The new political divide is a lie

in #politics6 years ago

It started with Brexit and to be honest I never joined the debate because I didn't know what everyone was fussing about because i am not from Europe. I have a bunch of friends from the U.K. and I was witness to people I know are great pals in real life tearing each other apart in a public forum for everyone to see. Family and friends got to watch two people get heated and then eventually say terrible things about eachother instead of what they were meant to be talking about in the first place.

friends-fight-argue_exml3uste__F0000.png
it's like this, only thousands of miles apart

Then the 2016 USA election happened and things got much much worse. I myself was guilty of this "flipping out" as I defended one particular candidate and got a bit hot under the collar when people challenged me.

A semi-famous personal trainer I know made a comment for the New York Times in favor of one particular candidate and her business Facebook feed got filled with loads of her customers saying horrible things to her and saying they were deleting all of her workout videos and encouraging their friends to do the same.

There are stories out there of parents disowning their children because they supported Trump, or vice versa.

While I never blocked or deleted anyone over this I admit, I have unfollowed quite a few because it was every single day they were posting something negative about Trump, or negative about Hillary or something positive about those 2 other people that didn't stand a chance in hell of winning. Then they would get into a public argument with someone I know they had drinks with just a couple weeks ago.

After Trump won the election the amount of “nah nah nah boo boo” taunting from his supporters towards non supporters just turned into another never-ending fight about the electoral college. In one particular exchange I saw two brothers basically e-shouting at one another for all the world to see.

It carries on with basically any political issue you can imagine. I learned a long time ago to not get involved in the debate so one day in the midst of a “throwdown” on a friend's page I decided to post a silly meme in the comments that had nothing at all to do with the conversation at hand. it was probably a trash dove .gif as that was one of my favorites back then. I was viciously attacked by the OP at which point I said something along the lines of “sorry pal, I hope we can still be friends :) “ to which he responded

"Friends???? I barely f&king know you! I haven't seen you in 20 years, f%k you!"

This is a guy that I sat and chatted with at the lunch table EVERY SINGLE DAY for 3 years in high school, we hung out on a regular basis outside of school and were both important members of the offense on the soccer team. This is a guy that if I were to meet up with him at a school reunion or just randomly on the street he would probably hug me.

There are many people out there that say the world is more poloarized and divided politically than ever before but I have a different theory: We have always been this way, we just never had a way to do our verbal laundry in public before.

We would never react towards someone with a differing opinion face-to-face like this. I think it is the fault of social media and that is what changed in the world. Think about it: I know Facebook has been around for a while but it wasn't all encompassing until the past few years. How much time were you spending on social media when Al Gore was running for president?

People have always been divided nearly 50/50 on politics.

Let's focus on US presidential elections as an example because the stats are easier to find.

If you look at the election results for the past 50 years or so you will see that there has been a near 50% to 50% split in almost every election. This includes ones that in our memories we thought were blowouts such as Reagan vs Mondale in 1980 where Reagan only won by a whole 9% (he won by 18% the second time.)

Remember when a very weak Bob Dole ran against Bill Clinton? Bill Easily won that right? Is 7% “easily?”

You have to go back to 1972 to find any real “blowout” where Richard Nixon easily defeated George McGovern by 25% and we all know what happened to Nixon.

Anyway, you can look up that information yourself if you think I am making it up. The point is that (at least in the United States) we have always been divided politically and this is particularly evident if you consider that younger people who were not alive during the 1972 election, let alone allowed to vote, are much more likely to be using social media today.

i-wonder-what-people-are-up-to-on-facebook-ynli-13266853.png

The reason why we didn't disown one another over political differences or perhaps even know the differences existed is because there is a certain amount of decorum that goes into a conversation when the person is right in front of you that doesn't exist behind the veil of the internet. The pal from high school would never say those things to me to my face over something so trivial. I don't know exactly what it is but words on a screen turn all of us into animals that are willing to throw away something that took 20 years to build in an effort to be “right.”

There are a number of people in my own community that I see on a regular basis and we differ extremely on our political beliefs but yet we are able to have a civil conversation and even heated debates but yet we all leave as friends – normally because someone says “maybe we should talk about something else” - and we do just that.

This doesn't happen on Facebook. Both sides feel as though they need to win the conversation at hand. Let's be honest with ourselves: Have you ever been convinced to completely switch your viewpoint over a FB comment?

fbpolitics.jpg

There are still a few people that I have not unfollowed that insist on believing that the world really needs to see an article about Trump every time something happens. The people who disagree with them rarely take part in the conversation anymore because they know they are just going to be yelled at. The people that do comment already agree completely with the OP so they have succeeded in creating an echo chamber and no one ever learns anything. I find this sad and it makes us all dumber because of it.

index.jpg

I know many people who never use facebook anymore but can't delete it entirely from their lives because they need messenger (how many times have you heard that one?) I have actually restricted myself to only look at FB between sets at the gym, which is a good idea for any of you out there that need some sort of motivation to go to the gym.

