P: Power of Words (For Teachers, Parents and Just Maybe Everyone)

in #popcontest7 years ago

"Why did you do that?!"

"Stop it now!"

"You are grounded!"

"Seriously?! You just have to make things so difficult!"

"No way! Explain yourself now!"

Well, how many of us are guilty of saying all these words and phrases? I mean, these heartbreaking words and phrases. For years, I have heard dozens of unpleasant words and comments from teachers and parents about their young ones at school. To be honest, I for one, used some of those words too in my early months of teaching, especially when my classroom management was horrible and on the days where I allowed my rocky emotions to control my thoughts. Soon enough, I realized its ugly impact on my students and even, on my own emotional wellbeing. I began to gradually change my words, just a little wiser day by day. There were days that I just could not contain my anger, but I made up my mind to always apologize to my students shortly after my outbursts.

maranatha-pizarras-342561.jpg

Photo by Maranatha Pizarras on Unsplash

This process reached its peak about a year later when I was surprised with one shocking news by my colleague. He was told that one of his students was reluctant to go home and willingly stayed back at school as long as he can because he was afraid to go home. Mind you, this is one of the brightest students in his class and greatly admired by many teachers. Then, one morning while my colleague and I were planning a camping event together, the boy walked into the classroom to get his Art materials. My colleague stopped him and wanted to have a quick chat with him. The boy sat next to me and he seemed a little nervous about the talk. As I stood up and began to walk out the classroom with the intention to give both of them some privacy, the boy grabbed my left arm and politely assured that it was okay for me to stay and join the talk too.

My colleague and I were taken aback when the boy shared the reasons why he loved spending most of his time at school. He said he felt lighthearted hearing great compliments from his friends and teachers at school, unlike at home. He started sharing how his father would carry work-stress back home and unpleasant, invidious words were heard a lot at home. His best pieces of work done at school were also ignored by his father whenever he left them on the dining table. My colleague called his father after dismissing all students that day and seek for an urgent meeting with him. In brief, things began to change at home and the boy is now thriving even more.

IMG_7560.JPG

One picture with the boys at the camp (the boy is somewhere in the picture).

IMG_7561.JPG

By the end of the school year, the boy was awarded with an appreciation trophy for showing global citizenship, among few other students.

...but there was something that I was curious to know. I wondered why did he allow me to stay on for the talk. I asked him during our break time the next day after the talk at the school's playground. I was astounded by his answer. "Miss Cally, remember the day you were my substitute teacher when Mr. ______ was absent? That day, I learned that you are very kind and funny. I also like the way you greet students in the morning before the assembly. That's why." Can you believe it? It only took a simple, childlike faith (and perhaps some really good observations or stalking) to discern good-natured teachers and parents. Enough of my teacher-story here, LOL.

The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.
Proverbs 18:21 (NIV)

This is my all-time favourite Bible verse. To keep it simple, words that we use everyday carry a significant energy in our thought processes, heart conditions as well as in our pursuit to achieving dreams, callings and visions. It can literally make or break people. Just like the encounter that I have shared above. Here is a list of powerful words that I feel can benefit teachers, parents and just maybe everyone (like I have stated in my title):

You are loved.

I love the way you...

You make me smile when...

I have faith in you...

Your ideas are amazing...

You can do it, you are strong...

You make a difference.

You are a good friend.

You are so kind to me.

Would you like me to help you...

It is okay if it didn't work the first time. Let's try...

Mistakes happen. Let's talk it through...

You are important.

I am excited to see what you...

We are in this together...

You are amazing!

Don't give up yet. We can...

How about if...

I am listening.

I am so proud of you!

I love you.

I sure hope that you enjoy another snippet into my teaching life. Thank you for reading my post here! :) In case you missed out my previous post on overthinking, check it out here.

UV-C-R cally end of post.gif


APP.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @heartscally! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by heartscally from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

i truly believe this with my whole heart and have seen positive improvement in my friends' lives when i practice this... thank you for sharing!

That's amazing! Thank you for dropping by :)

Thank you for sharing this powerful lesson.
We all wear the title teacher in our lives from time to time. Parent is basically another word for teacher.

One more thank you...enjoy the coming week.

"Wisdom is what works." Clarisa Pinkola Estes

I am building myself a resume. The finished product is only for myself. To be used to bolster belief in myself as I pursue my dream. This has reminded my to include ~positive speaker~ to my resume.

So true indeed! I am so glad that we share the same understanding, and that is definitely a good add-on to your resume! Wishing you all the best :) Thanks again.

You are indeed an inspiration. I am also learning to use words positively at home. Like you said should there be times I couldnt contain my anger it slipped out through horrible words, I made it up with saying sorry and as usual lots of kisses and hugs. Let us keep it up this way. The youngers need it. Too much screaming around already. 😘

After all, we are just human beings. We do get angry just like the young ones, but a simple awareness that it was not the right response/reaction makes a whole lot of difference in building lives around us :) Thank you for dropping by, @iamjadeline. I enjoy reading all your posts! Hugs!

The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.
Proverbs 18:21 (NIV)

Couldnt agree more! Way to go Ms.Cally! ❤

Thank you for your utmost support, @michelleloh168! Your words through singing are equally powerful too!

The power of words, indeed! I also have to deliberately speak well and remember not to spread the negativity within me, oops! I have to make myself think of their good and how my words would shape them, then I would control my mouth. However, I still can be lesser on guard when I'm tired so God help me! That verse is also my pointer in life. Good post, good teacher @heartscally! 💕

Totally can relate to you on that. Thank you for your utmost support, @happycrazycon! :)

My granddaughter is inspiring my daughter and I to constantly examine our words. She's a two year old parrot that looks like a girl.

Thanks for the helpful list.

Glad you liked it! Thanks for dropping by :)

When emotions takes place, we just couldn't control much. Glad that you apologise when you noticed about it, instead letting ego to take place. I was happy reading about it 😊

Not sure anyone notice, in some family culture, they were brought up that one shall not simply compliment their kids, so they'll not be overly proud and they won't grow tougher. Not sure does this applies to the parent or not.

But its 2018 now, surely this culture will be gone soon for the better I hope 😉. Love this post.

Family values/norms and cultural backgrounds definitely affect our words and actions, so true! Now, we are believing for a more positive shift in all families around the world. :) Thank you for dropping by here - truly appreciate it!

Kind words are like honey to the lips and soul, it nourishes not only the speaker but also the heater. Such great comfort to know that many care enough to be mindful of the power of words, it truly does build and shape destinies. Great post as always, teacher Cally! Loving such beautiful read on a chilly morning, it warms the soul 😘

Thank you, @alimamasstory! Glad to know that you loved it :) Look forward to reading your baby's stories too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65870.41
ETH 2675.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89