Micro Pond Update : Frogging on a Hot Summers Day

in #pond6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8420.JPG

Mid summer update of the micro pond we built last year..
The pond is doing great and i am extremely happy how its turned out. Now bursting with plants and wildlife its a pleasure to take ten minutes just to sit and watch this micro world and how it's evolving.

IMG_8420a.JPG

Here you can see two of the frogs chilling in the sun. I'm not sure how many frogs are in this tiny pond but there is definitely more than a dozen of various sizes. Even though the pond is well balanced with plants that filter and plants that oxygenate i decided to get 10 rams horn snails to help with keeping the pond clean. These snail only eat dead plant material so they should help with pond maintenance. I just need to remember to remove the snails in autumn and over winter them indoors.

IMG_8419.JPG

While i was sat watching the pond this fella caught my eye as he was hopping up my planted step area heading for one of the larger ponds. Maybe for his his daily dip. I gave him a helping hand before the magpies spotted him.
I'd say he was maybe 3 years old

IMG_1028.JPG

If you remember my spring post about the frog spawn glut. Well here are the results. These little guys are all over my garden mainly living under my decking and hunting in the grass and boarders of my garden.
It's taking me an age to cut my lawn as I'm doing it by hand till the baby frogs have moved on.

I'm so glad i built this micro pond and think it would be a great way to get kids interested in nature and wildlife. Even the flowers bring in the bumble bees and insect that create this mini eco system

If anyone is interested in making this pond here are my posts about building it

https://steemit.com/nature/@dune69/follow-my-micro-pond-evolution-week1

https://steemit.com/nature/@dune69/micro-pond-build-week2

https://steemit.com/nature/@dune69/micro-pond-build-week3-laying-out-the-dry-river-bed

https://steemit.com/pond/@dune69/micro-pond-build-week4-completion-and-first-resident

Sort:  

Great little pond, it just goes to show any size will attract wildlife. I’ve just this weekend gone and started my pond which is not very big and that’s a great tip about the snails 🐌 I’m definitely going to look at getting some off them, I’m hoping when I’ve done a bit more to maybe do a post but here is a sneaky peek

4C4E2C09-88F2-4FF4-9806-6FEBD1B25BDC.jpeg

Cheers mike

The pond looks perfect and its great that it has the different levels at each end. And great hiding place 's under the bushes for the frogs too.

Looking forward to see how it progresses. Thanks for the sneaky peek :-)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-23T06:52:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 84.50/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dune from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

What a sweet little pond! With a cool variety of plantlife & animal life. Thanks for sharing! I enjoy seeing your world. Good job on cutting your grass by hand to support the froggies! See ya next time 🌅

Thanks for stopping by :-)

Yep it is my little world.. I was known as nature boy when i was a kid and still love nature now

Tiny pond bt great to see

Thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64993.01
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38