does come back - sometimes in ways we can't foresee. All good. And yes, self-care is not selfish. It took me a long time to really step into that.

Self care is very important. I agree with what you say. Do continue doing good.

Thank you and I will :) You too!!! Take good care.

You take care too and have a great day.

@positiveesteem : beautiful writeup. Thank you for sharing.

If I may share my thoughts, Everyone has a choice to do what they want to do. "Holding me back from achieving my dreams" isn't really something I believe in. I was in a position where I was a musician, wile doing a full time job. Then came my beautiful baby daughter, and I realized, that I couldnt do both - keep playing music and do my job - I was missing out on time with my baby girl.

Thats when I decided to quit the band, and concentrateon my regular job (IT Career) so I could build a future for my family and give them the time they deserve.

Its been three years since I quit the band, and while I do miss playing music live, I know the time spent with my daughter is absolutely invaluable.

Its all about choices. And your priorities

@baconbaba
Foodie. Carnivore. Couch Potato.

In the choices that we make, there are bound to be trade off. The important thing is that we are happy with the choices we made. I think that you made the right choice to spend more time with the daughter. Once your daughter is bigger, you can always reconsider playing in the band again.

Awesome post! Again I enjoyed reading.
So true what you are saying. That's why 100%upvote.

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am glad that you enjoy my post.

Just the truth my friend :)

That's correct. Once again thank you for dropping by.

Congats on 5000+ posts mate =)
Really great post towards positivity and dreams! Upped :D

Thanks. I try to spread positivity here. Am following you now. Do follow me for more positive posts.

Fear of failure holds me back. In theory, I know that "failure by not even trying" is worse than "failure by at least attempting" since in the latter case you have SOME chance of success. Having said that, as a perfectionist (albeit lazy), attempting with a chance of failure just doesn't seem worth it. Anything I do, I have to work hard on to meet my own standards.

So yeah, that's my Achilles' heel. Great post, and congratulations on your 5000th post! That is quite an achievement :)

Hope that you can face your fears head on. There is nothing to fear except fear itself. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I really love this post. I wish to see it in more of your writings. Cheers from Sabah @madeve

Glad to see you drop by and visit your neighbor from Sarawak. As my vision here is to spread positivity, I will write more positive posts. I am following you.

You have inspired me my making my target to blog. Appreciate that . See you in your next postings . Cheers!

5000 posts most likely means you have done a great job uplifting and encouraging others with comments. kudos to you! And, as far as your ?, what holds us back is our thinking. Better thinking leads to better results. :)

I would like to think that my posts have impacted my readers positively. Thank you for your support. Yes, I agree with you, how we think is also very important.

nice post and congratulations on your 5000 post @positivesteem
You are amazing writter....

Thank you for your compliments, Do follow me for more.

Fear and lack of support kept me down for many years. But thanks to internet, i was able to recover from it. Halfway through it.

Thank you for your honest sharing. Steemit is a very supportive platform too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74