O: Overthinking... or Not?

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

nikko-macaspac-263785.jpg

Photo by Nikko Macaspac on Unsplash

I feel that literally, everyone can relate to this picture at some point in our lives.

In spite of your age, gender, occupation, cultural background, and even, your belief system, surely all of us have felt that. That overwhelming feeling that life is hitting us so hard, or life is absolutely absurd and unfair. I will be the first one to admit this about myself, and the main contributing factor was just overthinking about things around me. Hey, come on, I mean, we tend to overthink about the littlest things like in getting a Christmas card, a birthday gift, and even, a pair of heels/shoes. Wait, even a parking spot in the mall!

For years, I have struggled through this cyclical journey of ruminating about my shortcomings, mistakes and problems around me. Even for those that were never in the picture at all, but thanks to my overthinking mind and sleepless nights. To make things worse, being a teacher actually heightened this unhealthy way of thinking and reasoning.

What if he/she feels unhappy about my idea?
What if I couldn't meet his/her expectations?
What if his/her parents disagree with me?
How would it benefit everyone in the class/school?
Is this acceptable or achievable to even begin with?
What should I do if it turns out to be a disaster?
Will they enjoy my lessons?
How should I tell them without feeling guilty?
Why am I even doing this?

I just couldn't stop myself, and I knew I was trapped in this horrible pit. My insane inner monologues were both distressing and corrupting. Although I achieved so much at work and was given so many credits and compliments, it eventually started to take a toll on my health and emotional well-being. LIKE DUH. These dangerous inner monologues even overpowered my friendships and romantic relationships.

hailey-kean-111977.jpg

Photo by Hailey Kean on Unsplash

Nonetheless, God's faithfulness prevails. It was a gradual cleansing process of putting an end to my catastrophic habit of overthinking. So, the question here is... How did I free myself from overthinking? How did I do it? Here are some ways that I would recommend based on my experiences.

1. Letting go

Mistakes happen. Stop beating yourself up and crying over spilled milk. We need to accept that we can never undo the past but we can always appreciate what still remains now and look forward to what is coming our way. My former boss always reminds me that we are the authors of our present and future, so make it a wonderful one and only look back when you need a reminder to be wiser.

2. Developing a wider perspective

Ask yourself, will this 5-minutes problem really matter in 5 years, 10 years? Or even one week? Gosh, this was my biggest slap in the face when one of my closest colleagues asked me after a meeting with the leadership team. I was left dumbfounded. Well, I definitely needed that slap to shut down overthinking.

3. Valuing progress over perfection

Okay, if you have worked with me personally, you would know that I have the all-time favourite condition called Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. In short, OCD. My classroom displays NEED to be perfect. The books and papers on my desk NEED to be aligned. My presentation slides NEED to be flawless. While these are greatly admirable, it should be done with the right awareness and mindset. Aiming for perfection is unrealistic, nonviable and exhausting. Having said so, valuing your progress and the little moments will set you up for your 'perfect ambition'.

4. Trust your bestest friends and colleagues

If they tell you that you need a big piece of hot molten chocolate cake, stop grumbling because you need it. Talking and listening to your bestest friends and colleagues distract your attention from overthinking. Thoughts like "you are not good enough", "you are not smart enough", "you are not dedicated enough" and many more will be dismantled and refocused positively. I have and need to do a shout-out here for them! Should I? Meh. Overthinking? LOL

5. Slow down, be grateful... and have a cup of coffee :)

Gratitude has the power to instantly shift our dreadful thinking. Moreover, unfaltering 'force' to be grateful and mindful of things around you and in you can and will decrease overthinking. Some people may like it to be written in gratitude journals. Some may like it to be posted on their Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat or Instagram accounts. Some may like to do it in front of the mirror every morning. Whatever that you prefer, for as long as you are not meditating about yesterday's situation or worrying about tomorrow, you are one step closer to having a renewed mind. Do not forget that a cup of good coffee is the epitome of exuberant joy.

IMG_7369.JPG

Coffee - The liquid hug to my brain

Thank you for reading my post today! Hope you enjoyed reading it :)

UV-C-R cally end of post.gif


APP.png

Sort:  

I literally write down alot of my thoughts in a notebook, sort of like move them out of my brain. shoo shoo them away. You are so honest to share this with us. Actually a person who overthinks is a problem-solver, just try to balance it with the points you wrote, and you will be fine. 😍

Mmm, good thinking right there! Thank you for your generous comments! :)

Yup, a coffee helps :) After overthinking, write those thoughts down and it will help to calm down our minds.

Agree! Thank you for dropping by here :)

That's why I got myself an Espresso machine, no one makes my idea of a good coffee but me (Triple shot americano). I struggle with gratitude. I suppose there are times where we all just have to slow down and enjoy what is around us.

Woahhh, TRIPLE SHOT AMERICANO! I can smell it already. On a side note, yeah, gratitude - not easy but definitely achievable. Thank you for dropping by :)

Thanks @heartscally, letting go is something we all need to do..though its sometimes difficult.

Indeed, very challenging, but the aftermath is amazing! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @heartscally to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

I think most of us woman battle with this. I too find myself playing situations over and over again in my head. You have given me some good advice here. Thank you and good luck. PS enjoy your coffee 😀

Aw, so good to hear that from you. Well, we both just faithfully continue to journey on and maneuver life to its fullest then! :) Thanks for dropping by here.

Very sound advice, Miss Cally! And cheers to great coffee ;)

Aha! Overthinking is something that i faced all the time too. Its my lifetime learning not to overthink. Haha. As we continue to grow in the Lord, we learn to look to Him, hear His voice (not our voice), surrender and trust the Lord. You are doing great Cally! Jia you jia you! :)

So true indeed. Ultimately, it is His voice over ours. :) Thank you for the encouraging words.

Gratitude and coffee! A great combination.

Oh yeah, definitely. Nothing beats that combo. :D Thank you for dropping by.

I also tend to exert a lot of control over my environment. I like what you say about having people or beliefs to lean on in order to counter the negative self-talk. <3

That's absolutely true! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51