Not exactly breaking news, but Stefan Molynuex is on Steemit - some thoughts on Steemit "celebs"

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

The account is legit according to Stefan's own Twitter account. I was one of the request..ees who pm'd Stefan on YouTube in order to persuade him to join.

 

Skjermbilde 2017-09-30 kl. 22.57.37.png

 

Steemit makes it's own celebrities, and we've seen before that success on YouTube or other platforms doesn't necessarily mean that you are going to have instant success here. It seems like this platform is great for building a brand or a persona from scratch, which is not that strange really. Because Steemit incentivize the social aspect in a bigger way. YouTube is about ads and minutes viewed (and of course quality) while Steemit is about engagement (and quality) and community. It is also about investing in the platform. We all own a share. Unlike with YouTube, where the nazi rulers decide if you stay or go.

So as you can see, @stefan.molyneux is not an instant celebrity making tons of money on Steemit just because he is the Libertarian philosopher King of the Old Internet. I'm sure he could be, but like everyone else he would have to invest in Steemit, not only money, but also time, effort, social, community.

I do however understand that Stefan most likely (guaranteed) spend ALOT of time researching and creating VERY high quality content. And a ton of it. So I do realize and understand that he is not going to go all "love your content man, liberty is the only way duude, fuck statist. Totally agree 100%" on our asses, but I suspect a little love is needed to oil the Steemit-wheel.

Either way, I'm going to follow, upvote and engage with Stefan. I appreciate his stuff a lot, and without him I wouldn't have become the person I am today (and I would probably never even have found Steemit) Perhaps I'm just being a Stef-bot right now, giving him way too much cred. But a decent amount of cred to him is just fair.

If you don't know who Stefan Molyneux is, I strongly suggest you check out his YouYube-channel or Steemit-account.

 
 

Odin approves of this message.png

Sort:  

It's great to see people like Stefan join Steemit, even if you don't agree with all he says. A person I really admire is @corbettreport. Like Stefan, he creates very high quality content, so being able to support him with Steem is very nice. People like James Corbett and Stefan Molyneux rely on the contributions of their audience and that's beautiful.

What?? You don't agree with everything he says! Blasphemy! ;)

Thanks for the corbettreport tip. Never seen before.

@scandinavianlife and @libertyteeth, you're both very welcome! James is by far my favorite independent investigative journalist.

Thank you! I've been following him on YouTube (James Corbett) but didn't know he was here, thanks!

I asked two weeks ago in comments if it's real. No answer. And he also doesn't reply to peoples comments. I'm not sure he is real.

Yeah, but like I argued in the post - I don't think he has the time (or takes the time) to do that. You often see that with guys who are big on YouTube - they rarely answer. I don't know about many celebrities here, but @grantcardone is another. He only posts his stuff here, but does not engage with the community. I think the tweet looks very legit. It is from his account..

Like I said..I don't think the Steemit community likes that. And I believe Steemit will create it's own celebrities with time (I'm sure there are all ready some, like @jerrybanfield etc)

I'm sure Molly will get quite a few followers with time, and also make some bucks, but it's going to be interesting to see how this platform works when it comes to people who are exclusively on Steemit (or who used Steemit for leverage while posting on youtube at the same time) and people who came over from other platforms like YouTube.

We deserve a couple of sentences for an introduction. If Max and Stacy can do it, Stefan can do it. I upvoted zerohedge account in the past, but later on, I find out it's not real.

I'm not sure if we deserve anything, but I think that in order to have success on Steemit you need to prioritize it and engage with people. It's much more a social platform than YouTube with it's trollbox and zero incentive to behave decent to each other.

However, someone with that much knowledge, fanbase and reputation will probably do pretty well regardless of platform - and that is just fair considering the amount of brilliant work they have been doing.

I'm not so sure if we will get an introduction. But I tend to believe it is a real account. The Twitter account where the tweet came from is without a doubt his real account.

I just don't think he is prioritizing Steemit at this point, yet he wants to have one foot on the inside.

You right. That up to him. But for me, it's not enough and I will not follow this account for now. Thanks.

Cheers...i didnt know he was on here..good to see

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @scandinavianlife to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @scandinavianlife! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Thanks for the heads up. I used to listen to Stefan but since I found Steemit I haven't been able to tear myself away. Delighted to see him here.

Very good, I follow Stefan's channel on Youtube and I'm very happy he's on steemit and I hope, and think, he'll become a Whale in little time.

Take a look at stefan.molynuex's wallet; he hasn't claimed one reward yet. Is there a time limit on claiming rewards? and also, since he doesn't seem to pay attention to comments, what's the best way of telling him to claim his rewards?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55