SPU Poetry Contest #2: GENESIS

in #poetsunited6 years ago

Here is my submission for the SPU Poetry Contest 2 hosted by @poetrybyjeremy and Poets United. My submission is a rewrite of a Steemit original poem I shared last week called "Level the Playing Field" (linked below). This was a fun exercise. I always love looking into work this way, especially when I'm reading pieces by other people and helping them pull out the heart threads. I hope I've done that here. I look forward to participating in more contests like this one in the future. I hope you'll join me!

diao-darius-494045-unsplash.jpg
Image Credit

Genesis

I learned to fight using nails as skin shovels, gouging safe passage
to true labels: warrior, feminist, survivor. Goddess.
Cry out worship with church bells, build me a temple or tear me
down. Try. I will blood mark you if you press me unasked.
My power lashes in color, insist though you may you are innocent,
just having a little fun, I suppose, and no harm in that
except the tickle was more slap, and the memory is more fear
and the fear has turned to strength because I will not
be stifled in my own space. If you are to be here, you better pray.

See the original poem here: "Level the Playing Field"

Recent Posts

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I love this piece of rewrite. It is very brief and has advanced in quality content.
@shawnamawna.

Thank you! This was a very fun experiment. I haven't done this with poetry before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50