Anyway... Do you agree with me? Do you disagree? Do you have a story to tell about people becoming irrationally angry on FB and throwing away a long-term friendship because of it? I would like to hear about it if you do.

I ask only that we leave the political affiliation out of this. I do not care who you support and I really enjoy how Steemit almost never devolves into an argument.

Sort:  

The more negativity that I read, the more negative I feel. Therefore I chose a long time ago to simply not read or watch things that make me feel anxious and unnerved. This also goes for engaging in verbal assaults. However you look at it, in my opinion, these arguments are a form of two sided bullying.

My mom taught me the old saying.."If you don't have something nice to say, then keep your mouth zipped!" I follow that advise. Sometimes trying to divert the heat I become the victim, like yourself, as you stated above. I really think some people like the rush of adrenaline they feel when arguing. I would rather cliff dive or watch an intense movie for that thrill. They can feel tough and powerful behind the keyboard. How about directing this energy into something proactive and good. Just a thought. Wow, what a difference it would make in the world. I am not naive to think all arguments are avoidable..just better to hash out face to face and in private.

It's strange to think that when I was on MySpace and Friendster, back in the early 2000's, I don't remember seeing any verbal bashing sessions, or political debates for that matter. It was mostly about "What's Up Dude??", "What country are you from?" or "Take a listen to this sound". Myspace introduced me to so many new musicians and cultures. It was my link to the rest of the world and the music they made.

Today I still focus on the fact that I can accomplish these things through social media. The PLUS side is I get to meet and interact (POSITIVELY) through platforms like this one. I'm not here for the Steem.. I'm here for the esteem boost. I think if you put good out, you'll have good returned to you (in time).

Now lets take a look at your grammar and spelling... ;-P

another fantastic response. Well done pal! I think i'm good on the grammar this time haha!

So true, I've lost some friends over political FB arguments.. not worth it

What's going on right now is quite unfortunate. I've written several articles on the issue myself and am probably tired of trying to get everyone to respect each others opinions.

It is quite unfortunate when good people in the society all of a sudden become horrible because of their support for a particular candidate or ideology. I'm speaking from experience as I've lost a lot of friends just by supporting Trump during the elections. They didn't want to see my point of view, simply assumed the aabsolute worst about me.

As for who is to blame I won't just blame social media, I put the blame on the entire mainstream devide that, in my opinion, keeps fanning the flames of hatred and distrust with often biased views. They know the powers they have thanks to their platform, yet the decided to use it in the worst way possible

yes. MSM is a joke. I don't even bother to look at their articles because I think all of them start with a conclusion and then find the information necessary to support said conclusion. There is no real journalism anymore. I have heard RT is ok.

The point I was trying to make is that at least as far as our friends and family were concerned, there was little chance that friendships would be ruined because people behave a lot differently behind the safety of the internet. People would not speak to one another that way in the past before we had this public forum of ideas, available to everyone, 24-hours a day.

I've never seen the political spectrum being so polarized before, I wonder how we got to this point?

I was trying to suggest that it has always been this polarized we are just much more aware of it because of social media. It used to be restricted to meetings with friends or family, where people tend to be more civil. Now it is possible to shout at strangers with impunity... :)

Hmmm that's a very good point, but then again, Donald Trump is someone that's very easy to hate

You are completely right when you say that things have always been like this it’s just that we have more opportunities to speak our mind. Though, I wouldn’t agree with your approach that when mentioning “2 other people that didn't stand a chance in hell of winning”. In my opinion one of those 2 people has contributed so much in changing the american political discourse. If you would have told anybody just a decade ago that issues like inequality, minimal wage, healthcare, etc. will become popular topics. The guy will be credited for that in the years to come.

I was referring to Jill Stein and Gary Johnson (who I liked but really was just terrible at interviews.) I think you might be talking about Bernie

Yeah exactly! I mistakenly understood that you were referring to him as someone who had no chance of winning. In my opinion has already has won his battle.

I speak from 20 plus years of experience with debating politics and religion; The more we debate/argue the more entrenched we become with our own belief/s and facts do not matter one iota.

The political nature now is a divide and rule i think. They create division among us and we get busy fighting along that division line to even know whats going on. Its a shame

Politics is really a game. The funny thing is the people vying for the positions may seem to be against each other in public, but privately they are always closer than people thought. They meet up after the elections results have been declared, and have drinks. But at the end of the day,the two best friends who are supporters of these different parties, end up fighting and destroying their friendship. It's really sad how people allow politics to play their emotions. I honestly do not involve myself in political related arguments or groups. 'cause someway somehow it always is able to evoke enmity among folks.

Politics is indeed a complicated matter, politicians will usually try to knock opponents of their opponents, it's hard to get those who actually work for the community.
Keep to work @gooddream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46