Micro Pond Build : Week3 : Laying out the dry river bed

in #nature7 years ago

Time to start building the dry river pebble bed

IMG_7590.JPG

I've removed all the grass and used plastic bin liners as a weed suppressant. You don't want weed growing up between the rocks

IMG_7591.JPG

I've covered the area with pea gravel as a base (reminder... need to get more :)) This is the base of the design and it keeps everything in place.

IMG_7592.JPG

I've laid the pebbles out either side of the bed and round the lip of the pond covering the plastic container. I've also planted a few mimulus guttatus (or monkey flower). These will get sufficient water from the overflow of the pond when it rains. The pond is starting to take shape and so far has cost next to nothing (a frugal build indeed).

Next part will be to put an edge to work to. To contain the gravel and pebbles and to tidy up the look

I'm already getting a few visitors to the pond including birds and pond skaters.

8b9c0a16768dccd534bc87651ac2583b.jpg

Sort:  

I like what you do and I don't know why you get so few upvotes. So, resteemed

Thank you for the upvotes and resteem..
I'm not sure why people aren't interested. I guess all i can do is to keep doing what i do and hope more people take an interest. I guess i just have to try and build a following over time :)

Very nice!

This post has received a 3.75 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @dune69. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36