Questions for a Communist organizationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone. I am a college student in the US and have been looking for topics to contribute to my school's political paper. It has a strong lean to one side and pretty high up, so I want to try and bring it down to the center. Recently I noticed a flyer that caught my attention: DI-EBEQW0AIu0Dk.jpg While I was not familiar with the particular group they were supporting, the name of the organizers really stood out. Workers World? With a giant red star no less can mean only one thing. Naturally I am planning on calling the organization and discussing the particulars of the flyer as well as the nature of the group itself and do a writeup. I however have no interviewing experience but I don't want to half-ass this. I would love to take suggestions for questions and I will crosspost my final article here on steemit. Thanks guys! My goal would be to at least expose a portion of the nefarious inclinations that underlay this group as well as the "Freedom Fighters" they choose to support. Any way it shakes out, it will amount to a good story I think.

Sort:  

I am going to leave this up and read again tomorrow but you are right, your comments here and in my post. It is way late for me!!!

Thanks man, hero of the day

I have lived in Vienna since 1998, but I am native Slovak born and raised in the former Czechoslovakia. I am a baby of an organized communist baby-boom as a try to correct the non-pleasant 1968 generation, you might have heard of it a the Prague Spring 1968 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prague_Spring .

I have witnessed the communist ideology and the system, I have read the literature and I was part of the 1989 revolt. After that I have also almost 20 years of experience living in Austria so I cann really tell the difference and the shortcomings of the ideology.

If you're interested, let setup a skype-call, I'd be happy to answer your questions.

man that's amazing I would love to soon, but after this wave of exams and papers :p I would love to hear about your experiences. Czechoslovakia's history is really not something ever talked about outside "once upon a time there was a country called Czechoslovakia, then it split in half". I'll reach out some time in next week most likely to set up a time. Its a shock that communism is making its return on college campuses and voices like yours are important for reminding them that the history of it provides strong reasons to not start supporting it. Thanks again!

You're very welcome! Good luck with your exams!

I don't have much time, but I promised to come back here for you.

I know communists connected to similar parties in the US and Canada

Most are connected to the LABOUR movement and social justice stuff.

I would just mention you are a student looking to learn more -- do not worry about moving them to the centre at all, they are likely further along in life and beliefs in some cases than you.

Not good or bad, they will just be pretty staunch in their beliefs for the most part.

Go and watch and learn, is my advice.

At least they are doing something and not sitting on their hands, like 99% of everyone else and their issues have a lot of merit.

My 2¢ anyways buddy

much appreciated man. Thanks for coming back. Ultimately they are the subject of the interview, so I will let them sort of take the reigns and I'll ask from explanation when necessary.

For the most part, people believe in what they are doing, even if it may be considered wrong by others. Except for those who know that they are up to pure evil and things that would terrify others, a lost of people in certain groups are not very secretive. My point is that many love to talk about who they are, what they believe, and what they are up to. This should work to your advantage.

I would start off with an honest introduction, mentioning that you are a college student who saw their flyers and was interested in knowing more the group, and what they are up to. Also, ask if they have any other advice of things people in your position should be up to in order to further the cause.

I haven't heard of this group before and have no idea what they are into, but if you really want to know, I'd try just asking. If they are up to anything that you'd consider to be "nefarious inclinations" you may be able to find out just that easy. Best wishes and have fun!

Thanks dude. I think you are right about that and I should rephrase myself. I think that they come from a place of good intention, we just disagree as to the best course of action. As for "nefarious inclinations" I see it more as fighting for something that sounds nice on paper, but with a willingness to turn a blind eye to questionable tactics or logical conclusions of some arguments if its your side that's going it. Often the simple and most direct way is the best and thank you for pointing that out to me

Congratulations @e13c7r0n! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @e13c7r0n! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56